Predictions For Book Three Of The Raven Cycle

I love Maggie Stiefvater’s Raven Cycle series – the first two, The Raven Boys and The Dream Thieves, currently tie for my favorite book. The third book is due later this year and just as I was beginning to despair if the title and cover would ever be released when lo and behold, she posted them!

Actually, I shouldn’t have been so surprised. Stiefvater released them yesterday, April twenty-fourth. St. Mark’s Eve, the obscure holiday on which the book begins, was also yesterday.

I am impressed.

Anyway, you’ll find the cover below, followed by fangirling and then some predictions for the story.

17378508Each of the previous books focused on one character and I think it’s safe to say that book three will revolve around Blue Sargent. Which means my first prediction is right! I hoped Blue would be the star.

I like the title. It’s not at all what I expected – “The Something-something” – but it’s cool how it reads the same either forwards or backwards.

The art, while still the same style, is much darker than what’s on the first two books and I don’t know how that makes me feel because I love these characters and don’t want anything bad to happen to them. But hey. It’s gorgeous. I’m fond of covers that feature paintings.

Does the cover feature Blue, though? At first I thought it did but then I looked at Stiefvater’s sketch of Blue versus her sketch of a new character and now I’m not sure. Blue’s hair is wild, but not quite that wild. I think. I don’t know. Let’s move on to predictions!

Blue’s father is Glendower.

I am one hundred percent sure that an ancient magical king is the explanation behind Blue’s missing father. Blue’s mother thinks he disappeared because she was born, but he didn’t abandon them like a deadbeat – he literally disappeared. Poof. Gone. Magic, right?

This might also explain why Blue’s mom is underground. Glendower was buried…

There will be clues about Gansey’s death.

I mean, ghost!Gansey is shown in the very first scene of the series. And if Blue kisses her true love he will die. Gansey is definitely going to die.

The only question is how. The Raven Cycle will be four books long so I don’t expect (or want!) him to die just yet, but I wouldn’t be surprised if there were hints in Blue Lily, Lily Blue. For example, The Dream Thieves briefly touched on the idea of traveling back through time – the characters find parts of Gansey’s car but it’s now five hundred years ago.

Maybe that back-in-time stuff will “fix” his death. Or maybe he’ll just die and become a ghost. (Hello, that works just fine for Noah. Blue could kiss however many boys she wishes as long as they’re dead.) Or maybe I’m just throwing ideas into the void and I REALLY HAVE NO IDEA HOW STIEFVATER IS GOING TO GET AROUND THIS DEAD!GANSEY THING.

Maybe she’ll just kill him and be done with it. I don’t expect all the major players to make it through this story alive.

It’s the beginning of the end for Adam as well.

He hasn’t been the same since touching the ley line. I think he seems a bit resigned, too, and does something dangerous because he thinks someone has to help his friends and it might as well be him.

Ronan and Adam will have an awkward crush-thing going on.

Out of three possibilities for Ronan, only one really works. He had an interesting relationship with Kavinsky, but the latter is now dead. (And not a kissable ghost.) I think he has a thing for Gansey as well but Gansey has Blue now and, well, I just can’t see those two Raven Boys ending up together. Gansey thinks differently of Ronan than Ronan does of Gansey.

But Ronan also likes Adam. He helped him with the rent and other stuff (and Adam thought it was Gansey). Oh, and there’s that time when he pretty much cuddled – as much as moody, edgy Ronans ever cuddle – with Adam in the car. And Adam didn’t seem to mind.

I can actually see this working out. Just the fact that Stiefvater has at least one LGBTQ+ main character when so many other authors – so many of my otherwise-favorites – don’t makes me feel hopeful that maybe there will be a major relationship besides Blue/Gansey.

Well, that’s about it for my big predictions for Blue Lily, Lily Blue. Of course, I’d love to see more of Maura with the Grey Man, or Calla with Blue (they’re a riot), but those aren’t really predictions. I cannot wait to read this book and I may even pre-order it because the story is just that good. Plus Maggie Stiefvater autographs those copies and includes little doodles in them!

What are your thoughts about Blue Lily, Lily Blue?

P.S. Its release date is October twenty-eight!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Predictions For Book Three Of The Raven Cycle

  1. Fiona says:

    I really should get around to reading The Dream Thieves 😛 It looks good, but I haven’t even opened it up yet.

  2. Bane says:

    I haven’t gotten to Dream Thieves yet either, but I’ve read Raven Boys twice (once in Wales. I thought that was fitting.) and I’m psyched for this one.

  3. Hmph. My library has a habit of only having Book 2 of a Series/Trilogy/Duology or whatever.

  4. matttblack42 says:

    Before I read, are there any spoilers for the Dream Thieves above? I just finished the first book a couple minutes ago, and I’ll definitely be reading the second.

  5. Memorytoast says:

    Heya, *spoiler alert* anyone had the thought that Glendower was dreamed up by a Greywaren? It would explain the whole “he’s been asleep for 500 years but is still alive” thing. Also, that might be an explanation for his supposed superhuman abilities.

    I’m also curious what she has planned for Gansey. Usually not a big fan of time loops, but I actually think Stiefvater might pull it off…

    • nevillegirl says:

      …hey, that’s brilliant. Maybe you’re right! 🙂

    • Monique says:

      Interesting, especially since we know that Gansey and at least one other person was there a few hundred (maybe 500?) years ago since they “left behind” The Pig’s tire in the man made lake along with Glendower’s Boss.

      • Monique says:

        Oh, wanted to add that Gansey also mentions in the beginning of Book 2 that Glendower was known to have traveled with talented friends, one being a magician. This would seem to strengthen your hypothesis as well.

  6. Monique says:

    Some thoughts, spoilers ahead, though:

    I think we’ll learn more about that Oak Tree (the hollow one that shows the future. In Book 2 Gansey remembers an unsavory story about Glendower. The one where Glendower and a friend quibble and the result is that Glendower kills and stuffs his former friend in the hollow of the oak tree. I think we’ll learn that these events are not just coincidences, since there are none in this world:)

    Gansey and company are somehow involved with the whole original Glendower burying on the ley line thing 500 years ago since they were probably there around that time (remember the Camero’s tire found in the lake dated a few hundred years old?).

    Blue is somehow related to Ronan and his father. When they go visit The Barn in Book 2 they find a bouquet of blue lilies on a table, forever real and alive because they came from a dream. Symbolically, this appears to tie in Blue with this family since upcoming Book 3 is probably about Blue and just happens to be named Blue Lily…Not to mention that Blue’s father possibly came from Cabeswater.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Oh, god, I’d forgotten about the oak tree! But it would make sense if that object becomes part of the story once again. 🙂

      Hmmm, that’s a neat idea. 🙂 I never considered that before… and nice catch, about the lilies.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

