Quidditch Matches, Questions About Vlogging + Pride, Captain America, And More!

Today’s post is an amalgamation of things – fangirling, updates about my life, questions, et cetera. They’re too minor to warrant their own individual posts, so I’m putting them here. Prepare for few or no transitions between subjects, because none of this stuff is really related. It’s all just stuff that’s been on my mind a lot lately.

-~-

 Last Saturday, I watched the local high school’s Quidditch Cup! It was a ton of fun. I hung out with a friend, tried butterbeer, bought a Slytherin shirt, and cheered for my House. (They won, by the way.) If you’re friends with me on Facebook, I posted pictures there a few days ago.

It was funny to see what kind of brooms the players had, too. Evidently they were expected to supply their own because while a few had ordinary brooms or the plastic Harry Potter replicas, a bunch of kids had feather dusters or mops or sticks with streamers attached to one end. One girl just had a tree branch.

I feel like such a nerd. I’d never so much as walked on a football field before (I don’t like most sports so I’ve never been to a football game) so of course the first time I did, it was for a Quidditch game. Ha.

-~-

A few weeks ago my brother Quentin and I saw Captain America: The Winter Soldier! It wasn’t the greatest movie ever – but then, I think sequels rarely live up to the reputation of the first movie. It was enjoyable enough. I liked seeing my favorite superheroes, Captain America and Black Widow. And I stayed long enough to see BOTH end-credits scenes. So there, Quentin. I told you there would be stuff at the end.

-~-

I have a question about vlogging (video blogging). Several questions, actually. The first concerns everyone who reads this blog: Would you be interested in occasional vlogs from Musings From Neville’s Navel? I have neither the time nor the interest to make a lot, but they might be nice supplements to my usual posts. I think I’d probably use them for fangirly posts or as a substitute for writing out all my answers to blog-meme questions.

Or maybe I could begin acquiring footage during my upcoming trip to Washington, D.C. That would be fun. On the other hand, I’ll be super-busy each and every day of that week, so perhaps not. I don’t know.

The second question is for those of you who already vlog. What kind of technology (video cameras, editing thingies, et cetera) do you use to make videos? I’m trying to figure out if my camera’s video function is good quality or bad, and if there are any ways that good editing would negate the other issues.

-~-

And now for something completely different! LGBTQ+ Pride Month begins tomorrow and I think I’d like to write some queer-themed posts. (Well, I already do that anyway, but I was thinking of writing about that topic more than usual.)

I am certain about one post – tomorrow’s is about how to write LGBTQ+ characters. And I have a few other ideas, one of which is to discuss the fantasy fandoms mentioned in my earlier post, Representation And Disappointment, but in way more depth. Not just listing the (very very minor) queer characters, but analyzing them. A lot. Also, there would probably be fangirling over Renly and Loras.

What I would like you readers to do is to comment with suggestions for Pride-related posts – not because I don’t have ideas (I have plenty) but because I want to know what you’d like to see. Sometimes I feel like I’m just talking to myself on this blog. I’d like more reader input.

So, suggest away! Do you want more book-/fandom-related LGBTQ+ posts? Thoughts about stuff that’s been in the news lately? Or posts about something else entirely? Something serious or something funny? Lists? You tell me.

-~-

I’ve decided that once I have read seventy-five books, three-quarters of this year’s reading goal, I can begin my epic Harry Potter rereading session. Less than ten books left and I can start!

Recently, I read:

+ The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson. I had no idea what this book was about until I started reading it, which made things… very interesting. I thought the narrator’s relationship with her boyfriend was a bit lacking in chemistry, but I did like her attitude and style of narration.

+ The Professor and the Madman: A Tale of Murder, Insanity, and the Making of the Oxford English Dictionary by Simon Winchester. If you’re a fellow word nerd, you have to read this book. Its subject matter could have easily turned the book into a lecture, but thankfully this didn’t happen – it’s told like a story, not a collection of facts. Highly recommended to those who like offbeat books, nonfiction or otherwise.

+ Twelfth Night by William Shakespeare. A wonderful play. Reading it was bizarre, though, because one of my favorite books ever (All Men of Genius by Lev AC Rosen) is partially based on this story. Every so often I’d go, “Ooh, Toby Belch! I know that name!” or “Wow, Sebastian and Antonio are totally in love here just like they are in All Men of Genius!” It was great.

-~-

Well, that’s it for my updates. What has happened recently in your life?

P.S. I would really appreciate answers to the question-update-things, hint hint. Plus, I have received hardly I can’t reward you people with anything meaningful, but here are some imaginary cookies for the commenters.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Harry Potter, Homeschooling, LGBTQ+, Neville Gone Wild! and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Quidditch Matches, Questions About Vlogging + Pride, Captain America, And More!

