A Writing Tag

I found this tag through The Magic Violinist! Do it on your own blog if you want – I’m not tagging anyone specifically but I will make up my own questions so you can do those, or the ones I did, or both.

MV’s Questions

Fantasy or sci-fi?

To write or to read? I’d rather read fantasy and I’d rather write science fiction. Not what you expected, right? I bet you thought I’d say fantasy for both. But worldbuilding for fantasy is hard.

Male or female protagonists?

Again, to write or to read? I prefer female protagonists in both cases, but my opinion isn’t quite as strong when it comes to reading. I have trouble writing male characters, especially teenage guys.

Epic adventures or simple, small-town life? (This can apply to books and real life.)

Epic adventures, in both situations. I wish I could have fantastical escapades with hobbits and dragons and hippogriffs. But that stuff doesn’t exist in smallish-town Indiana. Sigh.

What book would somebody have to pay you to read?

I don’t know. Any book written by Ayn Rand, maybe? I tried reading a page of one once and I didn’t know why I’d wasted my time.

I do like how she spelled her name, though. I keep a list of interestingly-spelled names to give to future characters.

What book have you reread the most?

I think it’s a three-way tie: I have read Little House in the Big Woods by Laura Ingalls Wilder, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling, and All Men of Genius by Lev AC Rosen at least five times each. Wildly different books, I know, but that’s what I like.

Do you buy used books? Why or why not?

Yes! Yes, yes, yes!

See, I rarely buyΒ new books unless I’ve already read them because I don’t want to waste my money on something I might not like.Β (So I use the library a lot instead.)Β But used books are a lot cheaper so when I do want to buy something I haven’t yet read, I prefer used books.

What genre would be wildly out of your comfort zone to write/read?

For writing, I would feel uncomfortable with historical fiction because I would have to do a lot of research – I couldn’t make stuff up like I do with fantasy and other genres.

For reading, I wouldn’t like horror. I’ve read a little, but they’re mostly children’s horror books so they’re usually not too terrifying. I’m a wimp.

First drafts or edits?

This is a hard question. I do like seeing my stories slowly improve through editing, but sometimes editing is a pain in the butt. Actually, it usually is. I supposed I love first drafts more – I love the feeling of putting all my thoughts about the story onto paper.

What is your biggest source of inspiration?

Daydreaming! Especially after finishing a really good fantasy novel because it makes me feel pumped about writing epic stories of my own! And I usually get all my best ideas late at night as I’m falling asleep, which means I don’t always remember them in the morning!

Do you write stories based on real life experiences? Why or why not?

Sort of. I base characters on people I know, or have something funny that happened to a friend happen to a character, but I don’t often include an event that happened to me. My life hasn’t been very interesting.

My Questions

  1. What kind of music do you like to listen to while writing?
  2. What kind of music do you not like to listen to while writing? Why? Does it distract you or something?
  3. Who or what was the inspiration for the first character you ever wrote?
  4. Do you usually have romance in your stories? Why or why not?
  5. Which author(s) do you think you write like?
  6. Are your stories usually funny or serious?
  7. What is the best thing someone has ever said about your writing?
  8. What is the worst thing someone has ever said about your writing?
  9. Why are all these questions about writing?
  10. Would you rather own a castle or all the chocolate in the world?

Have a lovely weekend, readers!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A Writing Tag

  1. Cait says:

    I get sooo inspired when I watch a movie, or read a 5-star book. I watched The Eagle, which is HF, then I went to write a sci-fi….I mean, it’s just one little thing (or the epic feeling?) that total sparks inspiration! LOVE IT. But anyway… heh. πŸ˜‰ Fantasy world building is definitely insanely hard. >.<

  2. matttblack42 says:

    I will do this! Because I like your questions.

    So you don’t like reading horror, eh? In that case, you should definitely read The Stand, by Stephen King. Not scary at all.

    (Well, except for one scene. And another scene. And its also a million times more terrifying if you happen to come down with a cold during the first third of the novel. But besides that its fine.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Awesome, thank you!

      Pfff. When I do read horror, I prefer shorter books so I finish them quickly. Not The Stand. xD

      (Yeah, isn’t there some disease that killed almost everybody?)

      • matttblack42 says:

        Yep. It killed 99.6% of the population, and it had all the symptoms of the common cold.

