The Desolation Of Song (Or “I See Fire” Told As It Should Be)

richard-armitage-the-hobbit-an-unexpected-journeyEd Sheeran’s “I See Fire,” the credits song from The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, is simultaneously beautiful and dorky. Following are the sarcastic comments I thought while listening to it the other night.

Oh, misty eye of the mountain below

As far as I know, the only mountain with an eye is the Eye of Sauron.

Keep careful watch of my brothers’ souls

So you may want to reconsider this bit.

And should the sky be filled with fire and smoke
Keep watching over Durin’s sons

Don’t you mean “Durin’s folk”? Smoke and folk are only slant rhymes, but smoke and sons don’t even sound similar.

If this is to end in fire
Then we should all burn together

Wow, thanks for clearing that up. I thought if there were a fire, you’d push only one person in instead of burning together.

Watch the flames climb high into the night

Sure, don’t bother to put out the fire. Just let it burn up the ecosystem.

Calling out father, oh,
Stand by and we will
Watch the flames burn auburn on
The mountain side high

I thought the mountain was below? (Or is this a reference to drugs? Did you let the mountain get high on pipeweed again?)

And if we should die tonight
We should all die together

You think killing people makes them like you, but it doesn’t. It just makes them dead.

Raise a glass of wine for the last time

Alcohol is quite flammable, so you will burn spectacularly.

Calling out father, oh,
Prepare as we will
Watch the flames burn auburn on
The mountain side

Stop rubbernecking, already! Put out the fire and stop watching it!

Desolation comes upon the sky

[Insert heavy-handed reference to Smaug here.]

Now I see fire

Then what did you see before if you’re just now seeing fire?

Inside the mountain

Mountain. Big rock thing. Very solid. Inside cannot be seen. Mountain not translucent.

I see fire
Burning the trees

Smokey the Bear says, “Only you can prevent forest fires!”

And I see fire
Hollowing souls

What does this even mean?

I see fire

You don’t say.

Blood in the breeze

Um. What? This isn’t the Third Quarter Quell. There’s no blood rain.

And I hope that you remember me

How can they remember if everyone is dying together?

Oh, should my people fall in
Surely I’ll do the same

Because you have no free will and/or are tied together with ropes?

Confined in mountain halls
We got too close to the flame

Well, don’t play with matches anymore.

Calling out father, oh,
Hold fast and we will
Watch the flames burn auburn on
The mountain side

Watching fire equals quality time with Daddy.

Desolation comes upon the sky

Wow, I had no idea dragons bring death, destruction, and desolation. How enlightening. Please tell me more.

Now I see fire
Inside the mountain
I see fire
Burning the trees
And I see fire
Hollowing souls
And I see fire
Blood in the breeze
And I hope that you remember me

You’ve said this all before. Now go put out that fire.

And if the night is burning
I will cover my eyes

Because if you can’t see the fire, it isn’t there anymore.

For if the dark returns
Then my brothers will die

Wait a minute, wouldn’t covering your eyes make things dark? Are you trying to kill your brothers or something?

And as the sky is falling down
It crashed into this lonely town

“The sky is falling! The sky is falling!” cried Chicken Little.

And with that shadow upon the ground
I hear my people screaming out

Count the shadows.

Now I see fire
Inside the mountains
I see fire
Burning the trees
And I see fire
Hollowing souls
And I see fire
Blood in the breeze

Stoooooooooop. How much longer is this song?

I see fire

I see I’ve nearly reached the end of the lyrics!

Oh, you know I saw a city burning

Because you needed to see an entire city burning before you knew what fire was.

Fire

…OK?

And I see fire

DRAMATIC INCREASE IN VOLUME!

Feel the heat upon my skin

Then you’re standing too close to the flames, idiot.

Yeah

No.

Fire

FIRE!

And I see fire

AND I SEE FIRE!

Oh, oh, oh

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOH!

Fire

FIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIRE!

 And I see fire burn auburn on the mountain side

I can’t believe you took an entire song to tell me what you could’ve said in that last line.

I think Thorin Oakenshield himself would approve of my commentary. What about you?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to The Desolation Of Song (Or “I See Fire” Told As It Should Be)

  1. themagicviolinist says:

    BA HA HA! XD I lost it when you mentioned Smokey the Bear, then giggled my way through the last bits when you just kept repeating what he was saying. Brilliant! More please!

    • nevillegirl says:

      *giggles* Yay, thanks! I love being sarcastic. 😀
      I suppose I could do this with other songs, but I can’t think of any right now. I guess that’s how my ideas work in general – I can’t try too hard to get them because they just pop into my head at random moments. But if I do get any more crazy sarcastic ideas, I’ll definitely post them. xD

  2. Miriam Joy says:

    I like the song. But I agree about smoke/folk. (Also they are proper rhymes. At least in my accent. How do YOU say folk that it doesn’t rhyme with smoke? O.o)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Oh, I like the song too. I love how it sounds, and the emotion in his voice is PERFECT. I just think the lyrics are a bit ridiculous when you really think about them.
      (I don’t know, there’s… more of an L sound in it. So it sounds close enough, but not exactly the same.)

  3. July says:

    Oh my word, I love how you just analyzed the entire song! This is one of my favorites and I also cracked up uncontrollably throughout this post, haha. You are brilliant!

  4. Haha, as much as I love that song, you’re quite right. Smokey the bear does not approve of playing with matches.

    • nevillegirl says:

      (Seana! Haven’t seen you in forever! Hello again!)
      *giggles* I’m glad. It doesn’t make any sense to me why the dwarves would just be like, “Yeah, let’s let the place burn down!”

  5. Ahahah, that was brilliant!

  6. Miss Alexandrina says:

    Yes!

  7. lydiamunro says:

    Oh this is brilliant! I mean I’m a hard core Sheerio but I laughed through the whole thing. I lost it at the ‘alcohol is actually quite flammable’ and smokey the bear parts. Haha! You should do more of these 😉

  8. Mike says:

    EVERY time I hear the song I think he’s going to say Durin’s Folk! Why on Earth did they NOT write it that why? I don’t even get it. Here in the midwest US I pronounce Folk more like Full-K, but lots of people also rhyme it directly with Smoke. (It’s also my last name so I hear it a lot both ways.)

  9. Pingback: Quarterly Rewind, Winter 2014 – A Plentiful Supply Of Books, Photography, And More | Musings From Neville's Navel

  10. Bookworm445 says:

    Oh, so funny! I love LOTR and The Hobbit, and that song, and Ed Sheeran! Also, Lydia is such a fan of Ed Sheeran that I’m surprised she laughed! Also, the ‘because you needed to see an entire city burning before you knew what fire was’ sentence made me completely crack up. It also annoyed my friends cause they didn’t know what I was laughing about! xD

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

