Harry Potter By The Numbers

thebookchewersJuly is Harry Potter month over at The Book Chewers! One of their first posts is a link-up, so I thought I’d join in. At least a few of my readers seem to really enjoy my short and sweet and often silly posts – at least, that’s what they’ve told me on Facebook – so this one is for you.

The link-up’s prompt is:

Over seven Harry Potter books, we’ve laughed, cried, and cheered along with Harry and his friends. So I’ve come up with seven “number” questions for you to answer.

Enjoy!

How many times have you read the Harry Potter series?

Three or four times, I think. I may have read some of my favorites – Prisoner of Azkaban, anyone? – more than that, but honestly I haven’t reread the entire series very many times. I plan to reread the books this summer if I have any time in between finishing my 4-H projects, working at my new job (!!!), applying to colleges, and writing.

How many times have you cried while reading certain parts?

IF YOU HAVE NOT FINISHED THE SERIES YET (I’m looking at you, Cait @ Notebook Sisters), DON’T READ THIS BIT. SPOILERS, SWEETIE!

Anyway. I don’t think I cried when Sirius died, but I did when Dumbledore talked to Harry later on in his office, about how being human meant feeling pain. I cried a little when Dumbledore died.

I cried a LOT when Hedwig died because… I don’t know. Because it felt like the end of an era. She’d been with Harry since the first book!

I also cried when Mad-Eye, Fred, Lupin, and Tonks died. I cried when Harry used the Resurrection Stone to see his parents and their friends. And I cried during the chapter called “King’s Cross.”

How old were you when Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows came out?

Nearly eleven, I believe. But my Hogwarts acceptance letter never came that fall…

How many times have you seen the movies?

I have seen the first six once each, I think. I didn’t like most of the movies so there was just no reason to rewatch them. The last two were better, however, and I believe I’ve seen Deathly Hallows Part One three or four times and Deathly Hallows Part Two twice.

How old were you when you started reading the series?

Eight. I think? I might have been seven. My mom read the series aloud to my brother and I, but I was anxious to find out what happened next so I began reading them on my own.

How many stars have you or would you rate each book on Goodreads?

I don’t know off the top of my head, so let me check. Hmm.

Sorcerer’s Stone: Three stars

Chamber of Secrets: Two stars

Prisoner of Azkaban: Four stars

Goblet of Fire: Three stars

Order of the Phoenix: Three stars

Half-Blood Prince: Four stars

Deathly Hallows: Four stars

And when I add all the ratings together and divide by seven to obtain the average, the result is three-point-two-something.

How many Harry Potter-related costumes have you worn for Halloween or any other occasion?

Three! When I was nine or ten, I dressed as Harry for Halloween – I still have the shiny silver-purple robes and pointed hat somewhere in my room, I’m sure.

When I was twelve or thirteen or so, I dressed as my favorite book (Prisoner of Azkaban) for Halloween. My dad and I made a large box out of cardboard and cut holes for my arms, legs, and head. I didn’t paint all the cover art, but I am rather proud of my excellent title-painting job. Like so.

When I was fourteen or fifteen, I was Dobby for Halloween. I made ears and attached them to a headband, sewed a pillowcase-thingy, and carried a sock.

It was not a good idea. People kept asking if I was Piglet from Winnie-the-Pooh. I wanted to hit them with my sock.

Bonus question: How many times have you wished you could Stupefy someone for saying, “I don’t like Harry Potter“?

Well, when I was a little kid I probably wished that a couple of times.

Now I’m much more likely – in fact, 100% likely – to nod thoughtfully and say, “You know, Harry Potter DOES have some serious storytelling issues.” Now I’ll critique it, dissecting each and every little bit to find both the good and bad.

-~-

Take part in the link-up on your own blog, if you want!

P.S. Yes. I’m going to talk about my Pride wrap-up post again. If you’ve already commented with suggestions, just ignore this postscript. If you haven’t, please post your thoughts about future LGBTQ+ posts in the comments section of this post.

I have a lot of readers and subscribers and I’d like to know what they think – so I’ll probably continue to direct people to that post for the next week or so, just in case anyone still hasn’t seen it.

Thank you in advance for your help!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Harry Potter, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Harry Potter By The Numbers

  1. Mom says:

    Wow, that was so mathy of you to calculate the average rating of all seven books. I’m very proud of you.

  2. Cait says:

    Oh, I know most of the spoilers already. 😐 Pinterest. It’s a killer. It’s just impossible not to see stuff…aaand, I guess that’s only fair, because I’m what? 10 years late to the fandom?? AND THE REST NOW. *sigh* But hey, woohoo I’m up to book #5 next! AND I OWN IT. That deserves brownie stickers on its own. x)

  3. Charley R says:

    I’m horrific with numbers, so I’m not even going to try this. Still, some impressive stats here!

