A B See Photo Challenge: P Is For Portraits

cameraI am SO sorry about not posting these earlier! In my defense, though, portraits involve much more work and time because inanimate objects don’t need to be told how to pose, and their schedules always work in favor of the photographer. People, on the other hand, are prone to awkwardness and always seem to be busy. So it took a while to assemble five pictures.

Enjoy!

dscn3434343434343434Subject of photo: My maternal grandparents

Location of subject: Their house

Techniques practiced: Portrait, black and white

I took this picture (and many others) as a present for my grandparents’ fifty-sixth wedding anniversary. Portraits are difficult because it’s so easy for them to seem staged, so I tried to capture a more natural feeling by taking pictures as they talked and played with their dog. I really like the set of pictures from that day because otherwise I don’t have any photos of them that I’ve taken myself.

P.S. My grandpa has very unique suspenders, doesn’t he?

DSCN3533Subject of photo: My mother

Location of subject: Our backyard

Techniques practiced: Portrait, black and white

I love this picture. I was trying to mix up the poses and stuff for this collection of portraits so I had her sit and look at a book and it turned out very… Mom-ish. She’s always reading something. (Although maybe not as much as I do, ha ha.) I’m so glad I decided to take her portrait outside, too, because the background is lovely and I like the weathered details of the swing.

dog2Subject of photo: My grandparents’ dog

Location of subject: Their house

Techniques practiced: Portrait, black and white

I have a few cuter photos of their pet, but I think this picture better captures its liveliness. I really like the combination of colors in this photo too.

DSCN3626Subject of photo: My paternal grandma

Location of subject: Our backyard

Techniques practiced: Portrait, black and white

I have more outtakes from this “photo shoot” than from any of the others in this post because I wanted a more natural look, so I took pictures as Grandma talked to my parents. What I love about this photo is that it’s difficult to tell what mood she was in. Her mouth is smiling, but her eyes make her expression seem more like that of a frown. Or maybe she was just staring off into space.

Also, I love the background!

DSCN3639Subject of photo: My father

Location of subject: A nearby school

Techniques practiced: Portrait, black and white

My dad wanted his picture taken with his old Volkswagen Beetle and that was a really good decision because the window forms a sort of frame around the main subject.

Which photo is your favorite and why?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A B See Photo Challenge: P Is For Portraits

  1. matttblack42 says:

    My favorite is the picture of the dog, because dogs are the best. And your grandfather is rocking those suspenders.

  2. MOHE says:

    I think my favorite is the top one. It seems the most natural and emotional… I like the softness and how it seems very quiet and unposed. I’m bad at explaining this, aren’t I? xD
    It just sort of speaks to me. I guess. It’s saying, “Mo, comment on me!”

    And you look like quite a bit like your dad.

  3. Bane says:

    Yeah, I like that first one best.

    And yeah, you do look a lot like your dad.

  4. Cait says:

    I really like the first one. It feels like it’s softer, or something, and the pose is fantastic. 🙂

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

