A B See Photo Challenge: K Is For Kids

cameraWhile looking through my past A B See Photo Challenge posts, I noticed most of them had one thing in common: I kept apologizing for not progressing more quickly. Sigh. I suppose my excuse this time is that I couldn’t think of a K theme for the longest time (while I already have ideas for S and T and others) and when I finally settled on Kids, I couldn’t think what to photograph.

I like little kids but I don’t get to spend time with them very often, so it would take a long time to get many pictures. Eventually I decided just to take pictures of kid stuff – toys, board books, clothes – rather than kids themselves. So I apologize for this post’s lack of, well, actual photographs of children. If you really want to see some, there are a bunch in this post and this little girl is cute.

Enjoy!

DSCN3326

Subject of photo: Board game

Location of subject: My home

Techniques practiced: Close-up

I love taking ‘flat’ shots, with my camera positioned low to the ground and pointing out (versus down). It creates interesting perspectives.

DSCN3335

Subject of photo: Shoes

Location of subject: My home

Techniques practiced: Close-up

These are my old baby shoes! I have very small feet (size seven) so they’re only twice as long as they were then. Anyway, I placed one of the shoes sideways to make the shot look more natural and not staged/awkward. I chose a red background to bring out the red specks in the laces. I’m very happy with the end result.

DSCN3300

Subject of photo: Blocks

Location of subject: My home

Techniques practiced: Black and white

This photo took a while to improve – I built several towers and photographed them but their pictures were boring, so I added a pile of blocks nearby.

DSCN3349

Subject of photo: Hat and mittens

Location of subject: My home

Techniques practiced: Close-up

Little. Kids’. Clothes. Are. Adorable! This shot is very close-up so it may not be easy to see how tiny the clothes are (the hat isn’t much bigger than my hand), but it really brings out the details of the knitting. I like the contrast of the pink and the black, too.

DSCN3340

Subject of photo: Baby spoons

Location of subject: My home

Techniques practiced: Black and white, close-up

Again, putting the camera close to the objects I was photographing allowed me to bring out the details. I like the combination of silver and black.

Which photo is your favorite and why?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A B See Photo Challenge: K Is For Kids

  1. Miriam Joy says:

    I think you guys must have different shoe sizes because 7 really isn’t small at all over here… 😉 I’m a 3, for example. I wonder how that compares…

  2. Pingback: A B See Photo Challenge: L Is For Light | Musings From Neville's Navel

  3. Boquinha says:

    Here with feedback, as requested! My favorite is the board game one for sure. I love the angle and perspective of the shot – I like that it’s close-up, love the colors and lines, shadows, sheen from the light, etc. How did you decide how to set that one up?

    Just read your updated bio – “Incredibly gay.” Awesome. Not just gay, but incredibly so. Love it. And atheist. It is so fun for us to find a non-stereotypical homeschooled teen in the blogosphere. There aren’t many of us out there. 😛 We so don’t fit in to many groups around here – that’s why we started our own. It’s an inclusive group, which tends to bring in more diversity. Though, admittedly, we’re in a somewhat homogenous area. Sigh.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you! I took a lot of pictures of that game, but they looked boring so I started doing close-ups, and went from there. Instead of including the entire board, I focused on just one of the pieces and then you see the board from behind it.

      *giggles* Yeah… I was in a goofy mood when I wrote that. I’m probably going to change it, though, ’cause I feel more comfortable saying “lesbian” now. It’s funny how that changes. Maybe I wasn’t as comfortable with it before I came out because I was trying to pretend I wasn’t one? I dunno.
      *sighs* I know a couple of atheist homeschoolers, but no LGBTQ+ ones (that I actually know – there are a couple whose blogs I follow, but that’s not the same thing). Sexuality isn’t relevant to friendship, but it would be nice to know there were other kids like me!

      • Boquinha says:

        Yep, I think the more we commit to living authentic lives, the more comfortable and confident we become, too. So happy for you! Also, it makes sense that it would be nice to know others in a similar situation to yours – it’s human nature!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Perhaps someday if I’m motivated I’ll start a forum-y online thingy for queer homeschoolers. That would be fun. 😀

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

