There Is (Never) Too Much Information About Books

Well, well, well. What is this? Have I been tagged again? Yes, I have. Thanks to Boquinha at Sushi and Pizza for including me in “The Book Blogger TMI Tag”!

How old are you?

Seventeen, and I thought this was a book meme?

What book are you reading?

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald. I’m embarrassed to say this is not because it’s a classic – I’m reading it because it’s short (so if I don’t like it at least I didn’t waste hours on it) and it has a pretty cover (seriously, it is gorgeous).

I’m also reading The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger, whose last name makes me giggle inexplicably. It’s very long, though, so I took a break to read the book above.

What are you wearing?

Hello. Book meme. Why is this question here?

But I’ll cooperate: I’m wearing pink socks, purple sweatpants, a blue T-shirt, and a pink and purple hoodie. Hey, it was clean. I don’t mind if I look like crayons threw up on me.

OTP?

(For the old people in the audience: this is short for One True Pairing, or your favorite couple from a story.)

I think I’m supposed to pick a book couple, so that would be Peeta/Katniss.

(Katniss/Peeta isn’t my all-time favorite, though – I love a lot of couples from Doctor Who far more. Nine/Rose, Nine/Jack, Rose/Jack, Ten/Martha, Mickey/Martha, Ten/Donna just as friends, Ten/River, Eleven/River, Jenny/Vastra, and I’ll stop there because basically all the couples in that show are nice.)

(I’m sorry, that wasn’t relevant to the question. This has been another installment of Pointless Thoughts By Engie.)

Blogger or WordPress?

WordPress, definitely. I don’t think Blogger’s themes look very nice and it’s often difficult to comment on blogs hosted by that site.

Going outside being active or staying in and reading a book?

I need the fresh air more, but I want to read. At least I have an excuse right now – it’s freezing and very windy. It has been for days. Ugh, I hate winter. The only good part, besides Christmas, is snuggling under a blanket with a book. And possibly a cat.

What is the last book you read?

Ash by Malinda Lo – a lesbian retelling of Cinderella. I think it’s a new all-time favorite. I spent half the book being jealous of the author’s writing talent and the other half going OH MY GOD ASH AND KAISA ARE SO ADORABLE TOGETHER AAAAH I CAN’T DEAL WITH THIS LEVEL OF CUTENESS YOU TWO ARE PERFECT I JUST WANT TO HUG YOU SO HARD!

Expect a review in the near future. It may or may not have lots of keysmashing and caps lock because I HAVE A LOT OF FEELINGS ABOUT THIS BOOK OK.

What is the book you’re going to read next?

The Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkien, Huntress by Malinda Lo, Does My Head Look Big In This? by Randa Abdel-Fattah, Lament by Maggie Stiefvater, The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman, and The Son of Neptune by Rick Riordan.

Oh wait, one book. Whoops.

Ebooks – yes or no?

I’ll read them if I have to (like if I’m desperate to read a book and won’t be at the library any time soon) but I prefer a paper book. I like holding books, I guess, and I miss that with ebooks.

Where do you prefer to read?

In my room, wrapped up in a blanket. But I’ll read anywhere, given the chance.

Who is the last person you tweeted?

I don’t have a Twitter, sorry. If I did I’d only procrastinate more than I do already.

Whose blog did you look at last?

Bottled Worder, a blog that I’m not sure how to describe. It’s about everything. Like mine, I guess.

Who is your favorite blogger?

It’s a tie between Miriam Joy Writes and The Little Engine That Couldn’t. I love the first for her writing style and the second for his sense of humor.

Who is your favorite booktuber?

I don’t really follow any YouTubers who talk about books, partially because YouTube causes my new computer to crash for whatever reason. (I know. It’s torture.) Miriam Joy sometimes posts bookish videos, if that counts. I only follow a couple of people there anyway.

What do you do when someone tells you reading is boring?

This wouldn’t happen because I would be too busy reading to even hear them.

Who is the last author you spoke to?

I have never spoken to an author, unless you count emailing them. And then it would probably be Lev AC Rosen, because he is awesome that way.

