A B See Photo Challenge: S Is For Still Life

cameraI actually took these photographs the day before I left for my trip, but didn’t have the chance to sort through them until now.

The 4-H county fair is rapidly approaching so I think I’ll talk about how I assembled these photos. They were all taken as part of a workshop for the Photography project. Each project has a superintendent – an adult who offers help to the members. Some superintendents don’t do very much but the Photography superintendent is FANTASTIC. She holds probably ten workshops in the handful of months leading up to the fair.

Each year there is a “still life” workshop and it’s my favorite. First of all, she sets out lots of weird little objects for us to arrange, and I always get some neat pictures.

Secondly, still life pictures can involve edible objects – fruit, ice cream, et cetera – so after everyone is done, we can eat the props!

Enjoy!

DSCN3885Subject of photo: Fruit in a wooden box

Location of subject: The photography superintendent’s house

Techniques practiced: Still life

I really like the combinations of colors here: cheerful but not overly bright.

DSCN3857Subject of photo: Flowers

Location of subject: The photography superintendent’s house

Techniques practiced: Close-up, still life

FLOWERS. I LOVE FLOWERS. I love the brightness of this picture, and the details of the petals and water droplets.

DSCN3869Subject of photo: Fruit in a glass dish

Location of subject: The photography superintendent’s house

Techniques practiced: Close-up, still life

The variety of textures here is interesting – the ridged glass dish, the rough fabric, the bumps and hairs on the raspberries, and the smooth blueberries. I also think the colors in this picture go together very well.

DSCN3883Subject of photo: Orange slices

Location of subject: The photography superintendent’s house

Techniques practiced: Close-up, still life

Geometry in photography is cool, and it can definitely be seen here. I especially like how the wedge pattern is repeated in the cross-section of orange.

DSCN3889Subject of photo: A hat and a flower

Location of subject: The photography superintendent’s house

Techniques practiced: Still life

I think this is a very elegant photo and besides, I just like the colors. The blueish-gray hat, the purple flower, and the gray cloth complement each other very well.

Which photo is your favorite and why?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A B See Photo Challenge: S Is For Still Life

  1. I’m torn. I love the varying textures in fruit in a glass dish, but the flowers really popped for me. I also like the soft elegance of the final photo. It made me feel relaxed and nostalgic for bygone eras. They’re all very good!

  2. Mom says:

    I really like almost all of them. My favorite two are the hat and the orange, As Jennifer said, the hat photo is very elegant. I like the flower photo, but I KNOW you have a ton of flower photos. It’s one of your better ones, though!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you! I’d totally forgotten about the hat picture until I looked at the whole set of photos this morning – I’m really happy with that picture.

      Flowers are just so easy to photograph. 😛

  3. themagicviolinist says:

    Ooh, I love the flowers. 🙂 They’re so bright and intricate. But the berries were also really cool. I like that you’re using more color. 😉

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you! I wish there were a separate “flower” category in 4-H Photography (instead of just black & white and color) – every summer when I sort through photos, I have far too many pictures of flowers and I’m supposed to show a variety of subjects! 🙂

      Ahaha, the all-color photo set wasn’t intentional but… yeah, I have been experimenting with color more!

  4. Erin says:

    I love all your pictures! Out of curiosity, what camera do you use?

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you!

      Um… *scurries off to check camera* I really should have already known this, considering how much I use it. Anyway, it’s a Nikon Coolpix L20. 🙂 Just a little point-and-shoot thing, but I’ve taken some amazing pictures with it. *pats camera affectionately* I do plan to buy a really nice one someday, though…

      • Erin says:

        Hey, I think I have the same camera (or one that is similar). Yeah, you can really take some nice photos with those cameras if you know what you’re doing (and a little bit of editing makes everything look better too).

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

