A B See Photo Challenge: M Is For Me

cameraLook at this – two A B See Photo Challenge posts in about as many weeks! It’s a miracle!

Choosing M’s theme was easy, even more so when I realized that I could be quite creative with its pictures. My selfies are terrible (I look like I have a huge forehead and no hair and my eyes are always half-closed) but I didn’t have to photograph myself. I could take pictures of something relating to one of my interests, or of my favorite possessions. Something that symbolizes me.

DSCN3413Subject of photo: Glasses

Location of subject: My room

Techniques practiced: Black and white, close-up

I’ve worn glasses for eleven years now, I think, so they’re definitely important to my life. I like this picture because the glasses appear in crisp detail on one side and gradually blur over to the other.

DSCN3422

Subject of photo: Wooden cat figurine

Location of subject:Β My room

Techniques practiced: Black and white, close-up

I have several cat-decoration-things in my room, from a Chinese waving cat to a gigantic paper-mache model (from an art project a few years ago), but this one photographed best. I have versions of this photo in color as well but I thought the blue background of my wall might be a little distracting.

DSCN3427Subject of photo: A page and earrings

Location of subject: My room

Techniques practiced: Black and white, close-up

I would like to be a comedian one day, so this picture seemed appropriate. The photograph uses the same idea found in the second picture of my B Is For Black And White post – I added the smiley face earrings because the page was a bit dull on its own. I chose the book, a 1930s guide to literary terms, in part because I liked the font.

DSCN3432Subject of photo: A stack of books

Location of subject: My room

Techniques practiced: Close-up

Books! I would be bored and lonely without them. I grabbed a bunch of books with blue covers, then added some with white or purple spines to complement them. I like this photo for the array of colors and also because it shows the history of my reading – Mockingjay is in good condition because I got it recently, but Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix has clearly been well-loved.

I’mΒ kind of embarrassed now because almost everything in that pile is either a children’s book or an abridged book. I read more than that, I swear.

DSCN3448Subject of photo: Laptop keyboard

Location of subject: Computer desk

Techniques practiced: Black and white, close-up

Well, I don’t like computers, exactly. I like writing essays and stories with them! I like the geometry of this photo – all the repeating lines and squares.

Which photo is your favorite and why?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A B See Photo Challenge: M Is For Me

  1. Bane says:

    These are really good, Engie. My favorite is the… glasses one.

  2. Bane says:

    πŸ˜€

    I believe… That was my first comment here. I’ve been stalking for a number of weeks; I love this blog.

  3. Mom says:

    I vote for the page and earrings. The words in the book describe you perfectly.

  4. I reckon the page with earrings and the laptop keyboard, though they’re all fantastic! πŸ˜€

  5. Boquinha says:

    I like the open book and the laptop keyboard pictures!

    Also, what a great pile of books! I love pictures like that, mostly to see all the diversity among the titles – looks like some great and eclectic reading.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