Who is the last person you texted?

What part of “book meme” don’t you understand?

Anyway, I think it was my mother. I needed to be picked up from a meeting. I don’t often text my friends.

Who is your all-time favorite book character?

I hate you for making me pick only one. Remus Lupin, I suppose. Humble, clever, kind guy. I wish he were real.

UKYA or USYA?

Most of my favorite British books were written for either children or adults, so I think I like US YA better.

What is your preferred drink whilst reading?

I don’t usually drink while reading but when I do, it’s typically tea.

If you hated reading, what would you be doing instead?

Writing, I suppose. Cooking, maybe? Or watching movies and Doctor Who? Those are some of my other interests.

How many bookshelves / bookcases do you have?

I have six bookcases with a total of eleven shelves.

If you had the choice to meet all of your favorite book bloggers or all of your favorite authors, which would you pick? You can only pick one.

As many of my favorite authors are dead and none of my favorite bloggers are – unless they’re technologically-proficient zombies – I choose bloggers.

Insta-love: yes or no?

No! I can’t stand Insta-Romance (as I call it) and it’s my biggest YA pet peeve. What is the point in reading a love story when the characters get together within a couple of pages? There’s no tension, little development of that “spark” between them, and you already know who will end up with whom.

Favorite author?

It’s a four-way tie between J.R.R. Tolkien, Oscar Wilde, Maggie Stiefvater, and Suzanne Collins.

What is the number-one book on your wishlist?

Maggie Stiefvater’s as-yet-untitled sequel to The Dream Thieves!

Do you prefer books with female or male protagonists?

Female, of course, because then I develop major crushes on them and despair over Blue Sargent and Linh Cinder not being real.

It depends on the protagonist. I’d much rather read about girls kicking butt (in any number of ways – being good with swords, being persistent, whatever) than boys doing the same, but I prefer dorky male main characters to similar female protagonists.

Which is your favourite book-to-film adaption?

The Hunger Games! I’m in the movie fandom much more than I am in the book fandom, possibly because I watched the story before reading it.

What is the last song you listened to?

The Return of the King” from, um, The Return of the King. It was composed by Howard Shore. My head has hurt all day so I wanted something quiet and peaceful…

Which do you enjoy reading more – negative reviews or positive reviews?

I like writing negative reviews more – it’s kind of fun to complain and nitpick – but reading positive reviews is awesome. It helps add to my to-read list!

Who are you going to tag?

A Mirror Made of Words, Alien Cows, Miriam Joy Writes, The Little Engine That Couldn’t, The Meeping Koala, The Quiet Voice, Miss Alexandrina, This Page Intentionally Left BlankThe Magic Fishy, Aspiring Words, and Notebook Sisters!

Feel free to participate, whether or not you were tagged!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

70 Responses to There Is (Never) Too Much Information About Books

  1. magicfishy says:

    Guyssss, stop tagging me in cool things. Geez, you might actually make me start blogging again.

    But for real, thank you, and I’ll have to do this at some point. Probably this year. Probably.

    Also, I’ve been meaning to read Ash for a while. And to actually finish Adaptation.

    • nevillegirl says:

      *giggles* I thought you might like this for that reason. I know I like getting tagged for stuff because sometimes I run out of ideas… So you’re welcome. 🙂

      Is Adaptation any good?
      SDKGJSDLJGHSLDKGHDSLGHSDGLDKGHG ASH AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
      IT WAS SO GOOD
      LIKE SERIOUSLY GOOD
      WE’RE TALKING “BETTER THAN HARRY POTTER” GOOD
      KJBABNDFJBFKDBJDFKDFBDBD AND I GOT HUGE CRUSHES ON ASH AND KAISA ‘CAUSE THAT’S JUST HOW I ROLL
      WHERE HAS THIS BOOK BEEN ALL MY LIFE
      WELL, NOT WRITTEN FOR MOST OF IT APPARENTLY
      ANYWAY

      • magicfishy says:

        *flops* I don’t know if Adaptation is any good, because I had to return it to the library entirely too early. I’m not even that sure of the plot, to be honest. But I do remember that it’s the only book I’ve (partially) read with a bisexual protagonist, so there’s that. Actually, I’m pretty sure it has a sequel or two out by now…

        OKAY I WILL CHECK OUT ASH.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Isn’t it, like, aliens and cute Asian guys and bisexuality? Or something? *doesn’t really know either since she’s only read bits and pieces of the blurb on Lo’s blog*
      Yeah, the sequel is Inheritance.

