A Book, An Assignment, And A Wedding

I don’t often post about homeschooling. I infrequently talk only briefly about books I’ve read. I scarcely ever write about Game of Thrones. And I almost never write blog posts concerning three completely different subjects.

But I’m going to do all of the above today, because there are multiple things I’d like to discuss and none of them are lengthy enough to justify writing individual posts. So without further ado, here they are.

-~-

I.

I read Joseph Conrad’s classic work, Heart of Darkness, a few days ago and it. Was. Amazing. I could’ve done without the occasional half-page-long sentences and the “omg Africans are savages!” attitude, but I enjoyed the philosophical aspect of the book. The parts about foolishness and futility and false expectations? Yeah, they were brilliant.

Not bad for a book that I read purely because it was short – I’m trying to read one hundred books this year (this was my thirty-ninth) so length doesn’t matter. The copy I borrowed from the library was only one hundred and ten pages. Of course, the shortness also means that I don’t have as much to say about it, hence why I’m not writing a full review as usual.

Anyway, I highly recommend Heart of Darkness, especially if you like, well, dark books. It’s dark, but not very violent, and I haven’t encountered that kind of book before.

II.

As I wrote above, it’s not often that I post about homeschooling, and it’s even more rare for me to fangirl about it. But I have a fantastic assignment this week, so I will. My brother and I studied short stories earlier this semester, but we’ve since moved on to poetry and I am having so much fun with it.

This week, our topic is “music as poetry,” which involves analyzing the meaning of songs and identifying their poetic devices. I’m only required to do this for one song of my mom’s choosing and one of my own, but I’ve already decided to do more because it’s fun.

So far I’ve analyzed “Stop This Train” by John Mayer (meh, but my only other choice was some Eagles song and I despise the Eagles) and Coldplay’s “Atlas” from Catching Fire. I think I’ll also do Ed Sheeran’s “I See Fire” from The Desolation of Smaug and either “The Rains of Castamere” from A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin or something from U2. And maybe some other stuff.

Aside from the John Mayer and U2 songs, this combines some of my favorite things: music, poetry, geeking out about literary devices, and – because they’re all fandom-related songs – thinking about stories.

III.

I have been waiting and waiting for the fourth season of Game of Thrones to air because IT’S FINALLY PURPLE WEDDING TIME. Well, the episode – “The Lion and the Rose” was perfect, at least the half that I saw. (I skipped the parts with Bran because he’s as dull as the cereal he’s named after.)

It was a lot more violent than I expected. I don’t know why I thought it wouldn’t be, I mean, this is Game of Thrones. But [spoilery name redacted]’s death was much more graphic than what I imagined from the book, and now I actually kind of miss him because he was such a fascinating villain.

And I don’t know why I bothered to redact the spoilery stuff, because it’s probably pretty obvious who I’m talking about.

Anyway. What else? Oh, yes. House Tyrell appreciation time. Margarey looked gorgeous, but then she always does. And I’m pretty sure I know who poisoned Mr. Spoiler-Redacted, which makes me love their family even more.

And LORAS. He’s such a dork. My favorite scene was this one, starting around 4:15. I mean, really. Dude. Stop checking out / flirting with other guys at your sister’s wedding. I tried to explain the story to a friend the other day by comparing the families to Hogwarts houses and I said that House Tyrell is probably Hufflepuff – well, Loras is the most Hufflepuffian of them all.

And last but not least, you should check out Matt’s review of the episode.

-~-

So. What’s been going on in your life? Do you agree with my thoughts about Heart of Darkness? Do you like poetry? And would you let George R.R. Martin plan your wedding?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Homeschooling, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to A Book, An Assignment, And A Wedding

  1. matttblack42 says:

    I had the exact same assignment as you in ninth grade. I ended up going with The Suburbs, by Arcade Fire.

    The Tyrells are definitely Hufflepuffs. This caused me to try and sort all the other houses. The Starks would all be Gryffindors. Lannisters are Slytherins (though I’d say Tyrion’s more of a Ravenclaw and Jaime has slowly been turning into a Gryffindor), Stannis a Slytherin, Renly a Hufflepuff, Daenerys a…Hufflepuff? and Oberyn Martell would be a Gryffindor. (And thanks for linking to my review.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Never heard it. I did like their THG stuff though, so maybe I’ll try it.

      It’s fun, isn’t it? 🙂 But kind of difficult – I ended up deciding that a lot of the houses are combinations of two.
      Stark – Gryffindor all the way
      Tyrell – mostly Hufflepuff, but I think as the series goes on they become more like Ravenclaw
      Lannister – Slytherclaws, but I agree that Jaime is slowly becoming more of a Gryffinclaw
      Targaryen – Slytherin/Gryffindor
      Frey – Slytherin
      Greyjoy – better be GRYFFINDOR!!!
      Tully – Hufflepuff
      Baratheon – Gryffinpuff
      Martell – ????????????????

      And you’re welcome! No problem.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yeah… IDK. I think they have some Gryffindor attributes, but I also think they have qualities of each of the other Hogwarts houses.

  2. Strix Spell says:

    Ooh, ooh! For 2, I can totally relate because my teacher has us do this every Thursday and we analyze awesome songs like “This is War” or “Bohemian Rhapsody”! It is SO fun! (Am I rambling too much about me instead of commenting about the post?)
    Looks like I have a new book on my reading list and, since I have finished watching the Sherlock seasons on Netflix, I can watch Game of Thrones, yay!

  3. Miriam Joy says:

    I’m reading “The Dream of the Celt” which is biographical, although fiction. The protagonist was a friend of Conrad’s, and he talks briefly about “Heart of Darkness”. The book is also about colonialism, but from a very different perspective. Maybe, as you’ve been reading Conrad, you should check it out? I haven’t got all that far with it so far because I had to do school-related reading (the Aeneid, specifically).

    As for poetic songs, “Stained Glass” by Danny Schmidt is very poetic, especially the last section. It’s lyrically stunning. I like me some poems. (I’m planning to write a song inspired by Dido from the Aeneid that’s less pathetic and weepy than Purcell’s “Dido’s Lament”. I like the scary Dido. The Aeneid is technically a poem, too, so…)

    I don’t plan to get married, so it’s cool. GRRM isn’t needed, but I promise it’s nothing personal… 😉

  4. Erin says:

    Atlas is one of my favorite songs right now. As a musician, I appreciate the unique chord progressions that Coldplay tends to incorporate into their songs. (This comment sounded so nerdy bye.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      No, no, it’s not nerdy at all! Well – maybe it is. But nerdyness isn’t bad. 🙂
      Atlas is the third-most-played song on my iPod at the moment… the other two are “The Majestic Tale (Of a Mad Man In A Box)” – an awesome Doctor Who piece – and “I See Fire.”

  5. Artgirl says:

    See, I have a rather different opinion of Heart of Darkness, but perhaps I should read it before really formulating one. Right now in English we’re reading Things Fall Apart, which is a novel about the Ibo people and colonialization and, well…things falling apart by Chinua Achebe, a Nigerian author. As part of our background on the book we read his fifteen-ish page critique of why Conrad is very racist and also can’t seem to use diverse adjectives. But perhaps I should read the book and then judge for myself.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I’ve been meaning to read that book for a long time! 🙂 My copy of HoD mentioned Chinua Achebe’s critique in its introduction, and I’m interested to see what he thinks of the book. I definitely agree about the racist part, but I don’t really have an opinion on the diverse adjectives bit…

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

