Books To Read On The Bus (And Beyond)

Packing is hard. And by that I don’t mean “trying on all my clothes to see which ones still fit” or “making sure I have enough socks.”

I’m talking about “trying to stuff as many books as possible into my suitcase because I am a complete bookworm who will cry when deprived of novels.”

Today, I’m not visiting much. Today is mostly a driving day. By the time you read this my group will have just begun a long bus trip of roughly seven or eight hours. How’s a girl supposed to occupy herself during the utter boredom that stretches across the Midwest? Why, by reading books, of course.

(Also, by listening to an iPod stuffed with film scores from Doctor Who and Game of Thrones. But mostly by READING.)

I brought a big suitcase but even so, I agonized over which books to bring. Longer books take longer to read and would therefore keep me amused for quite a while, but… clothes already take up a lot of room in my suitcase and it would be hard to stuff books that size in among all the rest. So I limited myself to only one super-long book.

Here is what I plan to read over the next week, while on the bus and in D.C.

+ Gone by Michael Grant. HA. Ha ha ha ha. This is an interesting choice, to say the least, considering this trip. It’s about a world in which, one day, all the adults disappear. I wonder how my group of kids would fare if we were in the same situation. Anyway. It’s dystopian and I never get tired of reading those books. It’s also my one and only long book.

+ Lament by Maggie Stiefvater. This is her first book and I’ve been meaning to read it for ages! It’s fantasy and looks to be a lot like Stiefvater’s recent Raven Cycle series – it has fairies and magic and stuff. Not werewolves and killer horses like her middle books do.

+ Murder at the National Cathedral by Margaret Truman. Can you tell that I picked a variety of genres to read on this trip? I found this mystery novel on one of our bookshelves the other day and impulsively decided to bring it because the story is set in D.C. We won’t visit the cathedral but I think imagining the story will be neat since I have been there before. It’s HUGE and REALLY PRETTY YET SOLEMN.

+ Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan. Romance! Contemporary! LGBTQ+! Light, mindless fluffiness! It looks to be a very quick read; I bet I could finish it in a day or two even though I’ll be busy most of the time.

+ Life of Pi by Yann Martel. This is a story of a journey, albeit a very different sort of journey than the one I’ll be on. I keep hearing that this is one of the best modern books ever, so I’m anxious to read it and find out.

Well, that’s it. Yes, only five books. I feel like that’s too many. I feel like that’s not enough. Maybe I won’t have much free time or maybe when I do I’ll be too tired to pick up a book. Maybe I’ll zip through all five books within the first two days and end up asking to borrow another kid’s book. Who knows? All I know is that I NEED BOOKS WITH ME AT ALL TIMES OR I FEEL LOST.

Speaking of books, what are you reading at the moment? And how many books do you usually pack for week-long trips?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Nevillegirl's Travels, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Books To Read On The Bus (And Beyond)

  1. Cait says:

    Oh choosing books is hopelessly difficult. >.< I always end up wanting to take some huge THICK book and it never fits in any of my bags and I have to carry it and then I get flustered that the pages will get wrecked. Travelling is the time I DO love my kindle a lot. Plus, maybe I'll only be gone for like a week, but I can take a million books and feel very comfortable knowing I'll have enough. 😉 I loooove Gone and I adore Lament. xD

  2. Sunny Smith says:

    Ack! The problems of a booklover. I totally feel your pain. I always end up bringing way too many or not enough, never a happy medium. The worst is when you have to scourge around for a book to read when you’re up north camping. Your pickings are usually limited to the only grocery/drugstore for miles, which often only carry bestsellers (that I’ve already read) or harlequins (I’ll never be that desperate).

    I’m glad that you have your books figured out though. They all sounds great!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ahaha, I’d never be desperate enough to read harlequins either! 😛

      I actually didn’t have much time to read on the trip… but I had a little, so I’m glad I brought some books!

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

