This Or That?

I was tagged for this meme by The Magic Violinist. Thanks, Kate!

Enjoy!

-~-

 Rules

  • Answer the questions given to you
  • Give the people you nominate the same questions
  • Nominate three people
  • Let them know they’ve been tagged

-~-

Summer or winter?

Definitely summer. I like winter in theory, but then it’s too cold. Or the snow takes forever to melt. Or I can hardly walk without slipping on ice. And I can’t just go outside – I have to put on lots of layers first. (Even indoors I’m usually cold!) This winter was also my first with a driver’s license, which means I learned just how much potholes suck. So basically, no to winter.

I like being busy, too, and summer seems to be the busiest time of my year. And I have many good memories from the summer. Winter, meanwhile, stretches on and on. Have I mentioned yet that it snowed today?

Blue or pink?

I don’t mind pink. I’m not fond of hot pink – too bright – and that’s unfortunate because most girly stuff is that color. Pale pink is lovely, though.

But blue is my favorite color! The walls of my room are painted sky blue. My iPod is blue. Some of my bookshelves are blue. I own so many blue clothes that when we go shopping my mom suggests I pick out something else so I’m not monochromatic.

Plus, blue is versatile. It can be pretty, bright, dark, happy, somber, whatever. Many other colors can’t. Brown isn’t happy. Orange isn’t dignified. But blue? It can be whatever it wants. All right, color fangirling over.

Frozen or Brave?

I feel ashamed: I love kid’s movies – and fairy tales! – but I haven’t seen either. Haven’t seen Tangled, either. (It looks fantastic, though.) Or Mulan. (Same here.) And I’m sure there are more.

And on a semi-related note, can someone explain to me the difference between Disney and Pixar? Are they the same thing? Is one owned by the other? Or do they just work together?

And on another related note, I think I’ll rewatch Beauty and the Beast tonight because apparently that is what one does when one turns eighteen in less than six months.

Art or reading?

No competition here – reading wins! I do like art, especially photography, but there are many art forms that you can’t do anywhere because they’re too messy or it’s too difficult to haul supplies to where you need them.

But reading? I can do that anywhere. And I do.

Christmas or birthday?

Birthdays, I think. Birthdays are fun whether or not they’re mine, because that means cake multiple times throughout the year! I think Christmas is overrated.

Flip-flops or boots?

Boots, because flip-flops are uncomfortable. And I don’t think I even have a pair anymore. I like sandals, but not flip-flops.

Roses or daisies?

Well, to my knowledge there has never been a Doctor Who companion named Daisy. There is the wonderful, spunky, pretty Rose Tyler, though.

But seriously. I like roses better. They’re more elegant. And I have no idea what daisies smell like.

Cat or dog?

All the dogs I’ve ever known, with the exception of my friend’s dog named Lady, have been annoying to some degree. Boisterous, yapping, overly fuzzy little beasts.

So yes, I’m a cat person. Kittens are adorable. And fuzzy. And my cat is sitting next to me as I write this.

Vanilla or chocolate? 

Chocolate, unless we’re talking about cake, and then I’d rather have vanilla. But chocolate bars are yummy. The unfortunate part about not trick-or-treating any longer is that I can’t collect a stash of chocolate, ha ha.

Europe or Asia?

Never been to either, but I’d have to say Europe. If I could travel anywhere in the world I’d go there first because I would love to wander around an old city like Paris or Rome, gazing at the architecture.

Raspberries or blackberries?

I think blackberries are too bitter, so I choose raspberries.

Vintage or modern?

It depends what objects we’re talking about. Clothes? I don’t really care. Music? There is good and bad found in both new and old music. Cars? I have no preference so long as the vehicle takes me from point A to point B. (I mean, the only type of car I can identify are Volkswagen Beetles.)

The only time when vintage makes a difference, and even then only sort of, is with books. Vintage books – first editions – are lovely and I would like to own some one day. There’s a bookstore nearby with first editions of the Lord of the Rings trilogy and I want them so badly. (I have the movie tie-in editions, similar to these but with different cover photos.) However, they also cost around two thousand and five hundred dollars (together, not each, thank god) and even if I had that amount of money, I’d need it to pay college tuition anyway.

