Quarterly Rewind, Fall 2013 – Music, Maggie Stiefvater, And More

It’s the first day of winter! This means it’s time for a recap of what I did in the fall. My previous post like this can be found here and as always, the idea for a quarterly rewind comes from Jamie at The Perpetual Page-Turner.

This post covers September 22nd through December 20th. Enjoy!

Image From This Fall

DSCN3230

Taken in late September at a local park

Favorite Quote From A Book I Read This Fall

“The three brothers were nothing if not handsome copies of their father, although each flattered a different side of Niall. Declan had the same way of taking a room and shaking its hand. Matthew’s curls were netted with Niall’s charm and humor. And Ronan was everything that was left: molten eyes and a smile made for war.”

– The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

I’m in awe of Stiefvater, as you can see throughout this post. She has wonderful characters and intricate plots but I most like her talent for description. Maggie Stiefvater can say more with fewer words than most authors. Why write “Ronan was an angry, snarky teenage boy” when one can be much more original and tell the readers something more abstract?

This Fall In One Word

Hectic.

Most Popular Review This Fall

Surprisingly, it’s The Dream Thieves. I’m happy because I loved the book and think it’s one of my better reviews, but puzzled because the post didn’t get any comments or likes. I didn’t think anyone noticed it.

Top Two Books I Read This Fall

  1. The Raven Boys, duh. It’s one of the very few sequels I love more than the first book.
  2. I read The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd over fall break and it kept me obsessed for several days. Actually, I didn’t read much during the past few months because I was too busy with schoolwork.

Two Things I’m Looking Forward To This Winter

  1. My mom is going to help me start considering which colleges to apply to. Possibilities include the University of Iowa and NYU.
  2. The Winter Olympics! I love watching the ski jumping and luge events.

Three New Obsessions This Fall

  1. Can I count chemistry lab? It was so much fun! I’d never been in a real lab before and doing the experiments helped me to understand the concepts better, I think.
  2. GayWrites, a website for LGBTQ+ news. Just the other day it said New Mexico and possibly Utah have legalized marriage equality, eep!
  3. Hmm. Classic Who, I suppose. It’s neat but a bit slow compared to the new series of Doctor Who. I love Three, Four, and Romana. (Just the second, I haven’t seen the first yet).

Most Popular Five Blog Posts Overall This Fall

  1. Percy Jackson & The Olympians – The Sea Of Unexpected Character Revelations (And One Impressed Fan), about Rick Riordan’s awesome decision to include a queer demigod, was great fun to write and I consider it one of my best posts. so I’m pleased to announce that it’s at the top of this list with over 6300 views and around 70 comments.
  2. I turned seventeen and worried about growing up in An Unexpected Birthday Speech.
  3. Meanwhile, Marry, Kiss, Cliff was purely silly and I’m surprised it has so many views – all I did was go, “Ooh, these girls are gorgeous!”
  4. In NaNoWriMo 2013: A Jumble Of Thoughts, I brainstormed plot ideas.
  5. Movie Review: Catching Fire detailed how the sequel wasn’t quite as good as the first, yet still pretty awesome.

Five Posts I Loved On Other Blogs This Fall

  1. In Eleanor Is Beautiful, Kate talked about how characters’ personalities are more important than their looks.
  2. Orphu wrote about heteronormativity and the need for diversity in books in Heterosexuality and Bigoted Ghosts.
  3. Miriam Joy’s post Loki, Gender, and Costume Design in Thor: The Dark World analyzed, well, just what its title says. Although I haven’t yet seen the movie, I appreciated the post because I do the same thing with other films. (Who else noticed that Effie’s clothes are less outrageous because she’s distancing herself from the Capitol?)
  4. I enjoyed Doctor Who? Your Guide to the Newest Doctor at Lady Geek Girl. The following sentence made me particularly happy because it’s what I’ve been hoping for: “I’ve never seen Capaldi play manic or juvenile, so the Twelfth Doctor might be closer to Nine than to Ten or Eleven…”
  5. I loved Maggie Stiefvater’s So I See I’m A Girl so much that I used it as a source for a paper about gender stereotyping.

Five Things That Happened This Fall

  1. My family went to Tennessee for fall break and even though Great Smoky Mountains National Park was closed because of the government shutdown, it was fun. Normally our vacations are super busy but this time we just relaxed, which I liked.
  2. In between juggling assignments for college English and chemistry, I took part in NaNoWriMo for the third time and won with 25,000 words.
  3. I saw The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug (which was disappointing), “The Day of the Doctor,” (which was OK if slightly ridiculous), and Catching Fire (which was fantastic).
  4. I got a different haircut and IT’S SO CURLY AND FLUFFY YAY. It looks best with just a little flip at the end, though, so I’m going to get a flat iron. My hair will be the straightest part of me!
  5. I discovered another story that I love to analyze: Doctor Who. I talked about Martha Jones, music, more music, loving the show, and how coming out is a pile of good things and bad things.

