Sherlocked

sherlockpromoLast weekend, I was sick. Not sick enough to warrant sleeping all day but too sick to really concentrate on reading, writing, SAT prep, et cetera. So what should I do? TV, I thought. Nine hours and many cups of tea later, I’d watched all the episodes of Sherlock available on Netflix.

What follows is not a review, not even close. I don’t have time to write something that detailed, so this is just a collection of thoughts I had while watching.

Minor spoilers ahead for Sherlock, series two!

  • While watching The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, I thought Benedict Cumberbatch was doing a different voice to make the dragon seem more intimidating. Now I realize that’s his actual voice. Whoa. It’s really deep and completely gorgeous and if there is ever an audiobook version of my stories, I would kill to have him narrate it. (Not really. I’m a mild-mannered villain who doesn’t kill.)
  • When Martin Freeman (who plays the main character in The Hobbit films) scrunches up his eyebrows and pouts a little, that’s my favorite Bilbo face. So I was happy to see that he does that quite a lot as John Watson as well, and it’s made it so that I cannot unsee him as Sherlock’s pet hobbit.
  • Sherlock reminds me of my brother. Part of it is the physical appearance (tall and skinny with messy dark hair) and part of it is the attitude (condescending genius).
  • But if my brother is Sherlock that means I’m Mycroft, and I don’t want that. It’s not that I dislike Mycroft – he’s an interesting morally gray character – but he’s played by Mark Gatiss who also starred as the mad scientist / dorky-creepy-scorpion-thing in Doctor Who‘s “The Lazarus Experiment.” I crack up every time he’s onscreen.
  • I don’t know if I liked the villain of “A Study in Pink” so much because he’s creepy, or because I never ever suspected it would be him.
  • Watching Sherlock is weird since because it’s so popular I’ve seen bits and pieces already or know, vaguely, what happens. Every few minutes I recognized a quote.
  • There aren’t many female characters, and none are them are major for more than an episode. Sigh.
  • “The Blind Banker” taught me never to date when you’re friends with Sherlock Holmes because he will crash the occasion and make you feel like the third wheel at your own date.
  • It’s weird that characters’ texts are shown onscreen as, essentially, closed captioning and there aren’t any cuts to a shot of a cellphone. It’s not a bad thing, just different.
  • Steven Moffat fails at writing decent plots or female/queer characters in Doctor Who, and in Sherlock he still has problems with the latter, but his plots are surprisingly good. It’s bizarre because I expected something, well, as terrible as Doctor Who‘s sixth and seventh series, but he actually seems to know what he’s doing in this show. Pacing, suspense, and nods to the original stories are all very well done. (Let’s see how long this lasts.)
  • The Golem in “The Great Game” is really creepy, considering how few scenes he/it/whatever had.
  • Sherlock and John are totally a couple. They’re more couple-ish than people I know in real life.
  • Vastra is Sherlock and Jenny is John and if it doesn’t make you happy to occasionally imagine those two in place of Cumberbatch and Freeman, then I don’t know what will.
  • Evidently I’ve been pronouncing Moriarty’s name wrong.
  • I won’t bother spending a long time complaining about how DUDE MOFFAT YOU CANNOT WRITE IRENE ADLER THAT WAY WHAT EVEN because someone already wrote a good analysis of that. Go read. (And this one too.)
  • Speaking of analyses, I love reading/watching something and being able to understand critiques and long thinky essays and whatnot about them.
  • In spite of the character-related failings, “A Scandal in Belgravia” is still one of my favorites for two reasons. The first is the cinematography. Those cutscenes from Irene’s house to the car? Ooh.
  • And the second is the music. “SHERlocked” is gorgeous and I really need to find piano sheet music for it.
  • I saw the SHERlocked design-thingy on someone’s phone a while ago and thought, “Oh, that’s a neat logo.” Because I am stupid and didn’t realize it’s actually from the show.
  • The only time I even came close to figuring out something before Sherlock was with Irene’s first passcode. It’s six numbers – so it’s her measurements. Duh. (And on an only marginally related note, one time I figured out my cat’s measurements. I don’t even know why.)
  • I am, quite possibly, the stupidest person ever because I thought you-know-who (not Voldemort) died at the end of the episode. I take things too literally. I thought it was a dream sequence or wishful thinking or something…
  • One of my Christmas presents was a fancy sparkly scarf and after seeing Sherlock tie his so many times, I really should know how to copy it. (Normally when I tie a scarf it looks like I’m trying to choke myself. In addition to being stupid, I’m not very good at dressing myself, apparently.)
  • I very much enjoyed reading The Hound of the Baskervilles for school but it had been just long enough since then that I didn’t fully remember the solution to the mystery and that made “The Hounds of Baskerville” much more suspenseful.
  • The main character in that episode is Alonso! The same actor, I mean. I recognized his ears from Doctor Who.
  • To me, “The Hounds of Baskerville” was the scariest episode and I’m not sure whether it was due to that dog or dogs in general. (I was terrified of them when I was little and even now I’m not comfortable around big dogs.)
  • “The Reichenbach Fall” is my second-favorite episode, musically-speaking. “Prepared to Do Anything” is a tense yet pretty song.
  • How did Sherlock survive?! I know some spoilers for the recently-released third series but the details are still hazy and I’m impatient to find out.

