A B See Photo Challenge: R Is For Red

cameraOh my god! An A B See Photo Challenge post comprised of entirely color pictures, to make up for all the times when I selected only black and white photos!

Enjoy!

DSCN3835Subject of photo: A strawberry

Location of subject: My backyard

Techniques practiced: Nature, close-up

It seems weird to call something that is neither human nor animal “cute,” but… strawberries are cute. And very detailed, with all those little seeds. I love the sunlight and shadows in this picture, too. And the tiny little green strawberry in the background.

DSCN3794Subject of photo: The chicken house

Location of subject: My backyard

Techniques practiced: Nature

Red and white is a lovely combination. I like the geometry – lines, angles, triangles inside squares – in this photo as well.

DSCN3800Subject of photo: A flower

Location of subject: My backyard

Techniques practiced: Nature, close-up

My favorite photo in this post – and perhaps my favorite photo of the year, or of this entire A B See Photo Challenge to date. I love the strange fuzzy beauty of the flower, of course, but mostly I love the way the rocks faded to gray. I don’t know how I did it, because the rocks are mostly brown, actually. It’s weird.

Whatever. I don’t mind not knowing. I just like looking at this photograph. It’s very odd and very pretty and very bright. Great contrasts, too.

DSCN3820Subject of photo: A dandelion

Location of subject: My backyard

Techniques practiced: Nature, close-up

Here, red is part of the background, not the subject. I like the combination of red and green, plus the cute little rounded leaves. The sunlight filtering through the plants is a nice touch. And the fluffy dandelion bits are crisply detailed!

What are those fluffy bits called, anyway? Are they still called petals?

DSCN3807 Subject of photo: A flag

Location of subject: My house

Techniques practiced: Unusual perspective

It’s really difficult to photograph a flag that’s blowing in the breeze. I needed it to stay in one position so my pictures wouldn’t be blurry! This is my best example – I have about six other versions but they aren’t as good.

Which photo is your favorite and why?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A B See Photo Challenge: R Is For Red

  1. Bonnie says:

    Gorgeous! I looove the fuzzy red flower. The dandelion one is really pretty too.

    P.S. The fluffy dandelion bits are the seeds.

  2. Yay, colours. The photos are so pretty!
    And the fluffy bits of a dandelion are its seeds. I’m surprised you didn’t know that.

  3. Strix Spell says:

    The little fluffy things are the seeds though Olaf refers to them as fuzz (from Frozen) so I’m not sure what you call them. When the plant grows those fluffy things, it is referred to as a dandelion clock. Or at least, that is what it is called according to one of my friends.

    My favorite photograph is either the strawberry, because it is cute, or the American flag because, okay, I’m not sure why I like the American flag I just somehow do.

  4. Cool chicken house! Ours is a boring brown. My sister and I begged our parents to let it be red and white…but no. 😉

  5. Miriam Joy says:

    Why do you have a flag? Is that just a thing? Do people just have flags in America?

    • nevillegirl says:

      I guess that is just a thing in America. (Do other countries not do that so much?) I mean, we don’t put it out all the time but yes, we do just have a flag lying around to show at Memorial Day and the 4th of July and Labor Day.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yeah, that makes sense. Some people are SUPER PATRIOTIC about it, though, and we’re just like “yeah whatever hey we have a flag.”

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

