Review: The Son Of Neptune

thesonofneptune

Seven half-bloods shall answer the call,
To storm or fire the world must fall.
An oath to keep with a final breath,
And foes bear arms to the Doors of Death.

Percy is confused.
When he awoke from his long sleep, he didn’t know much more than his name. His brain fuzz is lingering, even after the wolf Lupa told him he is a demigod and trained him to fight with the pen/sword in his pocket. Somehow Percy manages to make it to a camp for half-bloods, despite the fact that he has to keep killing monsters along the way. But the camp doesn’t ring any bells with him. The only thing he can recall from his past is another name: Annabeth.

Hazel is supposed to be dead.
When she lived before, she didn’t do a very good job of it. Sure, she was an obedient daughter, even when her mother was possessed by greed. But that was the problem – when the Voice took over her mother and commanded Hazel to use her “gift” for an evil purpose, Hazel couldn’t say no. Now because of her mistake, the future of the world is at risk. Hazel wished she could ride away from it all on the stallion that appears in her dreams.

Frank is a klutz.
His grandmother says he is descended from heroes and can be anything he wants to be, but he doesn’t see it. He doesn’t even know who his father is. He keeps hoping Apollo will claim him, because the only thing he is good at is archery – although not good enough to win camp war games. His bulky physique makes him feel like an ox, especially in front of Hazel, his closest friend at camp. He trusts her completely – enough to share the secret he holds close to his heart.

I know, I know – four book reviews in around a week. I’m sorry. I try to keep my blog’s content varied, but I also really wanted to catch up on my book reviews. So after this, you’ll get a reprieve.

For a few days.

Anyway, I’ve been catching on up on Rick Riordan’s Heroes of Olympus series and recently finished the second book, The Son of Neptune. Noticing the copyright date – two thousand and eleven – made me feel weird because I remember when the book was brand-new and people were super-excited for it. Surely I can’t have been out of the fandom that long?

OK, I know three years isn’t that long, and I’m talking about it like that was the Dark Ages. But A) to me it is long because three years makes up over one-sixth of my lifetime and B) I thought I was still interested in Riordan’s books in two thousand and eleven. Evidently not.

I mean, the last Percy Jackson book came out in two thousand and nine. What. How was I only twelve when the final book came out? Why do I keep growing up? I want to stay a little kid forever so people don’t give me weird looks for wandering into the picture book section of the library.

All right, enough of that. Back on track.

Um. Let’s see. Where to start? The characters!

As the blurb indicates, Percy narrates part of The Son of Neptune. I. Love. This. He’s one of my favorite fictional guys and I can’t imagine a Riordan mythology story without him, which is probably one of the reasons I disliked The Lost Hero and the Kane Chronicles. Forget Harry Potter, forget Peeta, forget even Bilbo and Gregor – if I could meet any male character, it would be Percy. Even during The Son of Neptune‘s duller moments, I was happy as long as Percy narrated.

I don’t quite know how I feel about Hazel and Frank. Actually, I do know how I feel about them, but I’m not sure how to use that to determine which one I like more. I don’t dislike either one but I do go back and forth… usually liking whichever one isn’t narrating at the moment.

I love Frank’s bravery and loyalty. And I can relate to his dorkiness. Obviously, I’m not a tall, super-muscled Asian guy, but I understand feeling pathetic. I understand feeling clumsy. Of all the characters in Heroes of Olympus who weren’t introduced in Percy Jackson, I think I relate to Frank Zhang the most.

Meanwhile, I’m not such a fan of Hazel’s personality. As I wrote above, I don’t dislike her. She’s not annoying – she’s just bland. Nice enough, but without any really impressive qualities. I do like her history, though. She grew up in the thirties, died, and was brought back by Nico (apparently children of the god of death can do that now?). I enjoyed the parts of the story set during her first lifetime, and the times when she doesn’t understand modern culture.

