“The Giver” Is An Upcoming Film

Warning: This entire post is very spoilery!

Twenty-one years after publication, Lois Lowry’s The Giver is finally being adapted into a film.

I am not sure what to feel about that.

I don’t remember precisely when I first read the book, but I think I was about ten. It was among the first science fiction stories I read and Lois Lowry’s work has been a huge inspiration to write my own novels. I’ve spent hours making up my own casts for the movie and wondering who should compose the score. I probably talk about The Giver way too much on this blog.

You can see that I’m very invested in this movie.

The only catch is, of course, that when you’re extremely excited for something you tend to have high expectations. Often impossibly high expectations. And that means you’re more easily let down. I don’t want to be disappointed by this movie but judging from promo pictures and interviews and whatnot, I’m probably not going to get what I had hoped for.

I’ll reserve any final judgments until after I see the film, of course, but in the meantime here are some thoughts (both good and bad) on the information about the movie that I found here.

Jonas will be sixteen instead of twelve.

No. Just no. It’s the Ceremony of Twelve, you utterly incompetent filmmaking fools, not the Ceremony of Sixteen.

This affects the film in three ways. Two of them relate to the bits of info (in bold) immediately following this one. The other is that I feel the filmmakers are missing the point. Yes, twelve is a very young age to be handling so much responsibility. That’s kind of the point. Jonas is supposed to be terrified and overwhelmed. Oh, he does his best, but it’s still difficult.

And now they’ve just turned the movie into the stereotypical every-dystopian-hero(ine)-is-sixteen thing. (Seriously, why are there so many sixteen-year-old protagonists in YA fiction?)

There will be a romantic subplot between Jonas and Fiona.

NO! No no no no no!

I’m sorry. I just feel really strongly about this. I don’t mind love stories – but it doesn’t have to be in everything, and especially not in adaptations of stories that didn’t originally come with romance.

The director, Phillip Noyce, said in the article linked to above: “In the book, the younger pubescent Jonas has a flirtation with a young girl of his age. That’s almost a love affair in the film.”

OK. Putting aside my issues with unnecessary romance… whaaaat?

There was never a flirtation with Fiona. Jonas loved her, yes, but as a friend. The only indication that Jonas might be interested in Fiona came when he dreamed about wanting her to bathe him, and I’m lost as to how that equals a flirtation. Flirtation requires flirting. Flirtation also usually involves both parties of a potential relationship (and if it doesn’t, it’s called stalking and creepiness).

Secondly, Fiona. Can’t. Love. Jonas. Back. She doesn’t feel love. She doesn’t feel much of anything. No one but the Giver and Jonas have true feelings! Again, both people need to be involved for there to be a love affair. A better word to use would have been “unrequited love.”

Jonas, you of all people! Precision of language, please.

(Sorry, but that quote is just too perfect not to use.)

BRENTON-THWAITES_407x612Jonas looks like a hunk.

I realize that everyone pictures characters differently, so whether or not a character looks “accurate” is highly subjective. I guess I just don’t understand why attractiveness matters in this movie. This isn’t supposed to be a story with heartthrobs – of any gender.

Meryl Streep will play the Chief Elder.

Nice name, by the way. Anyway. I think I’ve only seen her in Julie & Julia, so I’ll probably think of Julia Child during her scenes – I’ll keep thinking of someone goofy and not some stern leader. As I probably haven’t seen Streep in anything else, I don’t feel like I can make any other comments. Moving on.

I have no idea who many of the other actors are, with one exception.

Cameron Monaghan? Katie Holmes? Alexander Skarsgård? Jeff Bridges? Brenton Thwaites? Who? I don’t know who many of these people are. Yay!

Why yay? Because I won’t associate their faces with those of other characters they’ve played. Consider Emma Watson. To my generation if not others, she is Hermione Granger.

Maybe some of these people are famous and not almost completely unknown. That’s fine. But I myself have no idea who many of these people are and I love it that way. I don’t want someone cast just because they’re famous, anyway.

Taylor Swift will play Rosemary.

Yes, she was the exception.

Why must you hurt me in this way?

I don’t understand this. At all. I didn’t know she could act. I didn’t even know she could sing.

I’m sorry, that was mean. Let’s be honest – I am not a fan of Swift’s music – but her songs aren’t why I’m disappointed about her role in the movie.

My issues are as follows. Firstly, I think she’ll be like Emma Watson in that you don’t see the character. You see someone else. You’ll see Taylor instead of Rosemary, and I think it’s going to date the movie.

Secondly, Rosemary is supposed to be no more than twelve in the book. Even after her age was adjusted for the film, she’s still only sixteen. Taylor Swift is twenty-four. I know she looks young, but she doesn’t look that young. Can we please cast actors who are actually close to their character’s age? (Why is Jennifer Lawrence so much older than Katniss?)

