Giving Thanks

Happy Thanksgiving! (Oh, the horror. I just imagined that in Effie Trinket’s voice, ugh. Oh, I just love that!) I thought it would be nice to write a list of things I’m thankful for, as I did last year, so here it is. I arranged it to spell out ‘Happy Thanksgiving.’

H is for humor. I think I want to be a comedian / humor writer someday, so I obviously appreciate humor. My favorite funny stuff includes Calvin and Hobbes by Bill Watterson, The Far Side by Gary Larson, any of Bill Bryson’s books, and possibly some other things that I’m forgetting. 

A is for awards. I received several the other for 4-H stuff because I’m cool. I received the Midget Award, the Epic Procrastinator Award, the This-Award-Is-Pointless-But-Write-It-On-Your-College-Applications-Anyway Award, and the Wow-You-Won-Lots-Of-Awards Award. I was very happy.

P is for parents. Even though you’re kind of embarrassing, I love you anyway. Thanks for being funny and helpful and smart and also for making cookies a few days ago.

P is for pasta. Pasta is delicious and one of my favorite foods because you can do so much with it. You can put it in a cheese or red sauce, with vegetables (OK, that’s icky) or seafood or whatever. Yummy! 

Y is for YouTube. I meant to put something less shallow here but right now I can’t think of anything else that starts with Y besides yellow and yams. Since I hate the first and have never tried the second, YouTube it is. YouTube is very handy for finding adorable kitten videos, crying over scenes from my favorite movies, and endlessly listening to film scores. At the moment I’m listening to “The Final Chapter of Amelia Pond” from the Doctor Who Proms 2013 because I’m just awesome like that.

T is for tea. Tea is definitely not just for old ladies. (Or British people?) Even if you’re a weird American whose ancestors dumped boxes of it in the Revolutionary War, you should still try it because berry tea with lots of sugar in it is excellent. 

H is for Harry Potter. Because even though I’ve more or less moved on, that series was important and a huge source of inspiration for little me. I used to spend hours reading the books, then pretending I was a character from them. They cheered me up when I was blue (and they still do) and they gave me the role models of both Remus Lupin and Rowling herself.

A is for air. Without it we would die. That is all I am saying. (Hmm, this alphabet thank-you thing is harder than I thought.)

N is for newspapers. Good issues amuse me with their political cartoons and letters to the editor. Boring issues get used to line the cat’s litterbox. So, they’re useful either way.

K is for keys. Without them, I’d be locked out of the house, so I’d have to sit outside in the cold until someone let me in. And because my family is mean (not really) they would probably laugh at me for a long time before they let me in because I’m kind of hopeless at real life and do things like getting myself locked out of the house.

S is for siblings. Questionable taste in music aside, Quentin is a pretty cool little brother. He’s very helpful, often rescuing me from the computer (or is it the other way around, poor computer?). He puts up with me when I babble excitedly about hobbits, The Hunger Games, David Tennant’s wonderful hair. He was the only person in my immediate family to have any idea that I was gay. He lets me do all kind of stupid things, like putting barrettes in his hair. My friends say Quentin seems kind of moody, Mr. Strong-And-Silent, but if you know him better you see that he’s actually rather sweet and smart, with a very good/weird sense of humor.

G is for grandparents. I don’t want to sound morbid, but I’m very glad that most of my grandparents are still alive because I would miss them a lot. They live nearby too, so I get to see them often. I love it when they make me laugh and tell me stories about their childhoods.

I is for imagination. On long car trips I’m often happy to just sit and stare out the window, imagining all sorts of things – aliens, where I’ll be in ten years, or having adventures in Middle-earth. My head is off in the clouds most of the time but I don’t mind that one bit; a big imagination comes in handy for writing. 

V is for vacations. When I was little vacations always seemed superfluous. (Maybe I should have picked ‘V is for vocabulary words’?) I mean, there wasn’t much homework in second grade, let alone huge group research papers. There was hardly a need for breaks then but now I appreciate them so, so much more. I use them to, you guessed it, catch up on homework.

I is for Internet. Oh sweet lovely Internet, what would I do without you? You’re so helpful for email, research, procrastination, and loads more. [Blows a kiss to the Internet] Also ‘the Internet’ sounds boring so I’m going to name you Mabel. Thank you for being cooperative. Most of the time.

N is for nail polish. It looks pretty but more importantly, it smells really good. Sometimes I just sit there sniffing it – might be why I can’t think clearly to come up with any good ideas for N.

