Mummy? Are You My Mummy?

Happy Mother’s Day!

I thought I’d write an acrostic of sorts for my mom. I already have a short description of her on my “about Nevillegirl’s family” page, but I thought it would be fun to write something else. So here it is!

M is for math. My mom loves math and she’s really, really good at it. She has a collection of probably close to twenty math books (and physics books too!) and she can multiply huge numbers in her head. And she insists on celebrating pi day every year. Hey, I don’t really mind – I like eating pie, too.

O is for odd voices. The other day I asked Mom if I could make a video of her speaking in weird voices and SHE WON’T LET ME so I’m sad now. Seriously, they’re the best. My favorite is probably her Kermit the Frog impression, especially when she sings “Bohemian Rhapsody” in that voice. And there are others I can’t even describe. Just let it be known that this talent is simultaneously amusing and irritating because sometimes when I’m frustrated at her she says something in a goofy voice and then I giggle and forget what I was arguing about. I see what you’re doing there, Mom.

T is for terrifically photogenic. It’s true. She always looks good in pictures. I, on the other hand, take after my dad and we usually just look dorky. (Sorry, Dad!) In family vacation photos my mom and Quentin (who looks like her) look great, my dad looks all right, and I look like I’m in pain.

H is for helpful. Mom teaches me math, helps me with chemistry homework and in figuring out difficult songs on the piano, and is motivating when we run together. Yay!

E is for energetic. I usually wake up around seven in the morning. A decent hour, no? Well, by that time my mother has usually been awake for at least two hours during which time she does several loads of laundry, runs a gazillion miles, and while she’s at it, probably saves the world once or twice too. This also means that she’s sleepy by about eight in the evening, which means any mother/daughter-Doctor-Who-watching has to be done early or else she falls asleep in the middle of an episode and wakes up with no idea as to why the Doctor now has a time head or whatever.

R is for running (and reading). My mom began running five or six years ago, I think. She runs in a lot of races and even does weird things like running up and down hills over and over again to train. Her average 5K time is ten minutes faster than mine! But I’m slow anyway. R also stands for reading – my mom reads a lot of mysteries, especially those written by Agatha Christie. She also enjoys Stephen King and Ayn Rand.

P.S. Yes, that title is a Doctor Who reference. Hey, it’s the best I could think of. (Does this make me the Empty Child?) Plus, the episodes from which that quote originates were my mom’s favorites so far! Yay for increased nerdiness, whether in the form of mathematics or science fiction!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mummy? Are You My Mummy?

  1. Cait says:

    Aw this is awesome! I love it! I wanted to do something creative for mother’s day post, but my brain was 100% blank. I’ll do better next year, I promise. x) But, you sound like you have a wonderful mother! Go both of you, though, running so much. I run in the early mornings but only 2.5K and then I feel like sleeping again. *sigh* Must work on that.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