Asher and Fiona were cast perfectly.

Cameron Monaghan will play Jonas’ goofy, clumsy friend and boy does he look absolutely spot-on for the role. BIG yes! His smile looks very mischievous.

Odeya Rush was cast as Fiona. I had never heard of her before but I’m looking forward to seeing her act for a somewhat odd reason. I often picture characters looking similar to people I know in real life. I imagined Fiona looking like this girl I attended elementary school with. I don’t even remember her name now, but she had lovely curly reddish-brown hair just like the book’s description of Fiona’s so I always associated that girl with that character. Well, Odeya Rush looks like that girl.

One of my favorite characters (albeit a minor one) in the book has been cast just as I wished. Hurray!

(Also, I would like to add that the actors playing Asher and Jonas are in their twenties but Rush is actually her character’s age.)

(Wait, that means she’s younger than me. Huh? I can’t wrap my mind around the idea that kids younger than myself star in big-name movies.)

There is no mention of the score’s composer.

I’m not counting this as a bad thing – just making an observation. A lot of people probably don’t care about film scores and that’s OK, but I do and I kind of wish I could find information about who will compose for The Giver. I haven’t been able to find that anywhere. Personally, I think Alexandre Desplat would do a fine job – his work in The King’s Speech has the same sort of mellowness that I think would fit The Giver.

There is no mention of colors in the film.

The biggest reason I wanted a film version of The Giver was not the story. It wasn’t even the characters. It was that the movie had the potential to be cinematically gorgeous.

At the beginning of the story Jonas sees his world in only black and red, but gradually other colors bleed through – red is the first. Finally, he “has all the colors, to keep.”

I CANNOT DESCRIBE HOW COOL THIS WOULD APPEAR ONSCREEN. I don’t know much about filmmaking technology but I would assume that if people can now use CGI for an entire movie, there must be some sort of camera filter or whatnot that films in partial color. I think that even if I disagreed with multiple other divergences from canon, filming it this way would rescue the movie for me. It would look neat and lend more depth to the movie.

What are your thoughts on the upcoming film adaptation of The Giver? What are you looking forward to? Is there anything that you think the filmmakers will mess up?

P.S. The movie will be out on August fifteenth, around the same time that Doctor Who‘s eighth series will air. I don’t know how I can handle so much science fiction awesomeness – or so much potential for disappointment!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to “The Giver” Is An Upcoming Film

  1. July says:

    Oh goodness, I am also very split about the decision to make this book into a movie. The book was awesome and I enjoyed reading it, but as you say, there are certain things that should not be changed. I feel bad for future generations who are required to read this book in school because if they see the movie beforehand, it will ruin things and they will have a certain mindset about how it should be when really the book is the original. I’m not sure Hollywood should tackle this project, but it’s definitely be something I’ll be seeing!

    • nevillegirl says:

      *sighs* Some movies have more potential to be bad than others, I think. Consider Julie & Julia – it’s modern-day/historical, so no weird special effects/explosions/all that jazz. And the characters are adults, so age doesn’t matter quite as much because it’s harder to tell specific age after a while. (At least I think so – 10 and 15 look different than 30 and 35, imo.)
      But with The Giver, there WILL be weird special effects. And it’s more important to get the ages of characters right.
      I feel like that didn’t make a lot of sense…

      Anyway. I’m apprehensive, as Jonas would say no I will not stop the quoting haha , but I’ll probably go see it. I’m not so excited that I want to see it on opening day, but I’ll probably go eventually and drag along my brother or a friend. 🙂

  2. Lydia says:

    THIS IS KILLING ME. The Giver could be such an amazing movie . . . IF they stuck to the book, which they obviously do not plan to do. The casting sounds pretty horrible. Taylor Swift? Seriously? First of all, she’s not an actress. Second of all, she’s too well-known for other things, and I think your point about her dating the film in the future is spot-on. Thirdly, I can’t see her in this movie AT ALL. I can see her in a feel-good horse movie or something, but not a classic dystopian! And the entire cast is all wrong age-wise.

    Ugh. I so desperately want it to be good, but I’m afraid I’ll hate it and everyone else will hate it and it will be a total flop.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Haha, good point about the feel-good horse movie. I don’t really care if she acts in other things, but dystopian doesn’t seem like her genre. I think she’d do better in something like a romantic comedy.

      *whines* UGH WHY SURE MAYBE I’LL SEE IT AND BE BLOWN AWAY BY ITS AWESOMNESS BUT YES IT COULD BE AN UTTER FAILURE AND I WOULDN’T BE ABLE TO STAND THAT THIS BOOK WAS A HUUUUUGE PART OF MY CHILDHOOD

  3. okapigirl says:

    I’m so excited for the movie! I really hope they don’t mess it up, though. If they do, I will be so mad.

