Readers’ Responses To “A Recap Of Pride 2014”

I guess you could call this the recap of your responses to the recap of my Pride 2014 posts. However, I will not be posting a recap of the recap of the recap.

Confused yet?

Yeah, me too.

Anyway. On the first of this month I asked for your suggestions and thoughts on my Pride 2014 posts. Now I think it’s time to discuss those comments and how they will affect what I post on my blog in the future – because they will! That was the whole point of asking my readers: I want to know what you think and now I want to show you that I pay attention to what you think.

But before I talk about your thoughts and ideas, I’d like to thank everyone who commented. As promised, here’s a shout-out to Thomas @ The Quiet Voice, magicfishy @ The Magic Fishy, kiwiyoungwriter @ Ripped Out Pages, Miss Alexandrina @ Miss Alexandrina, Miriam Joy @ Miriam Joy Writes, Matt @ The Little Engine That Couldn’t, T.T. Kesley @ Tara Therese, Cori @ My Marbles, and wondrousadventurer @ Wanderer On The Sands Of Time.

Further thanks are due to the non-bloggers: eviline_lunette, Holly Alexandra, MOHE, and Mom.

Now it’s time to discuss the comments I received! In the recap, I split my LGBTQ+ posts into the following broad categories:

  • Writing
  • Current events
  • Fandoms
  • Advice
  • Personal

Then I asked which types of posts you enjoyed, and if there were any that you didn’t care for. Well, guess what? Many people liked all the types – and even when some people expressed no particular interest in one of the categories, just as many people requested more posts of that type.

Essentially, you want me to keep writing all five types of posts listed above. There were definitely suggestions for additional types of posts (and I’ll talk about them in a moment), but there weren’t any demands for me to stop writing any posts. I was kind of hoping for such results, but I asked anyway because I didn’t know what you wanted. For all I knew, maybe everyone loathed a certain type of post!

That evidently wasn’t the case, however, so I’ll definitely keep writing LGBTQ+ posts related to writing, current events, fandoms, advice, and my personal experiences.

Now I’d like to talk about your suggestions and other observations.

+ One commenter liked the prolific quality of my Pride posts: “I love how you’ve covered such a wide range of topics, ranging from political to personal. I feel like that just shows how LGBTQ+ issues matter in so many different areas: no one can confine them to just one spectrum of life.”

+ Many people liked my Pride flag made out of LGBTQ+ YA books. Maybe I should use that idea again in the future when I talk about more queer literature?

+ Someone asked for a post about how I would write an LGBTQ+ whose sexual orientation and/or gender identity is different from my own. I can answer that right now, actually: I’d write them just as I would write any other kind of character. This idea has also been covered in a previous post.

+ One commenter explained that she’s most interested in discussions of fandom and LGBTQ+ characters in fiction because they often help her to find queer-themed books and films that she did not know about before.

+ The same person – one of my international followers – also noted that although she is not disinterested in current events, she isn’t as interested in such posts if they’re about issues specific to my state or even to my country. They simply aren’t relevant to her life. I thought this was an excellent point, and one I hadn’t really considered before. So, I’ll try to write more about global LGBTQ+ news from now on.

+ People like it when I talk about lessons learned from my own LGBTQ+ experiences.

+ People read my ultra-long LGBTQ+ posts! And they love them! I’m very happy about this because I understand that feeling of, “Oh man, I love this blogger’s writing, but this post keeps going on and on and on…” One guy even thought that my “Should You Write Only What You Know?” post should have been Freshly Pressed – you have no idea just how much that made my day!

+ “Just keep doing what you’re doing, but with a few more Game of Thrones-related posts thrown in.” Don’t worry, I will. I meant to write one last month and then I got so busy with other posts! But a Game of Thrones post is definitely on my to-do list – in fact, I’d love to write a post about queer characters in multiple fantasy works. Or maybe I’ll fangirl about just Renly and Loras.

+ One commenter suggested that I post about bi and trans issues more often – and she’s right.

+ The same girl (and a guy) also suggested that I write about LGBTQ+ movies and TV shows. YES. I actually looked through Netflix’s selection of queer-themed films and shows the very next evening. Aside from Torchwood (a Doctor Who spinoff), I haven’t watched very many. But I totally should!

+ Finally, the same two people also suggested that I consider reviewing LGBTQ+ books (in addition to all my analyze-y fandom-y posts, that is). YES YES YES. That idea has actually been rattling around my brain for a while now, but I wasn’t sure if anyone would be interested – so I’m super-glad that you requested it!

