Being Human In This Brave New World Of Summer Jobs

Alternate title for this post: “Engie wants to talk about a bunch of minor things on her blog so she combines them into one big post.” This happens every so often. It happened in April. Read on for… I don’t even know what. Recent happenings, I guess.

I.

I read Brave New World by Aldous Huxley, finally. It had been on my to-read list for a while – I like classics, especially modern classics, and that novel is one of the big names in dystopian fiction. It’s short (around two hundred and fifty pages long) and really rather easy to read, although I found the last third of the story a little more challenging.

Brave New World is just – odd, I guess. If you like offbeat science fiction but nothing quite as offbeat as, say, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, this is the book for you.

I say “nothing quite as offbeat” because while the book definitely has its silly moments, it is also sometimes serious. This book’s influence on later works is quite obvious – you can see echoes of it in everything from The Giver and The Hunger Games to Divergent. Factions? Yeah, they have those in Brave New World.

I’ve been in a sort of reading slump since finishing Brave New World – I pick up one book, read the first ten pages, and get distracted with something else. I haven’t read an entire book in nearly two weeks! I’ve been too busy working on 4-H projects, writing, or – in the evenings – watching TV.

II.

I started watching Being Human the other day. Actually, let me rephrase that. I started watching the UK version of the show the other day. Later an American remake was produced, or so I’ve heard. I haven’t actually watched any of that, but I might since I like the show so much.

It’s urban fantasy, which is a nice change from my usual shows – Game of Thrones is high fantasy and Doctor Who is SFF (or science fiction and fantasy). Being Human is about a werewolf (George), a vampire (Mitchell), and a ghost (Annie) who share a house. Maybe that’s not your thing, but it is totally my cup of tea. It’s a little bit dark, a little bit edgy, and a little bit funny all at once.

With most shows (or stories of any kind, really) I like only a few of the main characters – but here, I like all three. Whenever one character’s story arc slows down, another subplot appears. This show has great pacing. The series are really short, for example – six or seven hour-long episodes each.

I love to hate the villains. My favorite so far is [name redacted] from series one because they’re not even supernatural so I wrote them off as no threat. How wrong I was.

One more thing. The weirdest part of watching Being Human is recognizing its actors from other shows and movies. Aidan Turner (Mitchell) plays one of my favorite dwarves in The Hobbit films. Russell Tovey (George) was in Doctor Who and Sherlock – in the latter he was the man who was terrorized by the hound of the Baskervilles, which cracks me up to no end because earlier he played a FREAKING WEREWOLF.

I’m only about halfway through series two, but I really love this show so far!

III.

And now for something completely different! My last topic for today is something real, not fictional. I have a new job!

I have been hired to work in the 4-H office during the county fair. My main responsibility is handling paperwork – lots of sorting and filing papers, answering questions, and helping other 4-Hers fill out their forms. So as you can see, it’s a fairly simple job. But the pay is eight dollars an hour, better than minimum wage!

My job begins on the ninth and concludes on the twenty-ninth. As far as I know, the only days I have off are Sundays (because I work at a restaurant then) and the nineteenth (because I’ll be participating in other 4-H events for the entire day).

Working so much doesn’t bother me, though. It’s easy work and helps me to save up more money for college. Actually, the only thing that will bother me is the INCESSANT COUNTRY MUSIC played at the fair! They play it all the time there and I can’t stand it. Oh, well. Think of the paycheck and job experience instead, Engie.

-~-

So. Any updates? What has happened recently in your life? Have you ever read or watched Brave New World and Being Human? Do you have a summer job?

P.S. You know the drill – please comment on my recap of Pride 2014 posts if you haven’t already. I would appreciate that immensely, as I always love to know what my readers are thinking.

Also, I’d like to add that (in a COMPLETELY SHAMELESS attempt to increase comments on that post) I will now do blog promos for each commenter. Provided that they have a blog, of course. Thank you so much!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Being Human In This Brave New World Of Summer Jobs

  1. orphu44 says:

    Before I say anything I feel the need to apologize because I had decided that tonight I would sit down and read/comment on all the blog posts I’d previously only had time to skim but now I feel like it’ll come across as a blog-promo grab. (Although I admittedly might not be doing as much blog-reading as I’d originally thought, since I’m apparently tired unexpectedly early tonight.)
    But a) yes, I have watched Brave New World and I quite liked it. I did spend a ridiculous amount of my time reading it picking apart poor Bernard’s flaws and being excited at the realization that the Malthusian belts and whatnot were named for Thomas Malthus, though.
    And I haven’t watched Being Human, but I did recently find a website of shows that includes Being Human, and wondered if I should start it once I catch up on Once Upon a Time.

    • nevillegirl says:

      No, no, it’s perfectly fine. 🙂 I understand that people get busy. I just don’t get the people who commented on every one of my recent posts except the Pride recap… like they’re avoiding it or something? Hmm. Very strange.

      Ooh, good catch. Now that I’ve googled him, I vaguely remember Thomas Malthus from history…

      I think you should. 😀 IT IS SO GOOD.

  2. Cait says:

    Being Human sounds really good, actually! I’m almost finished Supernatural and pretty much unsure if there’s life after the devastating season finale. (Pinterest spoiled it for me, but STILL. *cries because season finales suck and rock all at once*) I’m very much into weird supernaturally things so Being Human? Yes please. OH. And congrats on your job! Pity about the country music though. I FEEL YOUR PAIN. 😐

  3. Miriam Joy says:

    A title worthy of some of my mash ups 🙂

    Brave New World is an extraordinarily depressing book. I read it when I was about twelve or thirteen, and it had a powerful impact on me.

    I don’t have a summer job, unless you include writing novels, on account of being broken and also away at inconvenient times and also just….not having a job. Though I might be getting a week of work experience in September.

    Being Human is wonderful, but you’ll cry. I cried.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you!

      I don’t read much classic sci fi, so it’s definitely one of my favorites in that genre (subgenre?).

      Hey, I think that counts if you’re making money from it. 😛 (And what would you be doing for work experience?)

      I MAY HAVE ACCIDENTALLY SEEN SPOILERS. 😦
      I MAY HAVE GONE, “NOOOOOOOO MITCHELL”

    • nevillegirl says:

      I JUST WANT TO HUG HIM HE’S LIKE A FUZZY PUPPY
      ONLY A VAMPIRE
      YES GOOD

      That sounds nice. 🙂

  4. Amy Wallin says:

    I reeeaaally liked Being Human (UK version). I was so excited when I heard he was going to be in the Hobbit. I thought that I surely wouldn’t recognise him because he is so un-dwarf-like. Also it is a well known fact that dwarves are not sexy. Was wrong. Was so very wrong.=)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ahaha, he makes a good dwarf. And I can’t truthfully say that I find Aidan-Turner-as-Kili sexy (…lady dwarves are my type ok. lady anything) buuuuut he /is/ rather handsome! And I love his mischievous grin. Unfortunately we don’t see too much of that with Mitchell…

  5. Pingback: A Day In The Life Of A 4-Her During The County Fair | Musings From Neville's Navel

  6. Pingback: Quarterly Rewind, Summer 2014 – Books, College, OneRepublic, And More! | Musings From Neville's Navel

  7. Pingback: Jobs, 4-H, & Much, Much More | I Have Been Busy! | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