      YES PLEASE DO IT’LL BE VERY WORTH IT.

      • magicfishy says:

        Well, I don’t know about the aliens, but I can confirm cute Asian guys (and pink-haired girls!) and bisexuality.

        OKAY I WILL LET YOU KNOW MY THOUGHTS WHEN I DO.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ooh, pink-haired girls. Sounds adorable. xD

  2. wondrousadventurer says:

    We can work on the Silmarillion together! I started it when I got it but I haven’t gotten far due to time constraints — plus, I need someone to gush about the Valar with because I already adore like half of them.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yay, sure! Reading it with someone else might help me stay on track. ’cause I started and went “Oh my god, there’s too many elf names to remember” and put it aside.

  3. orphu44 says:

    ADAPTATION! Yes. And then Inheritance deals with all kinds of things, and at one point there’s a mention of asking about people’s pronouns, and also some things I’d like to say but can’t because spoilers. *begins mouthing furiously so as to vent enthusiasm without spoiling anything*
    You should read them. And then let me know so I can express my feelings about them without spoiling anything.
    (And thank you for tagging me!)

    • nevillegirl says:

      I TAKE IT ADAPTATION IS VERY GOOD?

      Ooh, yay. 😀
      COME, FANGIRL WITH ME ABOUT ASH AAAAAAH

      (You’re welcome!)

      • orphu44 says:

        YES. Although most of my fangirling a the moment is directed toward Inheritance, since I’ve just read it.
        But Ash and Kaisa are sweethearts, telling fairy tales and going on hunts and kissing. I should reread it, since the last time I read it was … maybe three years ago? My Gollum, it’s been a while.
        Malinda Lo’s also got an E-book called Natural Selection about one of the characters in Adaptation/Inheritance as well. *dances* I haven’t read it, though.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ooh yay, that one’s good too? *adds to list of books to get at the library*
      Asdkaghdslkhgldkshgdskhsdg I wish I lived… my Gollum, does the book ever say what their country is called? But I wish I lived there, if everyone except the evil stepfamily is so sweet. Also, fairies.

      Excellent; I’ll look for that after I’ve finished that series. (Is it a series? I can’t tell if it’s a duology or if there’s supposed to be more books.)

      • orphu44 says:

        I don’t think it specifically says what it’s called. I’ve tried to describe their ethnicity before, but I couldn’t properly because it’s not as though I can say, “Oh, yes, they’re from (insert likely country here),” because they don’t even live in our world. It does sound lovely, though. You should let me know if you ever work out how to go there, I’ll join you.
        Which is that, the Ash/Huntress books, or the Adaptation/Inheritance books? I think they’re both duologies, but I’m slightly less sure about Adaptation (I don’t count Natural Selection seems it seems more like a side-book than a sequel, if that makes sense? Although if I’m going to be nitpicky, Huntress is a prequel that takes place literal ages before Ash…)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Mhmmm. They’re supposed to be Asian, I know that much, but other than that I don’t know.
      Indeed. We can fly there on Bob the dragon.
      I was talking about Adaptation / Inheritance, but good point. I suppose they’re both duologies. JDSAHGKJDSGDSG NO I BOTH WANT AND DO NOT WANT A SEQUEL TO ASH. It’s like… I kind of like how the story ended and I want to imagine things for myself, and not be told “now X happened, and then Y.” But I also just want more adorableness. I only had a bit left to read in Ash anyway since I started it ages ago, but then I went and reread the whole thing and squeed at the cute bits. Which is basically all of it.
      I’m sorry. It’s just awesome. Talk about adorable queer ladies… I thought nothing could be cuter than Vastra/Jenny.