I’m most excited to start incorporating the final two ideas. I definitely want to make LGBTQ+ book reviews (of both fiction and nonfiction) a regular feature, and will probably do the same with review of queer movies/TV shows once I’ve watched more.

I love writing LGBTQ+ posts – I love writing all of my posts, but LGBTQ+ stuff means a lot to me, and your suggestions on how to make such posts were very much appreciated. So keep an eye out for future LGBTQ+ posts on Musings From Neville’s Navel, because they will feature some of your ideas and thoughts! I’m looking forward to changing and improving this blog.

P.S. You know… it’s never too late to tell me what you think. If you ever have any suggestions (for LGBTQ+ posts or other stuff), let me know in a comment!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Readers’ Responses To “A Recap Of Pride 2014”

  1. matttblack42 says:

    I cheered whenever I made an appearance. And speaking of Game of Thrones, I should mention that there’s a new (minor, but important) POV character in A Dance with Dragons that is almost definitely gay. Either that, or I just severely misinterpreted him, like I did with Sam Gamgee.

    Speaking of LGBTQ+ movies/TV shows, have you ever seen/heard of Orange is the New Black? It’s about a woman sent to prison for a crime she committed ten years ago, and there are a lot of LGBTQ+ characters, including a bisexual main character, her drug smuggling ex girlfriend and a transexual woman who is written as a person instead of just a walking punchline.

    I also liked your YA book pride flag. Since The Dream Thieves is on it, does that mean a character from The Raven Boys is going to be revealed as somewhat less straight than I thought? My bet’s on Ronan, but don’t tell me if I’m right.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Bahaha, I would too. (Cheer at myself AND you, that is. xD)
      Really? Who? I haven’t read that book yet but I don’t mind spoilers, I’m curious.

      Yep, I have! It’s on my to-watch list – yay for mainstream shows with lots of queer female characters!

      *insert Cheshire cat grin here* One of them is definitely less straight and omg his character development in that book… ❤

      P.S. The full DW series 8 trailer came out today! I thought you might like to know, if you didn't already. 🙂

      • Mom says:

        Actually, I thought Sam was gay too.

      • matttblack42 says:

        Jon Connington. I think he was mentioned a few times before, but he’s never shown up in the books until ADWD. How far are you in A Feast for Crows? Because I think Jaime talks to a cousin of his at one point. (His cousin’s a jerk.)

        I didn’t know about the trailer until you told me, and wait, was that a dinosaur walking around London? Only on Doctor Who…

    • nevillegirl says:

      I read this Tolkien biography that described how he (J.R.R., not Sam) was sometimes asked about Frodo and Sam’s relationship and he was always so baffled as to why anyone would think that… like, dude, all three books are filled with the two of them staring longingly into each other’s eyes and holding hands and basically they are perfect together.

      Also, Legolas and Gimli (the elf and the dwarf that you liked) totally end up together. Tolkien probably didn’t even realize it again, but dwarves only go to elf-land if they’re super-special.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yeah… yeah, that name sounds familiar.
      Uhhhhh… I think I made it as far as Cersei’s fling with Taena and then I just burst out laughing because it was the randomest thing ever and then I put it aside and took a break from the series. I need to read book five.

      Indeed. I wrote a post about it. (The trailer, not just the dinosaur. Although that is mentioned.)

  2. Thomas says:

    Ah, I’m so excited to read more of your LGBTQ+ posts! It’s great that you’ve taken your readers’ thoughts into consideration – I’d love to hear your thoughts on Game of Thrones as well as Harry Potter. For example, I have this one blogger friend who hates how J.K. Rowling made Dumbledore gay “after the fact”; it would be cool to hear your opinion on that, as well as many other topics. Happy writing. (:

    • nevillegirl says:

      Awesome, thanks!

      Yep, I plan to talk about ASOIAF/GOT, HP, and LotR. And maybe some other fantasy fandoms? Idk.
      And yes, the Dumbledore thing would definitely be mentioned in my post – I don’t like the retroactive representation, either. 🙂

  3. I’ll just point this out- I do have a blog. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Diversity is Difficult (For Me) | Miss Alexandrina

  5. Pingback: Reading The Rainbow | Musings From Neville's Navel

  6. Pingback: Bi The Way, It’s Bisexual Visibility Day! | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

