Ten Questions About The “Chronicles Of Narnia”

tbcSo, I wanted to join the monthly link-up held at The Book Chewers because the March prompt was Narnia-themed, but… I didn’t pay attention to the deadline for linking up. Yes, I fail at everything. Anyway, that’s why my link-up isn’t, well, linked-up. Not technically. Oops.

Enjoy!

-~-

Who introduced you to Narnia?

My mom! I was about seven years old when she started reading the books aloud to my brother and I, beginning with The Magician’s Nephew. I had no idea what was going on because Uncle Andrew was a bit weird and Jadis came out of nowhere, but it was still a good story so I just happily accepted it.

How many times did you check the back of your OWN wardrobe for signs of magical life?

Are you kidding? I’ve never really stopped. Not with any of my favorite books, ever.

But is that a bad, or foolish, or childish? I don’t think so, not really. After all, what good is a story if it doesn’t have some effect on you? If you don’t think about it later? If you don’t feel like the characters have been your friends forever?

What does that say about your lack of imagination?

Who’s your favorite animal Narnian character?

REEPICHEEP! He’s so gallant and tiny and quick-witted. I adore him.

Who’s your favorite human Narnian character?

Does this mean a character from the books? Or a character from Narnia? And are they Narnian only if they were born there or if they visited?

Because I don’t know, I’ll choose Shasta (or Cor – they’re the same person, after all) and hope that’s all right. I love The Horse and His Boy because Shasta is the only narrator who was born in Narnia (because Prince Caspian was descended from Telmarines, if I remember correctly) so he has a very different perspective from, say, the Pevensies. And I love his rags-to-riches tale.

If you could fall into one of the seven books, which would you choose?

Well, that’s easy. It would be The Voyage of the Dawn Treader! I love that book, with its beautiful writing and journeys to fantastical, dreamlike lands.

Which would you rather be: dwarf, talking beast, or marshwiggle?

I may as well be a dwarf, since I’m sure I already fulfill the height requirement.

Who do you think had the harder quest? The journey on the Dawn Treader with Prince Caspian? Or Eustace and Jill’s trek to find the lost Prince Rilan?

Um… what? Rilan who?

Confession time: I remember hardly anything that happened in the final two books, so I’m drawing a blank on this Rilan person. Oops. I really should reread The Silver Chair and The Last Battle!

So yeah, I guess Prince Caspian had the harder quest. I like that book more anyway, as mentioned above, and besides, didn’t he face a lot of traps? There was the dragon, and the sea serpent, and the pool with the golden soldier, and the island of the sleepers. More than once his journey nearly failed.

Which of the four Pevensie children – Peter, Susan, Edmund and Lucy – do you most relate to?

I never really noticed Peter and Susan, and while I do enjoy Edmund’s sarcasm, I think I’m most like Lucy. I can be somewhat ridiculous, easily excitable, and always have my head off in the clouds.

Also, I seem to remember that Queen Lucy was described as, like, valiant and gay, and I would not object to those titles in the slightest.

If being from a family of four, going to boarding school, and living in England are necessary for having a Narnian adventure, how well do you score?

Ha! Well, I am from a family of four, but I suppose that means four children and not a mom, dad, and two kids.

And I do live at my school, but I don’t think homeschooling counts as boarding school.

And I’ve never even traveled to England.

No Narnian adventures for Engie, I see. Woe is me.

Would you sell your soul for Turkish Delight?

Nope! I tried it once at this homeschool history class I used to attend in middle school – we were studying the Ottoman Empire (therefore, the Turks) and someone brought Turkish Delight just to be sarcastic. And it did not taste like caramel, as I always imagined it would.

It tasted like a rotten flower.

-~-

Feel free to answer these questions in the comments or on your own blog! And tell me, who among you has also been disappointed by Turkish Delight?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ten Questions About The “Chronicles Of Narnia”

  1. Bane says:

    Oh my giddy aunt I used to love these books. ❤ I should read them again sometime soon.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Indeed. Perhaps I should reread them this summer. 🙂 Or see the movies again… even though they aren’t as good as the books and they weren’t even made in any logical way. (Seriously, why isn’t there a movie of the third book when it comes before Prince Caspian and Dawn Treader?!)

  2. Lydia says:

    It tasted like a rotten flower . . . hahahaha! I more or less agree.

  3. I’ve never actually finished one of the books, I really should read them though. Yes, a rotten flower. They’re disgusting. Oof.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

