Good-Sinful Alliance: 2014 Conference – Let It Snow

gsawebbadge“Good evening, ladies, gentlemen, and assorted minions! Good evening, evildoers! I’m Caesar Flickerman. I took a short break from emceeing for the Good-Sinful Alliance to host the Third Quarter Quell, but never fear – I am back! And it looks like I’ll be back here for a long time, if Katniss Everdeen’s recent escape from the arena and the resulting rebellion are anything to go by.

Oops, it looks like President Snow is mad at me now. Sorry, sir.

Anyway, I was about to say that today it is my pleasure and honor to announce our next speaker! Coriolanus Snow is the President of my own country, Panem, and you’re probably familiar with him from his past speech about creating villainous holidays.

Today, Snow would like to discuss this season. Over to you, Mr. President.”

“Thank you, Caesar. As he was saying, today I would like to speak to members of the Good-Sinful Alliance about this season. Winter.

Winter is, unfortunately, regarded by many villains as a useless time, a time when little can be done to cause havoc and destroy all that is good.

‘It’s too cold!’ they cry.

‘How am I supposed to get any work done in this much snow?’ is the complaint of some.

‘Half my minions have frozen solid and the other half are sick in bed with the flu!’ say others.

But fear not, brave villains – winter need not be a waste of time, a season for muttering disparagingly about good whilst not doing anything to eradicate it! First, you must find a solution to that horrid weather, something that allows you to go about your daily evil plans without leaping back under that blanket. I recommend warm cloaks, woolen scarves, and fuzzy mittens. I hear that Loki does a brisk business selling these at the conference. My my, that boy certainly gets around, doesn’t he? First that dance party the other day and then mittens.

Anyway. As I was saying: first you must equip yourself properly. I know that mittens and scarves don’t seem, well, evil, but trust me – it’s much better than shivering so hard you can barely point your wand to aim a Killing Curse at your worst enemy.

Once you and your minions are suitably dressed for the weather, it’s time to begin doing evil! Winter is a perfect time to cause chaos and exterminate your enemies.

The good guys, you see, generally use this time to celebrate. With one foolish holiday after the next – Christmas, Hanukkah, Kwanzaa, New Year’s Eve, Saturnalia – the good guys are generally preoccupied by silly thoughts of feasts, presents, seeing friends and family, et cetera. Use this perfect distraction to your advantage! Attack when your enemies are least prepared!

Many strategies are possible. Make a giant snowball and roll it downhill towards the good guys’ encampment, where it will obliterate everything in its path. Stab your enemy with an icicle – it is the perfect instrument of murder because it will melt and never be found. Or, if you can use magic, create a monstrous storm that will leave your enemies snowed in for weeks, gradually starving them to death.

The possibilities are endless, my dear co-villains. Let it snow!

So don’t fret. Many things can be accomplished in winter! Use this season for plots of indescribable evil. I would love to see all villains work hard this winter and those thereafter, so that each and every one of us can truthfully say: the cold never bothered me anyway.”

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Good-Sinful Alliance: 2014 Conference – Let It Snow

  1. MOHE says:

    *applauds your use of Frozen reference*
    I’d try to make some sort of joke about “winter is coming” but winter is kinda already here and also I don’t completely understand what “winter is coming” is about. (I know it’s GoT, but other than that… no clue whatsoever.)

  2. orphu44 says:

    I imagine the White Witch would like to have words with any villains who decried winter as being useless.
    And you don’t understand how much Moody roaring “CONSTANT VIGILANCE!” startled me the first time he did it. I physically jumped. (Which makes it sound as though I was in his class at the time, but still.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Indeed. And she would torture the good guys by making it always winter and never Christmas.

      My chem teacher this semester is basically Moody. xD He gets over-excited about, like, molecules and starts shouting his lectures at us.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