  1. I’m really looking forward to your post on how to write LGBTQ+ characters, but I would also be interested to know what current YA literature exists that contains LGBTQ+ characters. I’d like to know what is popular with teens, even though it isn’t mainstream reading. Things that have made a big impression in the LGBTQ+ community, but would also be good crossover books into mainstream. I think a big reason that you don’t see those books on B&N shelves is publishers don’t think the general public is ready for it, but I think they are mistaken. Let me know your thoughts.

    • nevillegirl says:

      OK, I can do that. 🙂 My thoughts have already started buzzing around – maybe I could see if a few other people could contribute sections of the post, because there’s still so much LGBTQ+ YA that I haven’t read. But one of my fellow bloggers reads a lot of stuff about gay guys, another reads a lot of stuff about trans characters, and I could handle the queer girls part.
      Or maybe I’ll just write the whole thing.
      I have no idea.
      We shall have to see.
      (Thanks for the suggestion!)

      I’ve actually never checked to see if my local B&N has a section for queer books. I would guess that they do, but it’s probably not very big. And likely not shelved in/near YA, which is where it’s most needed.

      • Another thought I had, and this is from a straight woman who only has a few gay and lesbian friends/family, but when I read Holly Black’s Coldest Girl in Coldtown, I had some questions.

        One character (I can’t remember name) is a male who dresses as a female. The text always refers to him as a her, which is fine, but it did make me question. This particular character wants to be a girl but can’t afford surgery, so he/she goes to Coldtown hoping someone will turn her into a vampire so she’ll stop aging.

        1) I was wondering if one refers to a transvestite(?) as the gender they want to appear as and 2) this character also is in love with a male character. Black hints at the male character maybe being interested in her, but I don’t know if he knows the transvestite is actually male. How do LGBTQ+ people deal with “finding” people they are interested in that will also be interested in them?

        I don’t mean to be crass or offensive, so forgive me if my language or terminology isn’t accurate. I really want to understand. I hear “gaydar” references in sitcoms, and I knew a very long time ago my brother-in-law was gay even though he never admitted it to anyone in the family, but I’m pretty sure not every person radiates whether they are gay or not. Any light you or your friends can shed on that would be great.

        And if you read Black’s book, what did you think of that character?

    • nevillegirl says:

      I think you mean Valentina? The one who worked in a shop? I loved that book and it was really nice to see a trans character.

      So, 1). She’s transgender, not transvestite. I /think/ some transvestites might want to be referred to as a different gender than their own, but I’m not totally sure. But they still identify as the gender on their birth certificate – as far as I understand it, cross-dressing is a persona. It’s not all the time.
      Being transgender, on the other hand, means that you don’t feel that you were born the right gender and that would be Valentina. And despite what her birth certificate (the original one, actually, I should make that clear, because they can be changed) may say, she’s a girl and would be referred to as such.

      And actually, the question about gaydar… I kind of want to write a whole post on that now, so it’ll probably be up sometime this month. 🙂 Wow, you’re providing me with plenty of blogging ideas. 😛

      But a quick overview of how we find people – well… it depends. Gay/lesbian people don’t have it very hard. It’s pretty much as simple as talking to someone and maybe asking a few questions to figure out if they’re interested in you. Of course, sometimes the person turns out to be straight, but it’s much easier than for bisexual people.
      A lot of people, even people in the LG part of LGBTQ+, think bi people are promiscuous or more likely to cheat or whatever. Which is silly, because cheating has nothing to do with who you’re capable of liking and everything to do with… morals, I guess? Just because someone /can/ be interested in multiple genders doesn’t mean they’d dump their current partner. Whether someone is faithful or not isn’t relevant to sexuality but a lot of people think it is so not only do bi people have to try to find someone, they’ll want to find someone who isn’t a jerk and thinks they’ll cheat.
      And then trans people usually face a lot of crap about “not really being [insert gender]” so… I guess what I’ve been trying to say is that it’s not /too/ hard to find someone but sometimes when they realize one’s real sexuality/gender it gets weird.
      Hope this helps!

      • Thanks! It does. And now that you talk about the difference between tansvestite and transgender, that makes perfect sense. Kind of like I knew that, but didn’t remember I knew that! Yes, Valentina was a fascinating character. I hope Black does a sequel because I want to know what happens to all those characters!

  2. magicfishy says:

    Vlogging, /yes, please/. Er, if you have time and would like to, of course. It’s not something that I’ve done myself, so I can’t really give advice on it, though.

    I’m good with any kind of LGBTQ+ posts, but fandom ones are always fun. I’d… forgotten when Pride Month was, actually, whoops.

    I’ve never actually seen a Quidditch game, though I knew that they existed. Sounds wonderfully nerdy.

