Inspector Lethbridge-Stewart And Brigadier Clouseau

Of all the Classic Doctors I have watched – which, granted, isn’t very many – my favorite is Three. I love his sense of humor, his dapperness, his odd fondness for escaping in either super-fast wheelchairs or bright yellow cars. But enough of Three. He’s not the reason I’m writing this post.

Instead, I’m writing about Brigadier Lethbridge-Stewart, a character who worked for UNIT. He was also an occasional companion of multiple versions of the Doctor, including Three. In the rebooted series you might know him through the episode “Closing Time.”

Anyway, I always giggle when I see the Brigadier because he reminds me of someone else…

Brigadier Lethbridge-Stewart

Brigadier Lethbridge-Stewart

Inspector Clouseau

Inspector Clouseau

And it gets better – it amuses me to no end to imagine the Brigadier being just as clumsy as Clouseau. Maybe he accidentally, like, pulls the door off the TARDIS or destroys the sonic screwdriver. Or maybe he’s trying to help the Doctor by rounding up evil aliens but he mistakenly lets all the aliens go and arrests normal citizens.

I don’t know, I think it’s funny. But maybe I’m just weird that way.

Is it just me or do you think the two characters look alike as well?

P.S. If you’re weird like me, we can play the game of “does this photo show the Brigadier or Clouseau?” so let me know if you’re interested.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Inspector Lethbridge-Stewart And Brigadier Clouseau

  1. It took me moments to realise that they weren’t the same person… *facepalm* I still have suspicions that they are secretly one person…

  2. They do look awfully similar (and Three is awesome! I want to watch more Three! What companions have you seen with him?)

    • nevillegirl says:

      I know, right? πŸ™‚

      (Just Jo, Liz, and the Brig so far. Jo irritated me, but I did like Liz.)

      • I haven’t see Jo yet, but I really liked Liz and the Brig. They and Three made a good combination. I’ve also seen Sarah Jane (who is awesome with both Three and Four; though the episodes with Harry and her she tended to be written not as well, with Harry getting more lines, etc. But he wasn’t there long.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Did you by any chance see them in “Spearhead from Space”? πŸ™‚

      Alas, I haven’t seen classic!Sarah Jane yet. I want to, though. I loved her in the new series.

      The only other Classic companions I’ve seen are Romana (second version only so far), Leela, and Peri.

      • Yes! I loved that one. I think that’s the only one I’ve seen Three and Liz in so far…

        I’ve seen Leela (so great!) Romana I, a bit of Romana II, Ace (I’d highly recommend her) and Susan/Barbara/Ian.

        Also, I read the Miseducation of Cameron Post and ahh it was so good!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yeah, I want to see Ace! πŸ™‚ Too bad that Netflix’s selection of Classic Who has so few episodes with Seven. Any companion who hits Daleks with baseball bats is automatically a favorite of mine.

      I’m glad you enjoyed it! It’s one of my favorites.

  3. Bane says:

    It’s the Briggy!

    I started three yesterday but I’m cleaning up on watching Two so Doctor Who and the Silurians might have to wait a bit… But from what little I’ve seen of Three from Spearhead in Space and Three Doctors looks amazing and I can’t wait to get to him.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Indeed!

      Pffft. I love the difference between classic and new Silurians – I mean, now they have boobs and lizards with boobs are just weird, but hey. At least they don’t look like cutesy fish now. It’s amazing what makeup and costuming can do.

  4. matttblack42 says:

    I never would’ve made the connection if it weren’t for this post. Then again, I’ve only seen Lethbridge-Stewart in one episode (Spearhead From Space) so I’m not all that familiar with the character. I’ve seen all the Pink Panther movies and loved Inspector Clouseau. Perhaps one of them was based off the other?

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

