A B See Photo Challenge: L Is For Light

camera

Update: Apparently this is my five-hundredth post. Go me!

In keeping with my goal to write photography posts more often, here’s the next installment of the A B See Photo Challenge! The photos here experiment with shadows and light.

Enjoy!

DSCN3364Subject of photo: Ladder

Location of subject: My backyard

Techniques practiced: Black and white

Wood looks neat in black and white – very detailed – and I like the shadow-ladder leading to nowhere.

DSCN3403Subject of photo: Chicken house

Location of subject: My backyard

Techniques practiced: Nature

Yeah, we have chickens. I feel like such a dork now. Anyway, this photograph was taken this morning when I noticed how pretty the sunlight looked as it lit up the woods. I also liked the combination of bright red chicken house and blueish snow.

DSCN3352

Subject of photo: Gate

Location of subject: My backyard

Techniques practiced: Black and white, close-up

It’s hard to see the detail in this photo but if you click to make it bigger, you can see the snow crystals along the slanted edges of the garden gate. (And, um, this is the only picture that doesn’t really fit with the others. It’s light-colored, OK? I was running out of ideas.)

DSCN3397

Subject of photo: Fluorescent light bulb

Location of subject: My house

Techniques practiced: Black and white, close-up

I think this looks like some weird modern-art sculpture. I like the reflectiveness of the glass, too.

DSCN3390

Subject of photo: Jar

Location of subject: My house

Techniques practiced: Black and white

I have this in my room because… I don’t really know why. It’s pretty, I guess. I love the contrast between light and dark, and the way the light hits the glass.

Which photo is your favorite and why?

P.S. If you want to be a really nice and awesome person, you could comment on my post for the letter K because I didn’t get any photography-related responses to that one.

 

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A B See Photo Challenge: L Is For Light

  1. matttblack42 says:

    I like the ladder picture, (wood does look cool in black and white, and the chicken house, mostly because I love chickens.

    Also, fun fact: my Sherlock predictions post was my 100th post ever, while this was your 500th, both on the same day. Coincidence? Yes, it probably is.

  2. Avi says:

    I think my favorite’s probably the light bulb, or maybe the chicken house. It’s such a red pretty red! Plus, chickens are super awesome creatures.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you! I’m very happy with all my photos this time, not just most of them like I usually am.

      (Eeeep! Avi! Welcome back! *bestows a chicken upon you*)

      • Avi says:

        You should be happy with them. They’re all really neat! 🙂 On a side note, I can’t believe how much your blog has grown! It’s awesome! (Ah, I can’t not accept a chicken! Hopefully, I’ll post more on my blog now. I managed to get a post about rock climbing together.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Again, thanks! 😀
      Yeah… it has. For example, I write about things other than Neville and HP now. xD
      Awesome; I look forward to it!

  3. Mom says:

    I like the light bulb and glass bottle. Very nice!

  4. Cait says:

    I don’t really have a photography brain, though I wish I did. 😉 Photography is awesome! I like the last one of the jar best. The shadows are awesome. Congrats on your 500th post!

  5. Boquinha says:

    500! Congratulations!

    I like all of these. I love black and white pictures (I had VERY few druthers when it came to wedding planning – I’m WAY more about the marriage than the wedding (read:party) – but getting black and white engagement pictures was #1 on my list (my list of 3 things – 1. B/W engagement pictures, 2. CHOCOLATE cake (white cake is boring – in fact, we did German Chocolate cake), 3. no annoying wedding reception line).

    I really like the contrast between the white snow and red chicken house (which, by the way, looks like our big, red barn). We have had such a cold, snowy winter. I’m ready for warmth and summer and sun (which I love).

    Also? The close-up of the light bulb is very cool – I didn’t know what it was at first, which makes is extra artsy. 🙂

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you!

      Ooh, those would be pretty. I love black and white pictures because they’re more… emotional, I think. You’re not distracted by colors, so you tend to notice other details more. A lot of B+W pictures look lonely too, I think, and that looks neat. Gives a different perspective.

      Ooh, a barn. *is jealous, because that would be wonderful to photograph (and also to explore)*

      Thanks! I love taking close-up pictures of normal things because I can mess with the angles and perspectives to make the object look completely different.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