        Perhaps you should read “It.” Its about a hundred pages shorter than The Stand, and its a family-friendly story about a group of kids who grow up and learn to stick up for themselves with the help of a friendly neighborhood clown.

        (*fake coughs to cover up laughter.*)

    • nevillegirl says:

      *narrows eyes* I think not. πŸ˜›

  3. Pingback: Tags, tags, tags | A Mirror Made of Words

  4. Chelie says:

    Are you currently writing a book? If so, you should publish it!

    • nevillegirl says:

      I’m actually writing/have written several novels or novellas but none are, in my opinion, ready for publication. But that’s one of my New Year’s resolutions – get started querying my stories!

  5. The Little House in the Big Woods is definitely one of my most reread ones too- actually been awhile since I reread it last; it’s about due for a read.
    I also finding writing teenage boys difficult. They often come out being all rather similar– a jokester type.

  6. Boquinha says:

    I hope you keep a notebook by your bed. I *hate* forgetting what I was thinking! I’d crazily obsess the next morning!!

  7. Huh. Not what I expected from you! I tried writing sci-fi once, but the technical aspect of it made it too confusing for me. πŸ˜› I’m not good with technical stuff. Not on that level, at least. I MUCH prefer worldbuilding.

    Same here. My protagonists are often female, because that’s what I can relate to best (obviously), but my female MCs often have a lot of guy friends rather than girl friends.

    Yay for libraries! πŸ™‚

    I wrote a historical fiction short story once for a contest. Fun experience, but never again! πŸ˜›

    Same here! πŸ™‚ That’s why I usually keep a pad of paper on my nightstand. Most of the time the problem is trying to read my handwriting the next morning, because it’s dark and I’m sleepy when I write my ideas down.

    I’m going to answer your questions, too, because they sound like fun! πŸ™‚

    What kind of music do you like to listen to while writing?

    All kinds. I usually make a playlist for each book I’m writing, so I’ll listen to that, if I have one.

    What kind of music do you not like to listen to while writing? Why? Does it distract you or something?

    Heavy dance music or anything too loud/”epic.” πŸ˜› Loudness distracts me. Its volume overpowers the volume of my thoughts.

    Who or what was the inspiration for the first character you ever wrote?

    My first character ever? I can’t even remember what that was! Actually, the first story I can remember ever writing down was one about a baseball and a frisbee who were trying to decide what to play, seeing as neither of them had hands. I don’t know what the inspiration was there, though.

    Do you usually have romance in your stories? Why or why not?

    It depends on the story. Usually no, because I don’t have any experience with that, but if I do, I’ll look to TV shows or books as a reference. I can count on one hand the amount of times I’ve ever had a major romantic plot/subplot.

    Which author(s) do you think you write like?

    According to this site (http://iwl.me/) (which is awesome by the way–you should definitely check it out), I write like Stephen King. But I think mostly I just write like me. I’m always influenced by authors I love (like J.K. Rowling and Rainbow Rowell), but I definitely have my own style.

    Are your stories usually funny or serious?

    Funny, but with serious moments. I think every book I’ve written has had a death of a character, major or minor, except for a picture book and a chapter book.

    What is the best thing someone has ever said about your writing?

    It’s not what someone said, but what someone did. I applied for a position as a contributor to “The Write Practice” a couple years ago, and I was twelve at the time. I remember being thrilled when Joe offered me a job as a monthly contributor to the website–twelve-year-old me–amongst so many older applicants who had had several more years of experience that I did. I think I may have cried a little.

    What is the worst thing someone has ever said about your writing?

    Luckily, no one has ever said something so harsh or critical to me. It always stings a little to get rejected by agents, though.

    Why are all these questions about writing?

    Maybe because, as writers, writing is our life. πŸ˜‰

    Would you rather own a castle or all the chocolate in the world?

    A castle, if it’s free! Then I could just buy my own chocolate. πŸ˜‰

    • nevillegirl says:

      Haha, I’ve tried that “Who do you write like?” site before, and apparently I write like Stephen King as well? I had to laugh at that one – I have enjoyed the (very few) King stories I’ve read, but just the STORIES. Not the WRITING STYLE. I think his is kind of boring so I don’t know what that says about my own…

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

  8. Pingback: All About Writing Tag | Avon's Babbles

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