G is for grapes. Ha ha ha, no, I totally was not having a problem thinking of G things. Grapes are, um, delicious and they’re like little blobs of awesome fruity tastiness. Or something.

Now that the end of this post was somewhat of a fail, how was your Thanksgiving? What slightly odd things are you thankful for?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Giving Thanks

  1. orphu44 says:

    *blinks* It /was/ your Thanksgiving today, wasn’t it? Well, happy somewhat belated Thanksgiving! (And I’m torn between a feeling of ‘you too!’ over this post and a feeling of ‘how?’ because on the one hand, while I don’t hate any colours, yellow ranks fairly low for having quite a few shades that look sad and clinical to me, but on the other hand you apparently love the smell of nail polish.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      (Don’t blink. Blink, and you’re dead…)
      Indeed it was, because we’re not heathens who have Thanksgiving in October. 😛

      *finds a bottle of polish labeled ‘Dandelion’* Here, wanna sniff?

      • orphu44 says:

        *keeps eyes wide open*
        You leave yours to the last minute. You /procrastinate/ on your Thanksgiving.
        Thanks, but I really can’t accept such an extravagant offer. The dandelion nail polish is all yours.

  2. Artgirl says:

    Speaking of David Tennant’s marvelous hair, there’s a girl at my school who wears her hair like his and it is very attractive.
    I really need to stop fangirling about David Tennant every time I post a comment. Moving on.

    I suppose mostly I’m thankful for all the usual: friends and family, the Internet, cocoa, the deliciousness of food in general, books, the Doctor Who 50th anniversary special, living in a community where a lot of the churches have pride flags hanging out front. Well, okay, not all of those things are usual, but I’m sure a lot of people besides me are thankful for them.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ooh, neat. 😀 If I were a dude I’d definitely wear my hair like Tennant’s. (I suppose I could still do that as a girl but… yeah. I’m kind of weird about having short hair because it’d probably make people go, “oh look, manly lesbian” and I don’t have a problem with girls like that but that’s not ME. So yeah. *is probably overthinking things* *also doesn’t want really short hair because it would be even curlier than usual and I’d look like a Q-tip*)

      Food. Fooooooooood. Yes. Food is good.
      Lucky. I’ve never even seen a church like that.

      • Artgirl says:

        (Yeah, it does sort of make people go “oh look manly lesbian”, but that’s also because she’s a rock climber and has very muscley arms and wears guys clothes. I’m pretty sure that half the girls in the grade have a crush on her.)

        Food is wonderful and amazing and deserves to be given thanks for.
        Well, I live in a very…is progressive the right word? area, so a lot of the churches around have pride flags. Mine doesn’t yet, but there’s a sign that says we welcome everyone regardless of sexual orientation or gender identity.

    • nevillegirl says:

      *giggles* She sounds more manly than David Tennant himself.
      (I just realized that I can make pretty much every conversation about David Tennant’s hair and/or lesbians. I could probably even do that in a DW convo except we worked out that Vastra & Jenny probably met Nine, right? :P)

      Foooood. Lemon. Meringue. Pie. Someone brought it to thanksgiving and it was sooooo good…
      Neat! I have no idea if I’m in a progressive area or not. Well. A lot of states are doing marriage-equality awesomeness, but IN seems to be going the other way. *sighs* I’ll… I’ll… move to Gallifrey someday and live happily.

      • Artgirl says:

        She kind of is. And she’s really attractive.
        (Well, I did rather initiate the conversation about David Tennant’s hair. He has marvelous hair and it deserves to be talked about. And yes, Nine definitely did meet Vastra and Jenny.)

        Lemon meringue pie is amazing. I had homeade fudge, which was excellent as well.
        Or you could move to Minnesota and visit me…though I’ll probably go out of state for college.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Nice. 🙂
      (I was slightly disappointed that his hair wasn’t that fabulous in the fiftieth. Oh well.)
      Fuuuuuuudge.

      Indeed. I’ll just pop over in my TARDIS.

  3. Lydia says:

    Haha, catching up on blog posts and your thankful list is my favorite so far.

  4. MOHE says:

    All this discussion of David Tennant’s hair reminds me of the need to show you this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LnYBuO8OqFg

    But happy Thanksgiving. (Also, supposedly nail polish can kill your brain cells. I have no idea how accurate this is, it’s just a very popular urban myth.)

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

