You’ve Been Framed!

Once again, I am linking up with The Broke and The Bookish for a Top Ten Tuesday prompt. I didn’t intend to post two this close together, but they’re about very different topics and I just couldn’t pass up the latest question: “What ten book covers would you frame as works of art?”

So without further ado, here are ten of my current favorites, listed in no particular order.

132067601. Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

So far, all of the books in the Lunar Chronicles have great covers, but this one is definitely my favorite! I love how the artist managed to convey the impression of movement in Scarlet’s cloak and hair. I am SO EXCITED to see what Winter‘s cover will look like!

tumblr_lsvdd1juWu1qg6d1w[1]2. Gregor and the Code of Claw by Suzanne Collins

The five books of the Underland Chronicles also have consistently awesome covers, but I think the final one is the best because it’s so colorful. I expected it to feature earth tones – gray, green, brown, et cetera – like the previous books but instead it’s an eerie purple.

173473893. The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

I. Am. Amazed. This cover uses only three colors – blue, black, and pinkish-red – and actually a lot of it is just white space, but it’s so pretty.

By the way, does anyone know who illustrates this series? I know Stiefvater draws a lot (and she’s really good at it – check out her posts on Facebook!) but I don’t know if someone else illustrates her books.

400px-Gatsby_1925_jacket4. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

They make T-shirts with this design, just so you know. And I want one! That deep, rich blue, those sad eyes, the wild and colorful lights… it’s perfect. I mean, Fitzgerald saw the proposed cover art and loved it so much that he wrote the eye-thing into the story. See? Perfection.

Cover-HalfBlood[1]5. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling

I loved seeing the development of Mary GrandPre’s cover art and chapter art for the Harry Potter series and I think this is one of her best works. I love the swirling mists and, as with The Dream Thieves, the brilliant use of very few colors.

070517_LightningThief_vmed_11a[1]6. The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

Evidently, Riordan uses two illustrators – one for covers and one for character art in companion books like The Demigod Files. I don’t understand this, because the latter books have pictures in which the characters look A) stoned, B) nothing like Riordan described them, or C) both. (Unfortunately, C is most common.) Why?! Why doesn’t he use one illustrator? This cover is a masterpiece!

kiki[1]7. Kiki Strike: Inside the Shadow City by Kirsten Miller

I love the kind-of-a-mirror-image thing here, showing just how big and mysterious New York City’s underground world is.

Where-The-Wild-Things-Are[1]8. Where The Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak

I wouldn’t be me if I didn’t include at least one picture book in this list, so here it is. I guess what I love most about this cover is its surreal-ness. Monsters bigger than a boat and all that.

032878-FC50[1]9. The Two Towers by  J.R.R. Tolkien

My mom owns these fiftieth-anniversary editions of the trilogy and I’m so jealous, because I just have the movie tie-in versions and they’re not pretty at all. I love this cover the most because the artistic style is simple yet beautiful, and the contrasting colors are stunning.

calpurnia tate10. The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly

I love the contrasting colors here. To me it looks as if Calpurnia is in shadow, with the bright yellow sun behind her.

Which cover from this list do you like best? And what is your favorite cover of all time?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to You’ve Been Framed!

  1. Cait says:

    I really love the Wild Things cover! I don’t remember growing up reading it, but I read it to my niece/nephew aaaall the time (and the movie is great too). So much awesome in such a little picture book. x) I wish it was a full length novel as well! I love Scarlet too! I’m not really sure which is my favourite of the 3 Lunar books…ohhhh, gosh, I cannot WAIT to see Winter!!

    • nevillegirl says:

      I’ve never seen the movie! I didn’t understand how they could make an entire movie out of one picture book. 😛

      I HOPE MARISSA MEYER WILL RELEASE THE COVER ART SOON. 😀

  2. Oh, yes! I honestly believed I would be the only one who would use The Great Gatsby, because the cover art is gorgeous but it seems as if almost no one reads it anymore! I used Cress, too, and considered Evolution of Calpurnia Tate, Two Towers, and Inside the Shadow City, but ended up picking none of them because I was cruelly coerced into limiting myself to ten covers. It should’ve been Top Twenty Tuesday. Or they could’ve gone all out and gone with Top Two Hundred Tuesday (all right, it’s a stretch and I doubt even I could’ve picked that many covers, but it’s worth a try, right? Right.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      I confess – one of the main reasons I read The Great Gatsby was that it looked SO PRETTY.

      Yay, I’m so happy that you’ve read Calpurnia Tate and Kiki Strike too! I don’t know many people who have.

  3. Vee says:

    Hi! Just letting you know I nominated you for the Liebster Award! 😀
    http://veewhoa.wordpress.com/2014/05/08/im-back-for-the-liebster-award/

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

