A B See Photo Challenge: N Is For Neighborhood

cameraI lied. I promised you that my next post – the next set of posts, actually, as I have five planned – would be for the Good-Sinful Alliance’s 2014 winter conference.

Well, I changed the schedule a little bit. The conference will still debut on March first unless anything drastic happens, but in the meantime I’d like to squeeze in another photography post. For today, I wandered around my neighborhood, freezing my butt off to finish the letter N.

Enjoy!

DSCN3454Subject of photo: A path through the snow

Location of subject: My yard

Techniques practiced: Black and white, nature

I like the color contrast between the snow and the path. Also, the picture feels very peaceful and a bit lonely.

DSCN3463Subject of photo: Pine tree and blue sky

Location of subject: My neighbor’s yard

Techniques practiced: Nature

I used to take Forestry as a 4-H project but I didn’t study it for long, so I can’t tell you what kind of pine tree that is. All I can say is it’s prettier than ours – the needles are longer and skinnier and just generally more graceful-looking. Perfect. Also, this afternoon the sky was precisely the kind I love to photograph. I don’t like the blue to be overwhelming but at the same time, I don’t want too much white or the brightness is overpowering. And the clouds give the sky a lovely texture.

DSCN3470Subject of photo: Tree branches

Location of subject: A school near my house

Techniques practiced: Black and white, nature

I noticed that the buds on the tree were pretty so I took several pictures like this.

DSCN3458Subject of photo: Holly

Location of subject: My yard

Techniques practiced: Close-up, nature

Sometimes, miraculously, my camera cooperates and focuses where I’d like it to focus, leaving me with lovely pictures of spiky leaves in a circle.

DSCN3465Subject of photo: Power line tower

Location of subject: My neighbor’s yard

Techniques practiced: Unusual perspective

As I wrote above, I loved the sky this afternoon. I love the power lines crisscrossing throughout the photo, and I love all the angles and geometry of the tower. It’s a neat mix between nature and manmade stuff.

Which photo is your favorite and why?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A B See Photo Challenge: N Is For Neighborhood

  1. Erin says:

    There are buds on the trees where you live? HOW? It’s been below zero for the past week here in Wisconsin and there are no signs that spring is coming any time soon. *sobs*

  2. Cait says:

    I really like that first one! SNOW. I have never seen SNOW!!! I wish to see snow one day.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you! 😀

      I would happily pack up all the snow we have here and send it your way – alas, I think it would probably melt before you got it.

    • Miriam Joy says:

      It really weirds me out that you’ve never seen snow. One time Mark asked me to describe snow to the kids he works with in Africa who’ve never felt cold weather and I just couldn’t even begin. We don’t get nearly as much where I live as Engie seems to get, but even so … to have never seen it in 20 years of living is SO WEIRD. Australia is weird, man.

  3. Bane says:

    I have a storm coming. 😦 This is the first time my corner of the world’s seen grass in like two months.

    But I really like the snow and path one, and the tree branches with the buds.

  4. Miriam Joy says:

    I like the tree branches with the buds, though for a completely bizarre reason: they remind me of the UK covers of Maggie Stiefvater’s Wolves of Mercy Falls books, and also the UK redesigns of Lament and Ballad, which I’ve always thought are really artistic and interesting. So yeah, dumbest reason. But whatever.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you!
      *immediately googles for those covers* Ooh, they kind of do look alike. I like those UK covers – creepier than the US versions.

      • Miriam Joy says:

        I have the US editions of Lament and Ballad because I think they hadn’t designed the UK ones when I bought them — which was back in 2009 — so when Requiem eventually comes out I might have to get a US friend to buy it for me and send it over so that they match! 🙂

  5. Pingback: A B See Photo Challenge: O Is For Outdoors | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

