Five Favorite Types Of Photographs

Today I thought I would try something different. Usually, my posts tagged “photography” are part of the A B See Photo Challenge. However, I would like to start something new. I’d like to write more posts in which I just talk about photography in general, posts that I’m not writing for any sort of challenge or regular feature. Why? Because I love photography. Because it’s the only style of art in which I show even the slightest amount of talent.

Without further ado, here is the first post: the five types of images that I love to capture, with examples of photos I’ve taken over the years.

Click on any of the photos to make them bigger, if you want!

DSCN2802DSCN13641. Black and white photos of old, weathered, and/or abandoned objects

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS TYPE OF PHOTO. IT IS MY FAVORITE. There’s just so much detail in these pictures, and I love black and white photos anyway.

On my way to and from work I always drive past an old, falling-down barn. (You can see part of it in the first photo above.) In color, as we normally see it, the barn is an eyesore but when I photographed it in black and white, it became almost beautiful. There’s an eerie, desolate quality to this type of picture and I love that a lot.

DSCN2888DSCN28842. Photos of flowers, especially flowers with water on them

I have a weakness for flowers. Each year I think, “Oh, I didn’t take that many flower photos. Right?” Each year as I sort through photos for my 4-H Photography project, I realize that I do, indeed, have more flower photos than I know what to do with. This year, three out of the ten photos on my color photography poster depict flowers. I have also been known to take black and white pictures of brilliantly colored flowers because… reasons.

They’re just so bright! And pretty! If you fill a spray bottle with water and gently spritz the flowers before photographing them, they appear to be dew-covered and that really lends a lot of detail to your pictures. I use this technique a lot, as you can see.

DSCN2714DSCN26163. Abstract photos

Sometimes, I just like to take really weird photos – extreme close-ups, or from bizarre angles. It’s fun to make the viewer guess what the photo’s subject is, and I like showing completely ordinary objects (in this case, a playground slide and a fruit basket) in unusual ways.

DSCN3897DSCN24064. Photos of architecture

Architecture is an art of its own, and capturing that within another form of art – i.e. photography – results in some lovely photos. My favorite part about photographing architecture is the geometric detail. All those lines, angles, squares, triangles, and sometimes even curves are very pleasing to observe.

DSCN3883DSCN15955. Food photos

I’ve taken a number of still-life photos and so far, all my favorites featured food. I don’t know what it is about food photography that I like so much, but I have a feeling that it might be the bright colors. That doesn’t explain the bottom photo, though. I don’t know. Maybe I like all the different ways in which one can arrange food and then photograph it.

What types of photos do you like to capture?

P.S. Hey. Readers. In my last post, I asked for your suggestions and thoughts about future LGBTQ+ posts. This is important to me, but I have received only three comments so far. This is your chance to have a say in what I write about, people!

So if you’re not Thomas @ The Quiet Voice or magicfishy @ The Magic Fishy or my mom, I’d love it if you left a comment right here at this link telling me what you think. Even if your suggestion is only one sentence long, it helps.

Thank you!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Five Favorite Types Of Photographs

  1. oOH! I too love black and white photos of old, weathered, and abandoned objects. It’s quite a mouthful though. We need an acronym. 😛 I agree with the other as well, anything to do with food is good. 😀

  2. Miss Alexandrina says:

    Ooh, I like this. (The second black-and-white one is my favourite, because of how the colour further contrasts the foreground and background textures. The amber Poppy(?) is a close second favourite.) I probably won’t have time tomorrow, but I’ll try and do a similar post. It’s a good idea! Oddly, I used to do a lot of abstract photos, but now it seems to be a technique I’ve abandoned.
    Also: “Because I love photography. Because it’s the only style of art in which I show even the slightest amount of talent.” Me too, Engie. Me too. ^.^

    • nevillegirl says:

      I LOVE the second black and white photo! 🙂 I have to say, sometimes I’m rather impressed with my own photos. Does that sound big-headed? I don’t mean for it to be that way… I’m just really pleased with the detail in that image.
      And yes, that’s a poppy. 🙂

      Yay! I’m glad you think it’s a good idea! 😀

      Ahaha, I’m so happy that I got a camera a few Christmases ago. Before that, I thought I couldn’t do any art! 😛

  3. Cait says:

    Ohh, I love photography. Still suck at it, but I can admire, right? 😉 I really love the food ones (no reason, of course, noooo reason) and I’m a big fan of those abstract ones! LOVE the crazy angles and how detailed and amazing they can be.

  4. Miriam Joy says:

    I take photos of flowers a lot. I like focusing on a small object and letting the background blur. This is particularly the case with architecture in relation to flowers — I’ll focus on a flower in the foreground so that the castle or whatever in the background is more of an impression than a picture. I use that sort of technique a lot to take more interesting pictures of landmarks, particularly historical ones.

    • nevillegirl says:

      *high-five* Flower photos ftw.

      Ooh, yes, I like that too. I haven’t used that technique too much but when I have, I’m always pleased with the results. I find that the problem with taking pictures of landmarks is that too often they just look like snapshots – they’re not INTERESTING! They’re not art!

      I think the key is to not focus on the landmark. In DC a few weeks back, I took very few pictures of landmarks – the Capitol picture from “T is for trip” is pretty much the only exception. Instead I focused on interesting objects near the landmarks. So many people have photos of the Lincoln Memorial – but how many have photos of the nearby weird vases that looked like gargoyles? xD

      • Miriam Joy says:

        Yeah, I always figure you can get postcards of landmarks, so I either try and get arty shots or photos with me in front of the landmark – something that says, “I took this photo, not the ten thousand other people here on this day.”

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

