NaNoWriMo 2013: Thoughts On Finishing

Well, I did it.

I finished.

This was my third NaNoWriMo, and I’ve finished all three. As in years before, winning makes me feel happy and accomplished. Overall, though, NaNo was different this time around.

I’ve never done much planning for it but this year I did even less, if possible. And I used to be obsessive about staying on track. Each day, I wrote more or less exactly the number of words I needed to reach my goal in time. I used to be much more methodical.

This year, my method could be described as, “Anything goes. I just don’t care.” I mean, I obviously do care enough to take part in NaNoWriMo. But I became very relaxed. Look, I’ve won once with 25,000 words (this year’s goal) and several times with 50,000 words (twice this year’s goal… obviously). I knew I could do it, so there were a number of times when I’d be three, four, five days behind and that didn’t bother me at all.

Because I’d done this before.

(I suppose I could’ve thought that way with NaNo in 2012 but I was weird and nitpicky then so I didn’t.)

To be honest, another reason I didn’t fuss too much over NaNo was that I had much more on my metaphorical plate this year. I had so little schoolwork my first NaNo compared to what I had this year so even on the days when I wanted to write lots of stories, I couldn’t.

If time allows, I do intend to participate in NaNoWriMo next November – during my senior year – but for the moment, I’m quite happy with what I did this time. I ended up with an assortment of short stories, most of them quirky retellings of fairy tales. I also have a science fiction short story that I didn’t plan on – it came from rereading Maximum Ride and watching Torchwood: Children of Earth. It’s kind of a long story. Not literally. I said it was a short story. I just mean it’s kind of hard to explain.

None of these pieces have titles.

Oh well, I suppose that’s something I can work on while I wait for next NaNoWriMo.

I feel like this post should actually go somewhere and not just be a semi-coherent collection of thoughts, so I’m ending it here. I hope everyone enjoyed NaNoWriMo 2013, whether or not they finished. So long, and thanks for all the fish!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to NaNoWriMo 2013: Thoughts On Finishing

  1. Pingback: NaNoWriMo…….Winner….! | Words That Flow Like Water

  2. Artgirl says:

    Torchwood Children of Earth…*sobs*

    Congratulations on finishing!

  3. Pingback: Quarterly Rewind, Fall 2013 – Music, Maggie Stiefvater, And More | Musings From Neville's Navel

  4. Pingback: Two Thousand And Thirteen In Review | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

