A B See Photo Challenge: O Is For Outdoors

cameraBack to the regular programming! I’ve made steady progress on my photography so I thought I’d give you this post today even though I normally post every other day.

I collected some of these photos on the day I finished the letter N (you might notice that the sky looks the same in some of the pictures), and some of them today. It was very slushy and muddy outside and I slipped around a lot while trying to take pictures, but I don’t mind because it’s almost spring!

DSCN3476Subject of photo: An apple tree

Location of subject: My neighborhood

Techniques practiced: Nature

The apples here are rotting, actually. Gross? Yeah, but that makes them this cool dark-orange/brown color that contrasts nicely with the sky.

DSCN3468Subject of photo: Signs

Location of subject: A nearby school

Techniques practiced: Black and white

I like the combination of natural and man-made objects in this photograph.

DSCN3472Subject of photo: A wire fence

Location of subject: A nearby school

Techniques practiced: Black and white, unusual perspective

I was trying to capture the effect of the bent wires, and I think I succeeded.

DSCN3474Subject of photo: A sign

Location of subject: A nearby school

Techniques practiced: Black and white

I like the clouds in the background, and how you can see the sign clearly enough to notice the little cracks running across it.

DSCN3480Subject of photo: A tree and birdhouse

Location of subject: My backyard

Techniques practiced: Black and white, nature

I love how the little branches criss-cross all over the background, and I really like the lighting of this photo. The sun was directly behind the tree, which is why that area appears to be glowing.

Which photo is your favorite and why?

-~-

On an unrelated note, I’m currently reading The Son of Neptune by Rick Riordan (along with some other books). I really like it so far – if you follow me on Goodreads, you likely already know that from all my enthusiastic updates. So feel free to fangirl in the comments of this post about Percy and Nico’s reappearances, how awesome Reyna is, et cetera.

-~-

And now for something completely different! My last item of business is the Good-Sinful Alliance’s 2014 conference. I had a blast writing for that, especially the posts about Moriarty and the Master.

But I didn’t get very many comments, and I’m wondering why. People pestered me for months as to when it would be held, and then I wrote the posts and hardly anyone responded. I was expecting the number of comments to increase, but instead I got only a quarter to a third of what I usually get.

So I want to know. Did you like the recent Good-Sinful Alliance posts? Have I overused some villains (like Snape and Caesar Flickerman)? Were my posts not funny? Did you want me to write about other evil topics? Were you simply too busy to comment? (That’s totally OK.) Or was the comment function not working? I need answers, minions.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A B See Photo Challenge: O Is For Outdoors

  1. orphu44 says:

    My favourite’s either the birdhouse one or the children-at-play one.
    And as for the Good-Sinful Alliance, I enjoyed what I saw of them, but I haven’t had the time since the conference began to sit down and read them as attentively as they deserve, hence my silence on them. I’m hoping to soon, though – the lack of comments (at least for me) was nothing to do with the content of the posts.
    Also, has your picture been Vastra for a while and I just didn’t notice, or is that new?

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thanks! I think the birdhouse picture seems almost creepy.

      *nods* That makes sense. I don’t mind if someone’s busy (especially if they’re my co-villain/co-GSA-leader and they’re busy doing evil things xD), but I just wondered where all the bloggy friends were!

      Nope, it’s new. I was getting tired of the White Tree of Gondor. 🙂 Also she’s a swordfighting lesbian lizard so, like, how cool is that? (The answer is very.)

  2. matttblack42 says:

    I like the picture of the cracked bike sign. It gave me the feels for some reason.

    Oh, and I did enjoy your Good-Sinful Alliance posts, particularly that one with the dragons. Though your last few posts I’ve been reading in school, strategically placing my phone behind my binder so the teacher won’t see. I didn’t comment because my school has a strict “We see your phone, we snatch it up,” policy, although today I made a mental note to comment here when I got home.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