And that sums up my thoughts on The Son of Neptune, except not quite. Here are a few more quick ones:

I neither liked nor disliked the pairing of Percy / Annabeth before but this book changed my mind just because he thought about her so much. She wasn’t even in the book and I still adore them!

I have a crush on Reyna and I don’t even know why because she appears on maybe thirty pages. And I’m being generous with that estimate. But she’s awesome and certainly has her act together. Also she has metal dogs which I would love because, you know, shiny.

I loved how the book featured multiple sons of Neptune. I’d thought the title referred to Percy, and it mostly does, but there are other guys with that name as well.

And I liked that the prophecy is finally coming into play! This series is really just one long, very slow-paced book but finally the pace is picking up and Big Things are happening.

I think The Son of Neptune was a huge improvement from the first book in the series, The Lost Hero (which I only gave a 2/5). I liked the characters more, the plot was better-paced, and overall the adventures were more exciting. I look forward to reading The Mark of Athena!

If you’ve read The Son of Neptune, what did you think of it?

Rating: 3/5

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Review: The Son Of Neptune

  1. Bane says:

    Ooh, it’s been a long time since I read this book, but I think it was my favorite of that series I’ve read so far. I’m kinda out of the loop, too.

  2. Bane says:

    Yes, but it was a while ago and I don’t remember much of it.

  3. Clarice says:

    I remember, at the last few pages, I kept screaming, “Come on, Percy! Almost there! ALMOST THERE!” Annabeth was literally pages away.

    And then Rick Riordan ended it. Gaaah. I agree with you about the pairing – it was okay until this book. Then, somehow, it turned awesome and sweet.

    I’m not sure how I felt with Percy as the protagonist again – I expected Rick to turn him to a mentor or something. I’m happy to see him again, and it was interesting to read him narrating in third person and as an older and wiser character, but I felt like he was being dragged back because people love him. And while one part of me wants to celebrate, another one is saying to the author, “Dude, give him a break. You’ve already given him five books!”

    I liked Frank; he was fun to read, if just a little bit bland. And he depended a tad too much on Hazel, in my opinion. I liked the scenes when he went off on his own and became awesome. And the scene with the grandmother just broke my heart.

    But then there’s Hazel. I don’t actually have a problem with her – she’s not unlikeable. My biggest issue was that she was /replaceable/. We don’t need this person! Well, okay, that’s not true. We needed her for the Leo-and-Sam connection. But honestly, I just couldn’t see how that subplot contributed to the main one. Is Sammy going to pop up in the last book? Was she only there to cause friction between Leo and Frank? If she does, that’d be a waste. Nico would’ve filled this slot much more nicely; he was pretty much counted as a member of the Romans (sort of), and he was already traveling the world. It would’ve been so cool to read about him.

    It didn’t even have to mess up the plot! It’s possible Sam could have been a friend to Nico way back when. A Leo/Nico/Frank love triangle would’ve been fascinating.

    Whoa. That exploded into a rant. 😀

    • nevillegirl says:

      *ships Percabeth strongly all of sudden*

      *agrees with everything else you wrote too* 🙂

      I second the Leo/Nico/Frank love triangle. And Nico should’ve been one of the seven.

  4. DK says:

    Son of Neptune actually made me dislike Annabeth/Percy, which was a pairing I actually loved in the original series. And Frank and Hazel just don’t have an impact on me. They’re just sort of…there. But I agree with you. It was a huge improvement from The Lost Hero.

  5. I agree with you on so many things.
    I’m usually not a fan of the first few books of a series (exceptions include Harry Potter), and this was no different. TLH and SoN, along with the first two books of the original series, were all pretty bad. I honestly didn’t like most of the characters (I did like Reyna, Leo, Clarisse, and Hazel, though), and the plots were icky. The later books were so much better.
    So yes. Ugh.
    But in my opinion TLH and SoM (Sea of Monsters) were the two worst ones.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yep, I loathed The Sea of Monsters. I actually /liked/ the first PJO book, but other than that one and #3 I thought they were all pretty average. I don’t even remember what happened in the final two books… >.>

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