      • orphu44 says:

        I would lean toward Chinese, simply because Malinda’s Chinese, but she’s also said that she was partially inspired by Japanese mythology, I believe, so I wouldn’t rule that out. (In Huntress, I mean. Ash was of more of a Celtic flavour.)
        Ohh, yes, I know that feeling, when you want there to be MORE to it, but you don’t want there to be a rigid, official way things went that might seem off. Which is … difficult to avoid if it’s set down in canon.
        Can’t speak to how cute Vastra and Jenny are, but Ash and Kaisa are sweethearts.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yes, I was leaning towards Chinese too, but I wasn’t sure.
      (Celtic? Like with the fairies and stuff?)
      Indeed. I don’t want to have imagined something only to find out that it didn’t happen, or happened differently. I’d be disappointed then.
      VASTRA AND JENNY ARE ADORABLE LIKE CAN I JUST MARRY A LIZARD WOMAN FROM THE DAWN OF TIME THAT WOULD BE NICE.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ohhhhh right. Sidhean. Yeah. Hmmm. *stupid Engie doesn’t see the obvious*

  4. Miriam Joy says:

    I have Ash reserved at the library, but it’s taking FOREVER to come in. If you review it, I probably won’t read your review until I’ve read it because of your tendency to include spoilers, ha ha.

    *blushes* at being one of your favourite bloggers.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Haha, don’t worry. It’ll probably be a while before I review it because there’s other posts I want to do first. And it might just end up being more WOW THEY’RE SO CUTE stuff – as in, shameless fangirling.
      Or it might actually be Serious. But I’m not often like that.

      *grins* Well, you are. It’s… your writing style is intelligent but not pretentious, I guess? I can’t stand pretentious. (Pretention? What’s that even called besides “being pretentious”?)

  5. Lol, does that make me an old person if I didn’t know what OTP meant? 😛 All of the Doctor Who pairings, yes! When I was ten, I wrote a short stageplay that was all Ten/Rose.
    Have you read Ten Things I Hate About Me by Randa Abdel-Fattah?
    Thanks for the tag!

    • nevillegirl says:

      You can be whatever you want to be. *giggles* Including old, if you want.
      All the couples on that show are cute. *sighs happily* Even Strax/grenades no sssh that is totally canon.
      Ah, Ten/Rose. I like them, I suppose, but I did think Nine/Rose had more chemistry. This might explain why series 2 is one of my least favorites (that and series 6…).

      Yep. It was… *sighs* It was OK. A little bland (which sucks because it was one of my diversity reads) and predictable.
      You’re welcome!

  6. Boquinha says:

    Yay! This was fun to read. I love, love, love these.

    Totally agree about the random non-book questions – what the ??

    Speaking of books, we totally geeked out yesterday over all the ALA award announcements. I even got choked up when I read about Rainbow Rowell winning a Printz Honor for “Eleanor & Park.” Have you read “Fangirl” yet? It’s my least favorite by her, but I really liked it anyway. I love her writing style so much.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you!

      Yeah, I didn’t understand. Why wouldn’t they just ask more bookish questions instead of what I was wearing?

      Ooh, that’s cool! She definitely deserves that for Eleanor & Park.
      I haven’t read Fangirl, but I intend to. It sounds like the perfect book for geeky me. 😀

      • Boquinha says:

        I didn’t know this when I started reading Fangirl, but she does discuss gay literature and characters. I’ve read some interviews with Rainbow Rowell – she is a pretty impressive gay-rights advocate.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Meh, I’ve read that she has gay characters in Fangirl, but I don’t think that makes her an impressive gay-rights advocate. I’m really frustrated by the people who go, “Look, I acknowledged gay people aren’t I wonderful look at me!” It’s like, congratulations. They also ignored the L. And the B. And the T and the Q and all the other identities in the +. Gay =/= LGBTQ+.
      I mean, gay representation is better than nothing, I suppose, but “slightly more than nothing” isn’t much to aim for.