  4. Cait says:

    I totally understand the worry…I have a lot of the same freaking out reasons. I mean. WHY NOT LEAVE HIM BE TWELVE?? Because not “everyone” can enjoy it unless Jonas is 16? *sigh* I feel like rereading the book before the movie comes out, but I don’t even think that’s a good idea. I almost wish they’d leave books alone and just make cool sci-fi movies instead of making us think they’re making the BOOK into the movie. Really, they’re only borrowing the names aren’t they?

    • nevillegirl says:

      I agree. If they think people can’t relate to Jonas because of his age… that’s silly. I was nine or ten when I first read it, and reread it again maybe a year ago – I wasn’t Jonas’ age at any of those times.
      And if they’re making him older because OMG HOT GUYZ… also silly.

      YES! I’d love to see more original sci-fi movies, not based off of books or comic books or whatever.

  5. Miriam Joy says:

    On the colours thing, if you’ve ever seen Schindler’s List that’s in black and white with occasional flashes of colour (a red coat), so yeah, it’s more than possible.
    I hate it when ages of characters are changed — it makes no sense. And I do wish that young actors played young characters, though I wouldn’t say Jennifer Lawrence is a great deal older than Katniss. She was like 21 when it was filmed so yeah, it’s a four/five year difference, but it’s not massive. There have been worse ones.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yay, that’s good to know. 🙂 I hope the film will have that effect!

      I suppose I dislike actors who are far older than their characters more than characters being aged. I heard that the girl who played Annabeth Chase in the Percy Jackson movies is, like, twice as old as her characters and looks like Percy’s mom. (I never saw the movie because my friends said it was too bad to even attempt. xD) So I get pessimistic about films that didn’t cast young actors.

    • nevillegirl says:

      The book is worth your time, I think. Goofy, but a fairly faithful adaptation of the myths.

      And the film… it doesn’t even have a decent score. I’ve tried. What oh what is the point of a movie if it doesn’t at least have a good score? *says this as she listens to Thor music on repeat, haha* My dad was like, “Thor?? You thought that was stupid” and I said, “bUTBUTBUT PRETTY MUSIC YAY IT MAKES ME HAPPY.”

    • nevillegirl says:

      Does Captain America have a good score? I’ve really only tried Thor (1 and 2), the first Iron Man, and The Avengers.

  6. Ugh, I can’t decide whether I’m excited or infuriated. I feel like Lois Lowry was one of the first authors to create one of those fantasy books with a totalitarian government. I think if they had made “The Giver” into a movie before say, “The Hunger Games”, they wouldn’t be changing all this stuff. (Like making Jonas a hunky sixteen year old.) Seriously, he was KID in the book! The reader wasn’t supposed to have romantic feelings towards him, unless they were of course also twelve and Jonas is your type.
    And TAYLOR SWIFT??? ARE YOU KIDDING ME???!!
    See, I’m on the other side of this coin. I love her music, but I’m willing to admit that she’s a stiff, she sometimes even hard to watch on stage, and I feel as though watching a junior high couple whom have braces make out, would be less awkward than seeing her act. *Sigh*

    • nevillegirl says:

      There were other dystopian books before, of course, but I do agree that The Giver is also partially fantasy, not just hard science fiction. So let’s not ruin it by making it fit in with all the recent dystopias.

      At least there isn’t a love triangle – that I know of. Oh god, if it ends up being an Asher-Fiona-Jonas love triangle thingy, I would be so mad.

      *nods* I’m trying not to judge her acting based on her music – I guess for me it would be like if, say, Bono were cast in some movie. He’s in U2, which I ADORE, but… hey, he’s not an actor, so I don’t CARE if I like his music. Give me someone who can ACT.

  7. Pingback: First Reactions To “The Giver” Film Trailer | Musings From Neville's Navel

  8. MOHE says:

    Okay, so I just read the book and the one thing I would like to add is something about color. I certainly think it would be very cool if they could do it, but it might lose some of the significance. I mean, most of the people watching the movie would know what red is, so it might not be quite the same experience that it was for Jonas.
    But I did find this. http://variety.com/2014/film/news/watch-the-giver-footage-is-faithful-to-books-colorless-world-1201156297/

    • nevillegirl says:

      Mo, has anyone told you that you’re the actual bestest? 😀 This makes me feel so much better about the movie, although I still disagree with the Chief Elder knowing about what was taken away. And the romance plot thingy. But I’d love to see the film in black and white… why didn’t they just make the trailer that way? It would’ve stopped people from complaining.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

