Blogging Changes For 2014

Fear not, my readers (and minions). I’m not deleting Musings From Neville’s Navel, changing URLs, or anything drastic like that. However, looking at past posts showed me that there are some things I would like to do differently now.

Following are some things you can expect me to do more or less often in 2014 and beyond.

I may post less often.

I love my current blogging schedule but as my life becomes more hectic, I may not be able to keep writing so many posts. I don’t have many extracurriculars but between schoolwork and applying to college, I’ll be very busy. I need to get my priorities in order so if I have to pause blogging (or writing or reading or photography or any of a thousand other interests) then I will.

Of course, if I have my act together and am not behind on any projects, I may post just as often as I do now. Let’s hope so.

I will write more about music.

I feel like I write a lot about music but searching that tag shows that last year, only six posts were entirely about music. I love music, love showing you my favorite songs and explaining why I adore them, so naturally I want more of this. I already have several ideas – an analysis of the credit songs from Lord of the Rings, a monster post about the score of The Hunger Games, and more.

In the meantime, have a mysterious song of mystery.

I will write more about LGBTQ+ topics.

Again, this is a subject that I thought I posted about more often last year. Evidently I didn’t, though, and I should because it’s extremely important to me. I could write so much about this subject because it has so many facets –  awesome queer stuff in the news, things that are happening in my life, what people need to do if they want to be genuine allies.

Most of all, I’d like to write about LGBTQ+ topics as they relate to fiction because Jack and Ianto are adorable together and I cried at the end of Children of Earth: Day Four representation is important.

Expect a post on that very soon, actually. I will roar my terrible roars and gnash my terrible teeth because… there is an appalling lack of fictional queer ladies. (Especially those who aren’t British and/or lizards. Have to represent those American humans, you know.)

I will write more book reviews.

Musings From Neville’s Navel has never been purely a book blog and I don’t plan to make it one, but I would like to change the type of bookish posts I write. Although I write about books frequently, I rarely review them – I analyze characters, genres, et cetera instead.

As you can see, I’m already making an effort to change this. Last year I posted only ten book reviews. Now I’ve posted two in the first couple of weeks of 2014 alone.

On a related note, you can find me on Goodreads now! I mean, I actually joined over a year ago, but wasn’t very active until recently. I’m probably not the most interesting user – I don’t post any reviews since I do that here instead – but it’s a helpful site because for school I have to keep track of what I read and it’s easier than having a list on paper. (I always lose the paper.) Come cheer me on in the 2014 Reading Challenge! My goal is one hundred books.

I will write more A B See Photo Challenge posts and apologize for delays less.

The Challenge is taking far longer than I thought it would, I admit. I have trouble thinking of themes for each letter – once I choose one, it’s easy to take and sort through photos. (This may or may not be a way of saying, “Hey, some help would be appreciated! Suggest themes!”)

So, I need to be more focused. I won’t let myself keep making excuses as to why months pass between photography posts. Instead, I’m just going to work really hard to complete the Challenge.

P.S. I have most of my photos for L so that post should be up within a week!

I will interact more with other blogs.

I love receiving comments on my blog (and always respond to them) and read many blogs, but don’t seem to leave many comments on them. If I want more comments, I should give more because no one wants to leave comments if their own blog is ignored.

I’m also following more blogs than I used to. Previously, I thought I shouldn’t because the email notifications of new posts would clog up my inbox. Then I realized that since I have nearly two thousand unread emails (mostly from colleges), what difference does it make? And it’s easier to keep track of what my friends are writing that way.

I will write more about writing.

Specifically, I will do two types of posts. The first is writing advice, things I’ve learned through practice. Examples from 2013 include how to name a character and types of endings (and why they do or don’t work).

The second kind of post matters more to me, though, because it’s something I don’t do very often. I don’t usually talk about what I’m writing. I’m fairly confident about my nonfiction – essays, blog posts, et cetera – but less so about my stories. That feeling has to go if I’m going to be a published author, so why not talk about what I’m working on? Why not write about trying to develop a character and figure out where my plot is going, or just talk about what I’ve learned? Don’t expect me to post excerpts (I’m paranoid that people will steal them), but do expect to see posts about my fiction in months other than November. (Usually I only talk about it during NaNoWriMo.)

Question time! What would you like to see more or less of on this blog?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, LGBTQ+, Neville Sings The Blues, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Blogging Changes For 2014

  1. All the best. I am trying to make some changes to my blog too and I’ve decided to interact more with other blogs as well. The challenge is keeping up with the expected schedule.

  2. Ooh, I’m excited for more book reviews! 🙂 And as long as you’re taking suggestions, I love the GSA! That was some of your most hilarious stuff, IMO. 😉

  3. Boquinha says:

    I like your blog just the way it is, but I also like your ideas for changing it up. I’m a big believer in knowing yourself and following your heart, so the fact that you’re going after the changes you wish to make? Fantastic!

  4. Cait says:

    This all sounds good to me! I’m trying hard with the commenting one too. Last year I was horrible for reading/commenting on blogs. Now I’m attempting to, if someone comments on my blog, go straight to there’s and comment. Good intentions. Let’s see how long I can keep them up. 😉

  5. Pingback: Thoughts About “The Great Gatsby” | Musings From Neville's Navel

  6. Pingback: Quarterly Rewind, Winter 2014 – A Plentiful Supply Of Books, Photography, And More | Musings From Neville's Navel

  7. Pingback: Blogging Plans For Winter/Spring 2015 | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

