All Is Quiet On New Year’s Day

A world in white gets underway
I want to be with you, be with you night and day
Nothing changes on New Year’s Day

-U2

Happy New Year!

Last year I made three resolutions and I’m going to do the same for 2014. Three seems like a manageable number. Here they are!

1. Start querying. I don’t mind if I’m not published within the year – that’s why I said “start.” I don’t care if I’m still working on this in college (or beyond) so long as I begin working on final revisions, finding an agent, et cetera. I’ll be busy with school and college applications, so this might be a good summer project. I’m a little scared because I’ve never done this before and don’t totally know what I’m doing, but I think I’ll figure it out eventually. Teens Can Write, Too! has a lot of posts explaining how querying and publishing work, for a start.

2. Become more proficient at hair / clothes / make-up / et cetera. Yeah, not the most serious of resolutions, but I don’t make them to impress others. They’re for me and this is something I’m interested in. I love dressing up and looking nice, but don’t often take the time to style my hair differently or pick out shoes to go with a dress because I just don’t know how. I poke myself in the eyes with the mascara wand, while my fashion sense is an interesting combination of “I Don’t Care,” “I Think This Is Clean,” and “Sixth Doctor.” I want to change this.

3. Join a Gay-Straight Alliance. A real GSA – sorry, Good-Sinful Alliance. This is something I’d do if I went to public school too but I don’t, so I can’t. There is, however, a GSA at my college and if they’ll let in those who A) are dual-enrollment students and B) join halfway through the academic year, I will be very happy indeed. I’m sick and tired of not being able to really be myself around most of my so-called friends, so I’ll hang out somewhere else. Even if it’s less than once a month, which is what it appears to be. (The schedule uses a very small font and I keep misreading SCA as GSA.)

What are your New Year’s resolutions?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to All Is Quiet On New Year’s Day

  1. Clarice says:

    Cool post! Good luck with the make-up bit. I usually run the other direction whenever someone approaches me with it, even if it’s for theatre; but I admire people who can use it. As for me, I don’t really have any resolutions, except for maybe general ones like ‘update more’ and ‘stop procrastinating’. Or maybe ‘actually comment on posts that you like and tell the writers how much you like their blogs instead of lurking in the background’. (Really enjoying reading your blog, by the way.) Happy New Year! 🙂

  2. Good luck with the querying! 😀 Maybe we could help each other out with our query letters. Two years of querying a book and still no luck for me (*sigh*) but I’m not going to stop until next year. If I don’t get any bites then, I’m switching gears! I have a YA medieval fantasy in the works that I’m planning on finishing editing this year. That’s one of my resolutions, along with not biting my nails, not procrastinating (that’ll probably be the hardest for me), finishing the first draft of my YA contemporary, Cosmo, finish the first draft of my YA dystopian, Flightless Birds, get an agent (ha!), and stop using so many emoticons. Yeah, that’s actually one of them. It’s getting kind of ridiculous.

    I’m one of the top commenters! Yay!

  3. Cait says:

    Good luck querying! It’s scary, but it’s definitely conquerable. 😉 TCWT has some great posts about it, eh? I like reading about the teens who’ve been awesome.

  4. orphu44 says:

    Good luck with your resolutions – I hope you’ll be able to join the GSA, although I don’t know what a university GSA might be like.

  5. Mom says:

    You don’t have to post this, but you might want to check if the GSA has a facebook page.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

