Mystery And Comedy – Teens Can Write, Too! January 2014 Blog Chain

tcwt-3[1]January’s prompt is,

If you could co-write a book with one author – living or not – who would it be and what would the book be about?

Now, there are many authors with whom I would love to collaborate – from Suzanne Collins and J.R.R. Tolkien to Maggie Stiefvater and Roald Dahl – but since I couldn’t write about all of them, I settled for the next best thing. I picked the top two.

Agatha Christie would be an amazing writing partner. Her stories are simultaneously simple and complex. Her characters seem so ordinary but no one is what they seem and just when you’re sure you know “who did it,” she surprises you by declaring the culprit to be the person you’d already ruled out. She had an amazing mind – I struggle just to plot a agatha-christie[1]basic fantasy story but she wrote dozens of mysteries, which are much trickier because you have to be careful not to reveal the secret too early.

Christie experimented with other genres (romance and autobiography) but mostly she wrote mysteries, and that’s what I’d want to write with her. I’m not too picky about plot or characters or whatever, but I do have some general ideas for the book.

First, I’d want to set it in modern-day Britain and see what she’d do with all the possibilities. Many of her books are set in the thirties and forties; mysteries in the present day could involve things like computer hacking (or projectile acid vision, or… Engie, stop mixing your fandoms) that didn’t exist back then.

The second thing is something I want to avoid rather than achieve. I would prefer to co-write a mystery that wasn’t intended for children, teenagers, or adults. It would be for everyone, like Christie’s own books. Her books may not have young protagonists, but they’re very engrossing and easy to read no matter your age, so I wouldn’t worry about trying to appeal to a YA audience or whatever.

And now for something completely different!

When not discussing the sneakiest ways to murder someone with Dame Agatha, I would love to co-write with Oscar Wilde. I think we’d get along quite well – I mean, Clever Sarcastic Gay Writer is basically who I want to be. oscar-wilde[1]

I’d love to make up for my lack of specificity for the Christie book with a bunch of ideas about what I’d write with Wilde but to be honest, I have no idea what we’d write together. Well. A comedy, obviously, but I’m not sure if I would prefer a short story or a book or even a play. Actually, all three sound good.

Actually, now I do have an idea: a sequel to The Importance of Being Earnest!

I admire many humor writers, but Wilde is my favorite because he makes me laugh the longest and most often. Just as creating mysteries requires you to be sharp, so I think being funny – really, truly, hilariously funny – requires a lot of talent. And it would be great to work with someone that talented.

What do you think of my choices? Would you like to write with them? And would you rather read my Christie mystery or my Wilde comedy?

P.S. I think it’s time for some blog miscellanea.

To start, I’m taking part in the 2014 Goodreads Reading Challenge and if you scroll down the right-hand column of my blog, you’ll see a widget-badge-thing for it (just below the tag cloud). As you can see, I can’t get it to display my progress. Any suggestions? Does it not display properly on WordPress sites? It says I haven’t entered the challenge but I have – I can see the progress bar filling up on Goodreads.

In other news, my bloggy friend Miriam Joy is trying to earn money by selling poetry (and evidently her soul as well) so I thought I’d promote that here because it’s what I’d like people to do if I wanted to publish.

And finally, enjoy two mysterious links of mystery – this one and that one.

Want to follow our blog chain? Here are the participating parties, day by day:

5th – http://thescribblingbook.wordpress.com/

6th – http://thelittleenginethatcouldnt.wordpress.com/

7th – http://miriamjoywrites.wordpress.com/

8th – http://www.oyeahwrite.wordpress.com/

9th – https://musingsfromnevillesnavel.wordpress.com/

10th – [Andrea. No link for her yet.]

11th – http://randomofalife.blogspot.com/

12th – http://www.lilyjenness.blogspot.com/

13th – http://maralaurey.wordpress.com/

14th – http://insideliamsbrain.wordpress.com/

15th – http://unikkelyfe.wordpress.com/

16th – http://www.brookeharrison.com/

17th – http://nasrielsfanfics.wordpress.com/

18th – http://teenscanwritetoo.wordpress.com/ (We’ll be announcing the topic for next month’s chain.)

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Teens Can Write Too! and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Mystery And Comedy – Teens Can Write, Too! January 2014 Blog Chain

  1. matttblack42 says:

    That link at the end reminded me why I like Tyrion. Anyone who slaps Joffrey automatically gains a hundred likability points.

    I would love to collaborate with Agatha Christie. Sure, I haven’t actually read any of her books yet (after I finish ASoIaF, I promise), she seemed nice in Doctor Who.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Haha, I’m glad you liked it. It was either that or a drunk Cersei GIF, but Tyrion the Kingslapper was more amusing.

      Pfff. Her books are much better than that episode… although it is probably one of the funniest in DW.

  2. Clarice says:

    Oscar Wilde! Awesome choice! 🙂 Not that the queen of mystery isn’t, but I haven’t read any of her books yet. I love Oscar Wilde, though. His stories are hilarious (and sad, sometimes), and I would /love/ to see a sequel of The Importance of Being Earnest. If, you know, you happen to have a resurrection stone or something. (On a side-note, thanks for getting the URL of my blog right!)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yay, thanks! Have you read The Picture of Dorian Gray? I managed to laugh through that one too, even though it’s much more serious.

      (No problem, it was easy! Some of the URLs just weren’t linking properly, that’s all.)

      • Clarice says:

        Not yet. Right now I’m doing kind of a project about the evolvement of female roles in English literature, but I’m still way over at Shakespeare; I’ll try to read it as soon as I get to the eighteenth-nineteenth century stuff. 🙂

  3. I would LOVE to write with Oscar Wilde – if he promised ahead of time to deploy his wicked wit in the story and NOT ON ME!!! I love his fairy tales – hence, *blushes* I have also started writing fairy tales, for practice, to get at least halfway up to the preset mark of Utter Awesomeness.

  4. I LOVE Agatha Christie’s murder mysteries! I’ve read almost every single Poirot mystery. Christie is incredible – I have not once guessed the murderer! Great choice. I think she’d be a fabulous writer to collaborate with.

  5. skylarfinn says:

    I haven’t actually read works by either of these authors…hm, need to fix that. But I would probably read the Christie mystery though because mystery is the best!

  6. Ooh, nice choices! I don’t think I’ve actually read any Christie books (unless you count parts of her autobiography), though I have seen many many many TV and movie adaptations of her works. *Adds a Christie to her “Books to read in 2014” list*

    The Importance of Being Earnest and An Ideal Husband are awesome!

  7. Pingback: TCWT Blog Chain: The Queen(s) of Crime

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