    …I should really start blogging again, wow.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ahaha, I guess I should start vlogging then! People seem VERY ENTHUASIASTIC about possible Musings From Neville’s Navel videos…

      OK! I’ll see if I can think of any fandomy-LGBTQ+ topics besides the fantasy idea that I already have. 🙂

      It was so much fun. 😀 The games were really short, too. No more than ten minutes, I think? But there were a bunch because all the houses competed and there were semifinals and finals and stuff.

      Yes, yes you should. I enjoyed reading your blog.

  3. MOHE says:

    Hmm, I’d certainly love to see vlogs. While I’m not a vlogger, my little experience of taking a documentary class says…
    Your camera is probably fine for Internet-quality. Granted, I’m not sure what your camera’s like, but mine is like this, and when the video is on its highest quality, it takes decent footage. If you blow it up, there’s a little bit of fuzziness, but for the size of a YouTube video it’d be fine. And good editing doesn’t compensate for poor video quality, unless you use some funky filter that blurs stuff or posterizes it. And be very careful about sound. Even background stuff like dishwashers can come out poorly on film.
    As far as editing goes… editing sucks. No matter the quality of your software, it sucks. It’s time consuming and dull and I have such a huge respect for movie editors. If you have Windows, it probably came with Windows Movie Maker, which is okay–you can do a few effects, jumpcuts, transitions, black and white filters, but nothing super high quality, it’s hard to put a different audio over video (unless it’s just additional, like music). There are better programs, like Power Director, but they cost money. Macs come with something called iLife/iMovie, and I don’t know how that works.

    For LGBTQ+ stuff… I’d certainly like to see more, but I can’t think of anything in particular.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you so much, that was very helpful! I think I have Windows Movie Maker, but I’m not sure. I’ll have to check.
      I thought there was an editing function on YouTube itself, but I wasn’t sure how that worked / if it was free so I’d rather use software that came with my computer, unless YouTube’s stuff is exceptionally good.
      So… it’s not a video camera? Like not specifically a video camera? That’s good. Mine isn’t either, and I wondered if that would make a big difference in quality. Because I’m not going to buy something better specifically for vlogging. I’m not that interested in it.

      OK. 🙂 Well, let me know if you do think of anything in particular!

  4. Bonnie says:

    YES VLOGS PLEASE.

  5. Lark says:

    Can I just say that I love Twelfth Night. That’s all. Twelfth Night is perfect. And Sebastian and Antonio are perfect. *fangirls quietly in the corner*

  6. Erin says:

    Weird…I’ve actually been thinking recently about doing vlogs once and awhile (not sure anyone wants to hear my terrible voice though…heh). As for what devices to use to film, I’d just use whatever you have available. People on YouTube vlog with anything and everything. Honestly, I’d love to see some vlogs from you, no matter what the quality is. 🙂

  7. wordnerd227 says:

    Vlog! Vlog! Please vlog! 😉 I’ve always wanted to vlog, but apparently I have a weird accent. And I forget how to be not-awkward when faced with a camera.
    I am really looking forward to a post about how to write LGTBQ+ characters! Oh, and I wish my school had a Quidditch Cup! *fumes quietly*

  8. Cait says:

    I think vlogs would be AWESOME. Do it! Do it!! I use my iPod when filming…which is terrible of me, I know, but I have NO other options. I edit it on iMovie. I laugh a lot. (My sister elbows me a lot because of that.) BUT HEY. Such is life. I really wish I’d seen the Winter Soldier now! It’s like the hot-topic of fangirling EVERYWHERE and I haven’t seen it at all! >_< Why are all the good movies coming out right now? X-Men, TFIOS, Spider Man…how is my wallet supposed to keep up? Plus it's cheaper to buy a book than go to the cinema. How awkward is that?!!

  9. Miss Alexandrina says:

    I’d vlog with you xD Need to edit the clips I filmed yesterday, actually. I just use my laptops webcam. I can’t afford anything fancy, and I don’t know how to properly film using my camera which I’d rather use for photography.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ahaha, that would be fun! 🙂

      Hmm. I hadn’t considered that. I’ll have to check… I’ve messed with it a little bit before, just trying to see what functions my computer has, and the video quality seemed really grainy, but I’ll have to see.

  10. themagicviolinist says:

    I just started organizing weekly Quidditch games with our homeschool group, and it has been a blast! 🙂 We’ve had kids from ages 5 to 17+ (even a few of the adults have played)! We started out not using broomsticks, just so we could get a hang of the rules, tweak a few things, etc. But I think now that everyone’s gotten used to it, we’re going to try using brooms. A seven-year-old in the group has already bought himself a Firebolt. 🙂

    And I would love to see a vlog on here! 🙂 I’ve only done one, and for that I just used a standard Flip camera and used the video editing program on my computer. It’s simple and can work wonders if you’re not planning on using any special effects. 🙂

    • nevillegirl says:

      That’s so cool! I’d love to play Quidditch someday, instead of just watching it.

      OK! Wow, it seems like a lot of people are interested in this. 🙂

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