      • Boquinha says:

        Oh, I don’t mean just because she has gay characters in Fangirl (I mean, that’s a start, but you’re right that more is necessary). I’m basing that on interviews she’s given as well as the kinds of events she attends and authors she supports, etc.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I suppose.
      I don’t know, I guess this just really matters to me because even if it doesn’t totally affect *me*, I hear my friends (two are bisexual, for example) say that if it’s difficult being gay one should think about being bi because a lot of the time they’re just ignored and people only talk about gay and straight. And I don’t want them to feel left out like that, so I can get a bit touchy about “Well yes this person says all these wonderful things about gay rights, but what about people who aren’t gay or straight?”

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ooh, neat. I’ll have to check it out!

  7. Boquinha says:

    Also, it’s soooooo cold! I’m so sick of the cold. It was -15 here this morning. That’s just absurd. Polar Vortex . . . mumble grumble . . .

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ha ha, I’ve barely been outside in weeks. 🙂 It’s too cold.

      • Boquinha says:

        Me either. 😛 Ah, the joys of homeschooling!

        By the way, for some reason, I’m unable to subscribe to comments. This is my, what, 4th comment now, and I’m not getting email notifications of replies even though I ticked the box! (I know you responded to me, because I manually checked). I don’t know if the settings changed or if I jinxed myself when I griped about WordPress’s commenting features on my tag :P, but yeah, here I go trying again . . .

    • nevillegirl says:

      Indeed. I can be quite antisocial if I so wish. xD

      *frowns* Hmm. I don’t actually subscribe to any comments on WordPress because the site automatically notifies me when there’s comments on my own blog / replies to my comments on other blogs.
      Is there anything about how often you get the comments? I know I can choose to have subscribed blogs send me posts instantly/daily/weekly, so maybe there’s a similar feature for comments.

      • Boquinha says:

        Well, I just commented on your “What Does the Cover Say?” post and I got notified right away. Maybe there’s just some weird glitch on this post for some reason.

    • nevillegirl says:

      This post can’t handle the awesomeness of more comments.

  8. matttblack42 says:

    Thanks for choosing me as one of your favorite bloggers. That one comment completely turned my day around

    And I agree, what’s up with the non book-related questions? I guess I can’t complain though, because I have a clever answer already formed for one of them.

    (Ooh, and I just finished A Storm of Swords, and I’m very satisfied by the unlikable character death count.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      *giggles* You’re welcome. I’m glad.
      Indeed. But clever, snarky answers are the best.
      (Yay! I can’t wait to see the Purple Wedding…)

      Aaaaand because I really want to talk about DW you are one of my favorite bloggers, I shall reward you with adorable behind-the-scenes pictures of Peter Capaldi.




      …I thought Twelve was supposed to be a “darker Doctor,” but evidently he’s actually just a big cutie aaaaaah dskghsdlghdslgdg yes I approve.

      ANDANDAND LOOK LOOK LOOK: http://theboringbaker.tumblr.com/post/74890090298/intrudaimpala-davenitram
      I am a very happy Engie now. Pompeii? Frobisher? Possible Donna reappearance? Hunting for Gallifrey? yES AUGUST CANNOT COME QUICKLY ENOUGH.
      …..wait, I googled using the image and it looks like it was stolen from the poster of a movie about Pompeii.
      Oh well.
      I do hope they tie up the loose ends regarding Capaldi elsewhere in the Whoniverse.

      • matttblack42 says:

        Me too. I hope it turns out that the Pompeii guy was actually the Doctor in disguise. And so was John Frobisher, for some reason.

        Is the outfit Capaldi wearing supposed to be the Doctpor’s outfit? It’s weird, I remember Moffat (or someone in the show) describing 12’s outfit as “100% Rebel Time-lord.”

        Some other great (though unconfirmed) news for series eight: The episodes will be about ten minutes longer, the series won’t be split in half, and Clara is going to be more developed. Okay, this is more like a wish-list, but still, just take my word for it.