(And besides, we have more than enough copies of the trilogy. I have my own set, plus The Hobbit, and then my mom has the really nice-looking fiftieth-anniversary editions. My brother, meanwhile, has the most hilariously illustrated set I’ve yet seen, including the copy of The Two Towers where Legolas and Gimli are totally in love. So yeah. We don’t really need more Tolkien books. But it would be nice have special copies.)

Pasta or soup?

Pasta! There are so many kinds of noodles and you can eat them with all sorts of sauces. I don’t like many soups except for clam chowder, broccoli-cheese, and this really yummy tomato soup served at the restaurant where I work.

Elephant or lion?

Well, then. That’s an… interesting comparison to make. I didn’t realize those were supposed to be opposites.

Anyway. I suppose I’ll choose lions, although both are rather majestic. Elephants don’t have manes, after all. But if they did that would probably be like the eighth wonder of the world, or something.

Long hair or short hair?

On myself, long hair. But one time I almost had it cut super-short on the sides and long on top like the Tenth Doctor’s. But it’s not really my style, so I didn’t have it done.

On other girls, ninety-nine percent of the time I am attracted to those with long hair. There are some exceptions – Emma Watson? Felicia Day? et cetera? – but yeah, long hair is gorgeous.

Beach or water park?

I’ve never been to a water park. Does that make me weird?

Regardless, I don’t think I’d like it. Even though sand blows in your face and gets in your hair / food / clothes / everything, at the beach I can at least read a book. A novel would be ruined if I brought it along on a ride at a water park!

-~-

Nominations

-~-

Last but not least, I’d like to add that The Magic Violinist is also doing a blog giveaway of her co-written book Fauxpocalypse, so check that out please.

So, readers, how was your Tuesday?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to This Or That?

  1. themagicviolinist says:

    You would really like “Frozen.” And “Mulan.” And “Brave.” 🙂 They’re all excellent (especially “Frozen.” Not at all your typical Disney princess movie.) And Pixar and Disney are separate for the most part, but they cross over a lot and work together. John Lasseter, for example, (who is the genius behind Pixar) has been helping Disney a lot with their movies lately, which is probably why they’ve been so good. Did you see “Wreck-It Ralph”? He was involved in that.

    You may not be able to go trick-or-treating for your chocolate stash, but candy is super cheap after Halloween. 😉 Plus, Halloween is right before NaNoWriMo, which I think is just perfect timing.

    Thanks for the shout-out! 🙂

    • nevillegirl says:

      Oh, OK, that makes sense. Thanks for explaining!
      And no, I haven’t seen Wreck-It Ralph.

      True, true. Maybe I should bribe myself to write using chocolate instead of books. xD

      Of course! You’re welcome! 🙂

  2. Miriam Joy says:

    My Tuesday was dreadful. I can’t decide if it was better or worse than my Wednesday, but it was probably better than my Monday, which was appalling. (I’ve been having rather a bad week.)

    I have a similar issue to you with the Frozen/Brave question — but I have actually seen Brave. And I’d probably choose that anyway, mostly because the soundtrack is FANTASTIC. It’s wonderful folk-inspired orchestral music and, y’know, as a folk musician that’s kind of my thing. Plus I love Scottish accents. And the Celtic aesthetic. And everything. It’s a very odd film, but the music makes up for that!

  3. nevillegirl says:

    Aw, I’m sorry to hear that. Maybe today was better?

    Ooh, Scottish accents!

  4. Pingback: This or That | A Mirror Made of Words

  5. Boquinha says:

    I love these! Fun to read your thoughts. As usual, we have some things in common and some not. Sandals. Summer. After this hellish winter, it can’t come fast enough!

  6. This is a backwards way of getting me to write again, isn’t it? Sneaky 😉 And, apparently, we have a lot of things in common. I like summer, boots, blue, reading…

    No but I bet you’d look awesome with a Tennant-esque hairstyle, it would be so fluffy

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