  4. Sithsandjedis says:

    Hi, this is Themagicviolinist’s brother. I don’t comment on your blog much, but this looked fun!

    Question 1: I have probably read the series 8 times. But my favorite, The Half-Blood Prince, I have read like. . . 10 times.

    Question 2: I may seem like a robot with my emotions right now (or Cyberman) but I only cried when Lupin and Nimphadora died. I don’t know if I spelled her name right. 😛

    Question 3: I was 4.

    Question 4: Probably 4 times each.

    Question 5: I was 6 or seven.

    Question 6: Well I don’t have Goodreads yet. . .
    One: 3
    Two: 4
    Three: 4
    Four: 3
    Five: 4
    Six: 5
    Seven: 5

    Question 7: Twice. Once when I went to the midnight opening of BOOK 7 at the mall. I was a Quiditch field. And once when I was at my sisters birthday party. I wore a robe.

    Question 8: Never.

    Thank you!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thanks for commenting! 🙂 (Do you have a blog too?)

      Ahaha, your sister talked about your Quidditch field costume over at The Book Chewers. It sounds awesome! 😛

  5. You make me feel old! I was 30 by the time the first one came out, I think!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ahaha, and to think that /I/ felt somewhat old while reading others’ responses to this link-up – one girl said she was seven when the last book came out! O_o When I was that age, I might not have even started the series yet…

  6. matttblack42 says:

    Sorry I’ve disappeared during the last two weeks, but I promise I’ll comment on that Pride Wrap-Up post! If I don’t, just assumed I died in between comments.

    I’ve reread some books much more than others. I’ve reread the final three books at least five times, but the Chamber of Secrets only twice.

    I started reading HP when I was about six or seven, but I don’t think I fully comprehended what was going on, because I was surprised at some events when I reread it a few years later. I was nine when Deathly Hallows came out. (Wow, I’m young.)

    I don’t think I ever came close to crying in the books until the final one, because I went into it completely unspoiled. I felt the same way about Hedwig. Fred’s death didn’t really hit me until months afterwards, when I thought about how upset George and the rest of his family must’ve been.

    I had a VHS tape of The Chamber of Secrets and I watched it a ridiculous amount of times as a little kid. All the other movies I’ve seen only once, with the exception of PoA, one of my favorite adaptations.

    I once wore a Harry Potter costume when I was a little kid, but that was before I actually knew anything about the series, so I suppose that doesn’t count.

    My ratings’ are about the same as yours, I think, except I’d give OoP a 4-5, because I loved Angry Harry. He was the best. The inclusion of characters like Umbridge, Luna Lovegood and Bellatrix Lestrange doesn’t hurt.

    (This is a long comment.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      No problem. 🙂

      *high-fives* CoS was… IDK, man, it wasn’t as good as the others. J.K. had a serious case of the second-book-slump (as I call it) there.

      Indeed. Fred’s death is now one of the ones that hits me hardest, when I think about sad HP things. (Which isn’t very often, anymore. Now I’m like BUT NOOOOOO OH GOD NED I’M SO SORRY. AND OBERYN TOO.)

      I did like OotP. It might be a 3.5, really? But Goodreads doesn’t let me rate half-stars. Anyway, it’s better than GoF which for me would just be a 3. I LOVED the introduction of Umbridge, Luna, and Bellatrix.

      (Don’t worry about it. I’ve had longer. I’ve written longer on others’ blogs. xD)

      • matttblack42 says:

        Yeah, I think Oberyn’s death was possibly the cruelest thing Martin’s done. Or at least it’s the one that hit me hardest. Probably because neither Ned nor Catelyn were literally seconds away from achieving the perfect happy ending. Oberyn was so close… *cries* Also, it was one of the few major death scenes in the series that I wasn’t spoiled for, so that helped.

        AND… I just realized I have a TCWT post due today. Three hours? I bet I could pull this off.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I don’t think I’ll ever be over that death. Fred’s death seems like nothing in comparison. At least he died quickly and with his body not in multiple pieces!

      I bet you could. I look forward to it.

  7. themagicviolinist says:

    Don’t stop dreaming about that Hogwarts acceptance letter!!! It’ll come!

    Oh my gosh, I would love to see pictures of that Dobby costume! XD That sounds awesome! (But Piglet? Seriously? You should have hit them with your sock.)

  8. Sithsandjedis says:

    I do have a blog! I can email you the link!! BTW I watch Doctor Who, Themagicviolinist says you LOVE it too. She said you actually like it more then her. O.o It can’t be true!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ahaha, just posting the link here works fine too. 🙂

      Yeah… yeah, I do watch that show, and I adore it. Who’s your favorite Doctor and companion? I like Nine and Donna.

  9. MOHE says:

    …You make a perfect Dobby okay.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