So there you have it. I began watching Sherlock on a whim and accidentally fell into another fandom. This seems to be a recurring pattern in my life – I’m late to the party for every fandom (except Harry Potter) and then I fall in love with the music. It’s strange that, as someone who doesn’t really care about fitting in, once something becomes popular I’m really keen to read or watch it.

Anyway. It’s really no wonder that I love the show – I adore retellings, and this is just another one. Sherlock stands well both on its own and as an adaptation of the Arthur Conan Doyle original.

Thanks to a thing called schoolwork, I haven’t been able to watch the third series yet and I probably won’t be able to for a while. In the meantime, I’ll do my homework while daydreaming of theories: how did Sherlock survive the fall?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Sherlocked

  1. krislivo1 says:

    Go to simplyjune.org for season three. I am now beginning the seemingly never ending wait for season four….

    • nevillegirl says:

      Actually, I think I already found a website with series three, but I’ll keep the other one in mind in case the first doesn’t work. Thanks!
      Have they said yet when series four is out? Or will there be a two-year hiatus again? xD
      Oh hey, series four is out. Wait. That’s “The Sign of Four”. My bad. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-7jS7X-2ggA *snickers*

      (Take note, Mom! Mrs. Livovich watches COOL STUFF and reads YA BOOKS and no one has to poke her through The Hunger Games or drag her through Doctor Who. Wow. 😉 )

    • nevillegirl says:

      …how does that make a difference? Not being old and creaky makes it easier to run away from Daleks, or something?

  2. orphu44 says:

    I’ve watched four episodes of Sherlock, the first two of the first season and the first two of the third season (yeah, I dunno). And part of Scandal in Belgravia, I think? But more pressingly, six numbers = measurements? How do measurements work, then? I can’t work it out.

    • nevillegirl says:

      *giggles* Did the story still make sense that way?
      I think the first pair of numbers is circumference of the boobs, second set is waist, and third is hips. So, like, 70-12-99. (I’m just making up the numbers, though. That would be one horribly proportioned woman. xD I think hers were all 30-something.)

      • orphu44 says:

        It made a surprising amount of sense really. Admittedly, I had basic knowledge of the Reichenbach Fall, but no more than that. Not beyond what happened in perhaps a thirty-second span of the episode?
        Ah, thank you. I was close to getting it, but I was getting all wonky and trying to include height and such.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Hmmm.
      Butbutbut when you get a chance you should try The Great Game and The Reichenbach Fall because they have lots of Moriarty and he’s neat and I have ideas for Good-Sinful Alliance stuff with him.

      xD I’m glad height isn’t included, otherwise I would fail (I’m five feet tall).
      (Wait, so you’ve seen both Sherlock and Elementary? How do you think they compare?)

      • orphu44 says:

        Duly noted. I’ll see about watching them when I get the chance.
        … you’d fail measurements? Is this a competition I was unaware of? *pats* Well, you wouldn’t be alone in failing it, at any rate.
        I quite like Elementary. I think there’s more to do with Sherlock and Joan in it – I mean, I know there’re things about Sherlock and John but that seems to be mostly ‘and they’re getting CLOSER and CLOSER – so close people think they’re GAY’ without addressing it much? If that makes sense? I’d have to watch some BBC Sherlock again, since I’m not as familiar with that.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I can fail just about everything, dear. xD

      Yeah, Sherlock can be weird and queerbait-y that way. *sighs*

  3. Miriam Joy says:

    That was Alonso? I just recognised him as the werewolf from Being Human (which is a little ironic).

  4. Bane says:

    Yay another fandom I can fangirl about with you! 😀

  5. Bane says:

    Ooh. Favorite characters is hard, but I have to say John. He’s just so John-y and every time I see Martin Freeman I think of hobbits. (Also how whenever they go into a restaurant you se John eating but not Sherlock…)

    YES. It really is. Also sometimes I think he sounds like Snape. x)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yay! John! 😀 I love Sherlock too, but I guess I can relate to John more. Because I wouldn’t be the hero of a story – I’d be the bumbling sidekick.

      Hmmm. You’re right… well, he has to have those six meals a day, you know.

      Indeed. I think it has something to do with how slowly they speak… or something…

  6. Miss Alexandrina says:

    So, how had YOU been pronouncing Moriarty’s name??
    Amusingly, of course (since we get the serieses before you :P) I saw Sherlock before I saw The Hobbit, so I was imagining the same things as you, but the other way around: Sherlock being all big and demanding – John, don’t take my gold or I’ll fry you! – and John being all short and burglary. xD Those scenes, as serious as they were meant to be in Hobbit context, cracked me up for that reason.

    • Miss Alexandrina says:

      And then we mustn’t forget that Arthur Dent was hanging around those words, too. xD

    • nevillegirl says:

      Well, in the show it sounds like more-ee-AR-tee. I was saying more-EE-art-EE. So not that far off, but I have a weird sense of pronunciation.

      After watching Sherlock I’m even more excited for The Hobbit: There And Back Again, so I can see those two together. 😀

    • nevillegirl says:

      Whaaa? Martin Freeman is Arthur Dent? Or is it Benedict Cumberbatch? Either way, I’m giggling because my brother actually wanted to watch The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy tonight and I disagreed because it seems ridiculous.
      *snickers* My brother needs to prepare for my fangirling.

    • nevillegirl says:

      …Martin Freeman’s characters seem to spend a lot of time eating, wanting tea, and being dragged along on adventures. xD

  7. Pingback: Quarterly Rewind, Winter 2014 – A Plentiful Supply Of Books, Photography, And More | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