        During the Purple Wedding episode, I will be waiting outside for the united cheer of every single Game of Thrones fan.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Indeed. That scene where Caecilius calls the TARDIS art is priceless now.
      (Although, I hope the explanation isn’t that he was scattered into many lives like all the versions of Clara were. That solution would be incredibly easy to write in – because the Doctor stepped in his timeline too, right? – but it would also be STUPID. Stupid because it’s happened before, and stupid because honestly Clara’s “big reveal” wasn’t that great.)

      Yeah, I guess. I think his costume looks *nice* (the red and black remind me of Three’s clothes and I adore Three) but it’s not nearly “rebel” enough!

      *giggles* I would happily settle for shorter episodes and the series split into fourths if it meant Clara was better developed. Or just left entirely, along with Moffat, and was replaced with someone better.

      *eagerly awaits*

      • matttblack42 says:

        Hey, for all we know, Moffat might write another Blink this series.

        I’m not sure if Clara’s “big reveal” was spoiled for me at the time, but I don’t remember being surprised at all by it. More importantly, did they ever explain how the Doctor and Clara escaped the time stream? I really want to know how they did that.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I suppose. I don’t have very high hopes, though, since there haven’t been any Moffat-episodes in, well, actual Moffat-era Who that just blew me away with their amazingness. There were some nice ones. There wasn’t anything that left me going, “Dang. I wish I’d written that.”

      No, I don’t think the writers ever explained how they left the time stream. (Or how they left Trenzalore, actually. Or what happens to Trenzalore / the Doctor’s grave on that planet now that it was saved and he didn’t die. And if he didn’t die at his grave, Clara couldn’t save him there, so… what does that do to her scattered versions? Are they written out of history? Does the Doctor even remember them?)
      That’s one of my biggest frustrations regarding Moffat. He has good IDEAS. And they often start out fabulously. But the resolutions usually suck, or there’s not enough explanation, and so an idea that originally excited me just makes me go, “…huh? I don’t even know how that ended.”

  9. themagicviolinist says:

    So jealous of how many bookshelves you have. I wish I had a room of requirement JUST for storing books!

    A lesbian retelling of Cinderella? That sounds interesting. I haven’t read many LGBTQ+ books, but I’d like to. I’m not really sure where to start. 😛 Any suggestions?

    I just started watching “Doctor Who” about a week ago! 🙂 I’m currently in the middle of “The Doctor Dances.” (At least, I think that’s what it’s called). I’m already so attached to Christopher Eccleston! It’ll be so sad for me when they change the Doctor. I haven’t seen much of Jack, but he annoys me. 😛 Too . . . sleazy. I don’t know what it is exactly, he just bugs me.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ha ha, six of the shelves are pretty new. My dad built them a few years ago when I was running out of room.

      Yep! It was great. Aaaaaand… *thinks*
      Ash, definitely. Lo’s also written Huntress, Adaptation, and Inheritance, all of which have queer girls. I’ve heard they’re good, but haven’t read them yet.
      The Miseducation of Cameron Post, if you want historical/realistic fiction. But I’ve already told you about that.
      Kissing Kate, by Lauren Myracle.
      Am I Blue? by Marion Dane Bauer, but it’s a bit dated. (Published in the 90s and you can tell they’re trying to bE SO EDGY and now it’s just… no.)
      Dramarama by E. Lockhart.
      Far From Xanadu by Julie Anne Peters. (I think it might have been retitled as Pretend You Love Me, though.)
      …there are loads more but those are the best ones I could think of. And there’s plenty *I* haven’t read. Also I think those all have queer girls, because I can be biased that way. xD

      SAJEGHDDDDDDDDDDDDSHGJSHGSLDHGDSKHGSLDKHGSDG
      ASDGSKDHES;HRREH
      ERH
      ERH
      ERHERHERHERHERHERHERHERHERHHINEANKJEE
      I’m sorry that wasn’t really necessary.
      I just get excited about Doctor Who. And that you started with NINE, because most people skip him and either don’t watch him at all / go back and see his stuff later.
      And I was going to bug you about watching the show soon, anyway. xD Because it’s a great big cool story like HP and I think you’d like it.

