Washington, D.C., Here I Come!

Neville, my blog mascot, in... 2010, I think?

Neville, my blog mascot, in… 2010, I think?

This is a goodbye post. Sort of.

During the next few days, from the twelfth to the nineteenth, I’ll be traveling. Washington, D.C. is my destination!

So this is a post to let my readers know that during that time, I won’t be here. Not really. I have posts scheduled, and those who use Facebook to stay updated on new posts have hopefully noticed that my WordPress posts now automatically appear in my feed – I don’t need to manually share the links anymore.

But, thanks to a lack of Internet (no big deal – besides, it’ll probably be good for me), I won’t be able to moderate and respond to comments as frequently as I usually do… or maybe even at all. I’m not sure. The hotels will probably have Internet but I can’t bring my computer so I’d have to wait my turn for any computers that might be in the lobby. Plus, I’ll probably be too busy anyway, too tired each evening to bother checking email and the like.

So I’ll try to get to comments when I can, but I’m not really worried about it. I’m more concerned about having fun!

What am I doing in Washington, D.C.? Good question. I am going on official business for the President because I won a local essay contest. (Sorry, can’t say any more than that – I shouldn’t say which group I’m going with because SAFETY REASONS.) I’ll spend the week with about seventy other high school juniors, all of us from Indiana. And we’ll meet groups from almost all the other states, too!

I’m really excited. A week of traveling! And having fun! And possibly making new friends! I’m most excited, however, because I love D.C. It’s not my favorite city (can I get a YAY for San Francisco?), but it is a pretty cool city. This will be my third time there – I went once with my family when I was thirteen and then last year I traveled there because I won an essay contest through 4-H. (Wow, look at me, little miss essay-writer. But why not? I thought I might as well try, even if I didn’t think I’d win, because I might surprise myself.) But I didn’t write about that trip. I should have.

Anyway. It’ll be fun to revisit some of my favorite places. And by “favorite places,” I mean “the whole entire city.”

I probably shouldn’t say exactly which places I’ll visit (because SAFETY REASONS again – I don’t want any stalkers) but let’s just say that there will be a lot of museums and memorials and a few meetings with actual senator-representative-y-people (!).

So, yeah. I’m pretty excited. We’ll also do a bunch of activities with the other states’ groups. And about twenty kids from my group, including myself, are competing for scholarships / possible further trips to D.C. There’s a speech contest and we have to talk about a leader we admire, so I chose Eleanor Roosevelt. I might post my speech later, if anyone is interested.

Well, I think that’s enough rambling for one day. I hope everyone reading this has a nice week – I know I will!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Nevillegirl's Travels, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Washington, D.C., Here I Come!

  1. Cait says:

    Ooh, sounds like fun! XD Good luck on your trip! I always remind myself, when I go on internet-less trips, that it’s probably good for me. So far…nope. Hasn’t worked. I always miss everything the bonnie Internet has to offer. Except, maybe, spam blog comments and facebook being weird. -_- lol Have fun!!

  2. Julia says:

    Awesome! I hope you have a good time! (This is JuliaFredBob from Nano, by the way. I’ve been stalking your blog and reading book reviews for a while, so, um, hi!)

  3. MOHE says:

    *agonized moaning about being so close and yet not being able to see you* C’mon, you know I wanted to stalk you.

  4. Miriam Joy says:

    You’ll certainly be having more fun than me — I have two exams on the eighteenth, one on the nineteenth, and one on the twentieth! But on the bright side, I’ll be too busy revising myself into a stew of anxiety and terror that I probably won’t notice you’re gone. 😉

  5. Have fun. I love DC! One of our favorite family vacations. I think it was 2010 as well!

  6. matttblack42 says:

    I loved Washington D.C.! I got a split second glimpse of the back of Obama’s head, the one time I visited. No big deal.

    Also, I have finals next week. Would you mind writing the essays for me? You can just disguise yourself as me and no one should ask questions. I’d do it myself, but apparently my essays aren’t formal enough.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Haha. Where did you see him? (I mean, DC, obviously. But did you get to see the White House?)

      Pffft. Like my essays are ever formal either. I always try to make jokes in them…

      • matttblack42 says:

        I saw his car driving into the entrance of the white house, and the car window was open for some reason. I managed to get a split second view past all the security guards.

        I’m the same way. I also have a tendency to accidentally plagiarize (I forget to use quotation marks).

    • nevillegirl says:

      Cool beans.

      (Hey, look at me, magically finding computers at the hotel! 😀 😀 😀 )

  7. That’s awesome! Have fun with all the metal detectors while you’re there 🙂

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