Six Songs That I Listened To Far Too Often This Fall

1. “Owen’s Theme” (Torchwood, series two) – Murray Gold

I’ve been watching this show, a spin-off of Doctor Who, and fell in love with this song. It uses a mix of piano and electronic sounds just like the latter show’s “Doomsday.” I cannot stand Owen, but he has by far the best music.

2. “Letting Go” (Thor) – Patrick Doyle

For such an action-packed movie, Thor has an unusually gentle, graceful, gorgeous main theme. This is my favorite example of it.

3. “Romantic Flight” (How To Train Your Dragon) – John Powell

I love the violin in this piece! Actually, I love everything about it.

4. “The Final Chapter of Amelia Pond” (Doctor Who At The Proms 2013) – Murray Gold

The main piece featured here, “Together Or Not At All,” is probably my third or fourth favorite Doctor Who song, and this arrangement is my favorite suite from any of the Doctor Who Proms. So you can guess that I listen to it often. This particular version, quiet and beautiful, is lighter on the electronic part. “The Angels Take Manhattan” was a terrible episode – the only reasons you should watch it are the music and Eleven & River being adorable because they actually know one another.

5. “Gollum’s Song” (The Two Towers) – Emiliana Torrini

Although all the credits songs in Lord of the Rings are lovely, this is my favorite. The beginning is eerie yet dreamlike – a nightmare, I suppose.

6. “The Greatest Story Never Told” (Doctor Who, series four) – Murray Gold

In my first post about the film scores of Doctor Who I picked a different piece from “Silence in the Library / Forest of the Dead,” but if I’d known of this song, I would’ve chosen it instead. It’s now my favorite of the entire show. Very episodic, but all the parts are gorgeous.

What did you enjoy most on my blog this fall? And what have you done these past few months?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Homeschooling, Neville Sings The Blues, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Quarterly Rewind, Fall 2013 – Music, Maggie Stiefvater, And More

  1. Miriam Joy says:

    If you don’t like Owen Harper, we can’t be friends.

  2. Sonia says:

    Yo. Nevillegirl. I very randomly just started this story – no idea where it’s gonna go – but it’s going to be a historical fantasy setting and will have interracial as well as LGBTQ+ romance. I have no idea how sappy it will be. I hold the disclaimer that it holds many similarities with my and my friend’s lives, and that it will likely be terrible. But I told you anyway, because I think, if it turns out okay, it might be the kind of story you might like. 🙂

  3. You don’t like Owen? What? It’s Owen.

    • nevillegirl says:

      -He’s too angsty about coming back from the dead. Jack and the Doctor don’t have nearly as many issues.
      -He basically raped those two characters in his FIRST episode.
      -He’s really rude to Martha in… I dunno what they’re called, whatever episodes she’s in. He gets so mad at her even though she’s just helping, not trying to take his job. And then he keeps pestering her even though she’s clearly not interested in him.
      -Yeah.
      -Ianto is a much better character, with the added bonus of looking rather like a human teddy bear in a suit and purple shirt.

      • Miriam Joy says:

        Owen also has some of the most heartbreaking character development throughout series two where he’s forced to confront his weaknesses and make them into strengths. His realisation that he hasn’t contributed much to the world causes him to change his behaviour to try and make the best of this second chance he’s been given, no matter how painful and weird it might be. He’s forced to see things that no one should have to see – and come back from them. He saves their lives by sacrificing himself to shut off the overheating nuclear reactor. He talks a woman out of committing suicide, not because he knows her or because it benefits him but just because in that moment, he cares and he’s the only person there, and he doesn’t do it in a soft-hearted way but in an Owen way – saying the wrong thing, messing it up, being honest. The way his attitude towards Tosh changes, and the way he’s not naturally an amazingly lovely person but he realises he’s hurt her and changes his behaviour towards her, and their utterly heartbreaking final scene…

        Don’t even talk to me about Owen Harper. I have a lot of Owen feels. Plus his accent is basically mine, so I feel a deep kinship with him.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Meh… I dunno. I did enjoy the flashback scenes with his wife, and his final scene. But there’s still a lot about him that creeps me out.

    • nevillegirl says:

      You’re welcome to him. xD *wraps Jack, Ianto, Tosh, and Gwen in blankets*

  4. matttblack42 says:

    Ooh, apply to NYU. I live near there.

  5. themagicviolinist says:

    LOVE that picture! 😀 I love black and white nature photos. Something about the simplicity of it all.

    Thanks for the shout out! 🙂

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