      Anyway.
      I LOVE The Doctor Dances. That two-part episode is my favorite Ninth Doctor story, and one of my favorites in general. It’s eerie and brilliantly plotted and yeah. *shivers* I never thought little kids would be creepy.

      I love Eccleston’s Doctor; he’s my favorite. I love Ten/Eleven/Three a lot too, but Eccleston is just… I don’t know. Serious. Dark. Moody. He can be very very angry (and he has every reason to) but when he smiles it’s just DJKHGDHJG. I guess I really appreciate happy!Nine because it doesn’t happen very often, vs. happy!Ten which is basically everything except the latter part of series 4.
      Anyway. Eccleston’s episodes were… meh. Some good ones, like The Doctor Dances, but yeah. However, I think he has a really great personality and his regeneration sequence is, IMO, the best.
      Jack… is a weird character. I do ago that he’s rather annoying in the beginning. Rather one-dimensional.
      Also I’m not sure what I think about Jack in terms of representation, ’cause he was one of the few LGBTQ+ characters in DW (well, New Who anyway – “New Who” being everything from Nine onwards) but he’s kind of the stereotype of the promiscuous bisexual sooooo… yeah.
      He does get much more complex, though, in Torchwood (his own spin-off) show. He’s great there, actually, if you want to try it. It’s a very violent show, though, so maybe not.
      (Although… Children of Earth – the third season) isn’t that violent, just tragic. And it is AWESOME and OH I HAVE SO MANY FEELINGS ABOUT JACK THERE AAAAH.)
      Anyway. I think Jack improves by the end of series 1 with the Bad Wolf stuff, too, and then he’s in series 3 with a new Doctor and it’s great. Trust me. He wasn’t the greatest character at first, but he gets better.

      • themagicviolinist says:

        Thanks for the suggestions! 🙂 Adding them to my Goodreads now . . .

        LOL, I knew you’d have this reaction about DW. 😉 I’m planning on going back to your older posts about it once I catch up. I love Eccleston, too! 🙂 He’s so funny! (Do all of the Doctors have a sense of humor)?

    • nevillegirl says:

      Awesome!

      Haha, I’m just very happy to have someone else I can geek out to.
      Yeah… there’s a bunch. Posts about music and Martha, mostly. EEE I CAN’T WAIT UNTIL YOU GET TO SERIES 3 WITH MARTHA SHE IS SO AWESOME.

      Yeah, although I think the Classic Doctors (that I’ve seen – I haven’t seen all of them) have a weirder sense of humor, and Eleven is this strange mix of old man / little boy which is kind of funny.
      I love Nine’s sarcastic sense of humor, my dad and I disagree about that. He think he’s nasty, I guess. Ten is more of the happy-go-lucky Doctor, at least at first.

      • wondrousadventurer says:

        I can vouch for the Classic ones — all of the Doctors are known for humor in some degree or another. It’s just that, like all people, they have different “brands” of humor. You’ve pointed that out already — Ten’s gags are goofy and pop-culture influenced, whereas Nine is prone to sharp, witty one-liners, almost reminiscent of the Marx brothers (in my mind).

        Let me think… Four shines through with Hitchhiker’s Guide-esque writing (due to the Douglas Adams connection), and Six has a pompous arrogance that’s really in the end quite endearing, but is from the start all-around amusing (and the source of great lines such as “This is a situation which requires tact and finesse — fortunately, I am in possession of both.”) to start.

        Oh! And Eight really likes making terrible puns. (And I mean downright terrible.)

  10. Cait says:

    Thanks for the tag! 🙂 We don’t usually have time to squeeze them in these days, but thanks for thinking of us. 🙂

  11. Thank you for the tag Neville! I think I’ll be able to squeeze in this post. 😀

  12. Thanks for tagging me. Unfortunately, my no-tag policy still applies, but I thank you anyway. Good post.

  13. Thomas says:

    Love your responses to these questions, sorry for the late response! Agreed about insta-love and don’t feel guilty about liking the Great Gatsby because it’s short – I appreciate its brevity as well. (:

  14. Pingback: Quarterly Rewind, Winter 2014 – A Plentiful Supply Of Books, Photography, And More | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

