Ten Books I Would Buy If I Had Money

Actually, that title isn’t entirely truthful. I have a job, not just during the summer but year-round, since two thousand and twelve. So theoretically, I have money.

However, I put about ninety-five percent of my paychecks into a savings account to use for college, and use most of the rest to buy supplies for my 4-H projects. Trying to be responsible!Engie means that I am also a bookworm who buys very few books because I think there are (gasp!) more important things to save up for. But spending my money on whatever I wanted would be cool. Here are some books that I’d like to buy.

Also, I know the title says books but what I really meant was books OR series OR possibly all of a certain author’s works. I didn’t list all that in the title because I thought it might be too long…

a game of thrones1. A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

…and I could take or leave its sequels, honestly. I love them too, but for their stories and not their writing style. The first book, however, has absolutely gorgeous writing. And considering how much the really nice editions cost (close to three hundred dollars for a hardcover copy from Barnes & Noble), maybe I should stick with just one book for now.

dramarama2. E. Lockhart’s books

Don’t underestimate E. Lockhart. If you judge her books by their blurbs you’ll think, “Oh, these are pure fluff,” but they’re actually not. They deal with some pretty deep stuff, like friendships that are falling apart or rebelling against the system. Lockhart writes female characters really well, too, and all of her main characters are girls.

So far I have read Dramarama, The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks, Fly on the Wall, The Boyfriend List, and The Boy Book. The first two are my favorites, though they are wildly different from one another – one is set at drama camp and talks a lot about being queer, and the other takes place at boarding school and involves sexism and secret passageways. But I would happily buy her other books without reading them first (something I’m usually quite picky about) because I trust that they’re just as brilliant.

Basically, if you like YA contemporary fiction or books about girls who kick butt and you haven’t read anything by E. Lockhart: YOU NEED TO.

the miseducation of cameron post3. The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M. Danforth

I’m having a little argument with myself about whether or not it would be a good idea to buy this book: “Buy it, Engie! It’s marvelous!”

“Don’t buy it, Engie, because rereading it makes you cry!”

“Shut up!”

“Dude. You’ll suffer.”

“…”

“You’ll bawl your eyes out, and maybe that’s a sign of good writing, but buying this book will also require you to spend more money on chocolate, to cheer yourself up.”

ash4. Malinda Lo’s books

The only one I haven’t read yet is Huntress, but then she only has four books current published anyway. I love her complicated, gorgeously written stories – and even more so because they’re about queer girls.

I don’t find most fictional couples to be very interesting – I like them, I guess, but I don’t love them. They’re just meh. But the couples in Malinda Lo’s books are SO CUTE. I have so many Ash/Kaisa feelings. Help.

cinder5. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

 

The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black

The best vampire book ever, according to yours truly. I loved reading about its edgy, terrifyingly-gory world. Plus, it has a great cover and would make my bookshelves look more beautiful.

the dream thieves7. Maggie Stiefvater’s books

I haven’t read all of her books yet either, but I don’t care. Maggie Stiefvater rocks and I refuse to believe that she can write a bad book. Furthermore, she writes urban fantasy and someday I want to publish a urban fantasy story. Learn from the masters, and all that.

beauty queens8. Beauty Queens by Libba Bray

Because it makes me laugh. Because it’s bizarre. Because I don’t think I’ll ever forget its characters. Because it features queer girls! And yes, because I love its cover: It’s very unique. Thank you, Beauty Queens, for having an unusual cover, because I picked you up for that reason.

all men of genius9. All Men of Genius by Lev AC Rosen

I have paid the library SO MUCH in overdue fines for this book – I may as well buy it and save myself some money. It would also be useful to have as a sort of writing reference, because I admire the author’s style and would like to write as well as he does.

double identity10. Margaret Peterson Haddix’s books

Haddix’s books straddle the line between middle-grade and YA, and she’s written a lot of them. A lot of short, fast-paced, vaguely-science-fiction stories. They’re about all sorts of things: memory, population control, cloning, the quest to become younger. They discuss a lot of ethical questions, too – is this science OK? – and that’s cool to find in kids’ books. I haven’t read all of her books, but I hope to someday.

Let’s say that Harry Potter converted some of his Wizarding money into your country’s currency, then gave it to you. What books would you buy with your newfound riches?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Ten Books I Would Buy If I Had Money

  1. Cait says:

    Woah….$300 for a book?! I COULD NEVER JUSTIFY THAT. For a bookworm, I buy surprisingly little books too. This year I’ve bought TFIOS and Scarlet (plus a few $1 bargains from library sales, but that wouldn’t even add up to $5). But that’s it. I have SO many books I’d buy in an instant if I had money. Truthfully, I don’t have a lot of money. >.< I'm so jealous of people who buy books every week!! XD I have not read anything be E. Lockhart. I should fix this, yes.

    • nevillegirl says:

      BUT BUT BUT IT’S A REALLY NICE EDITION.

      Yeah… I actually /did/ buy a bunch of books a few months ago, but they were really cheap. And not great quality either, the cover was almost off some of them. *blesses library book sales everywhere*

      YES YOU SHOULD E. Lockhart is wonderful.

  2. matttblack42 says:

    I’d buy one of those fancy editions of The Lord of the Rings, assuming I could afford it. Then I’d also buy A Game of Thrones, and also all it’s sequels, so when all the books are finished (in about twenty years or so), I can pile them on top of each other just to see how tall the stack is. I didn’t notice any drop in quality in the writing after the first book, to be honest. Though in the fourth and fifth book, he starts to repeat certain phases a lot, and that bugged me. (“Words are wind,” especially.”)

    • nevillegirl says:

      The stack will probably be taller than me. The first few books are a couple inches thick each, and I bet #6 and #7 will be like 2 feet thick each. *nodnod*

      Maybe it’s just me. I usually like the first book in a series most and have impossibly-high standards for the rest.

  3. MOHE says:

    I ADORE the Alan Lee illustrated LotR set and I saw a boxed set for about $50 in a used bookshop on vacation last year, but obviously shipping home 3 or 4 huge heavy novels (as opposed to huge light novels, which do exist) was not a good idea. Nor did I have the money.

    But these are all fabulous choices. I wanna read GoT, and I will as soon as my parents will let me. But I’ll probably be waiting 30 years on that one. I’ve only read The Boyfriend List, and I might read some more E. Lockhart, then. I liked Double Identity but not enough to own it. I might want to own The Coldest Girl in Coldtown and Beauty Queens, but I’m not sure. CamPost and Ash, I’d also love to own those, because they’re books I’ll read over and over. I think I’m reading the Spanish edition of Cinder over the summer, so I don’t know if I’ll buy the English version. (The cover’s really pretty though.) I already own AMoG, and that leaves the Raven Cycle…which I need to read. *mutters at copy of The Dream Thieves because she’s on page 10 or something*

    • nevillegirl says:

      *insert bookish sighs* Those editions are so pretty. But my family already has like three different sets so I can’t really justify buying any more…

      Haha. Well, that might be a good thing. It’s really violent yet addictive so I keep reading/watching even when I know it will just make me sad.

      OOH. I love the Spanish cover for Cinder!

      I hope you enjoy The Dream Thieves!

  4. orphu44 says:

    Ooh, I like the selections of yours that I recognize … although I have to admit that I am a terrible person who only really buys books that I haven’t read because the library doesn’t have them. (Which often results in me having only the second halves of series I like, which is a bit weird …)

  5. Pingback: Pride 2014: Marriage Equality In Indiana, As Explained By Charlie Brown | Musings From Neville's Navel

  6. Pingback: Behold My (Puny) Bookish Collections! | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

