First Reactions To The “Doctor Who” Series Eight TV Trailer

The trailer for Doctor Who‘s eighth series has finally been released! Allow me to show my appreciation with a quote from my favorite incarnation of the Time Lord: FANTASTIC!

Several days ago, we were also provided with a definite premiere date: August twenty-third. I’m so excited – a brand-new Doctor! In just over a month!

Therefore, now is the time for a fangirly post about the upcoming series. Actually, I’ll probably write another one later in the form of a wishlist (and then I can talk about which of those hopes have and have not been confirmed). But for now, I’d like to examine the trailer.

P.S. You can find my earlier film trailer reaction posts here.

Warning: Spoilers ahead! Read/watch at your own risk!

0:06 – That is a rather pretty explosion. Just saying.

0:09 – GO AWAY. I WANT A NEW COMPANION.

0:09 – DA-LEK.

0:18 – Blergh, this is my least favorite part about the introduction of a new Doctor – the companion’s uncertainty about who he really is. In New Who it’s always been there at least a little bit, but it seems like the writers are making a big deal about it this time. Like, seriously. Get over it. He has a different face. He might be wilder than before. That’s it.

0:21 – That looks like the most uncomfortable standing position ever. Maybe he’s doing Time Lord-y stretching exercises?

0:24 – “I’m the Doctor.” Well, DUH. Can we all agree to exterminate (see what I did there?) trailers that state such ridiculously obvious stuff?

0:25 – Capaldi’s eyes, though. I look forward to a scarier Doctor.

0:26 – I swear I’ve seen this person/creature/robot/thing before?

0:27 – Oh my god, it’s like a robot Silurian! Or something!

0:29 – I would like approximately five thousand of those tentacle-eyed creatures, please. They’ll be my friends.

0:31 – Is that a Victorian London skyline?

0:37 – “Where are we going?” “Into darkness.” [Insert sigh here] Wrong fandom. This isn’t Star Trek.

0:38 – VASTRA. MY LOVE. Also, the side of Strax’s head. I’m glad he’ll be back.

0:39 – So, this scene makes me really happy – if I’m interpreting it correctly, that is. Clara is wearing a red dress and falling down a tunnel. “So what?” you say. Well, that’s what happened in “Asylum of the Daleks” and one of my weirder predictions/theories is that Clara’s timeline will loop back around to one of the events that happened to her echoes. What if she died that way multiple times?

0:41 – Oh, dear. That appears to be a tyrannosaur crashing past Parliament. I mean, dinosaurs are super-cool (and I’m sure wondrousadventurer is now bouncing up and down with excitement), but they were in an episode last series too. Isn’t it a bit soon for a repeat?

0:44 – Ooh, I’ve seen this bit before from behind-the-scenes pictures: Eleven rides around in his pajamas because… why not?

0:51 – No, no, no! If the answer is, “I don’t know,” then the question shouldn’t be, “Clara, tell me. Am I a good man?” The question should be “Can Jenna Coleman actually act?” I’m sorry, but her acting was so wooden in that scene. Like, there is a problem when a secondary character (who is also a freaking potato) has more personality than the current companion.

0:55 – DOOOOO WHEEEEE OOOOH!

Well, that’s it for my trailer reactions – it was a short trailer, so there really wasn’t very much to react to. But I do have a few more thoughts that didn’t fit anywhere else in this post:

  • It was confirmed that this series will not be split into two parts, as was done with series seven. I’m excited to see all the episodes without that weird mid-series hiatus!
  • There will be a new companion named Danny Pink but he wasn’t shown in the trailer so I’m guessing that he plays a fairly minor role. But this is all just my speculation.
  • River Song was not shown in the trailer, so I wonder if her final appearance was in “The Name of the Doctor.” Honestly, I would be OK with that – or if she appeared with Twelve once and then left for good. She’s an interesting character, but I think it’s time to move on.

I’m really excited for the new series of Doctor Who! Of course, there are some things that make me apprehensive – namely, the rumors that Capaldi might leave after only one series – but otherwise, I AM SO LOOKING FORWARD TO AUGUST TWENTY-THIRD. I miss that mad man with a box!

What are your thoughts about the series eight trailer?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to First Reactions To The “Doctor Who” Series Eight TV Trailer

  1. wondrousadventurer says:

    Since you specifically gave me a shoutout I have to respond now: NO. NO IT IS NOT TOO SOON FOR MORE DINOSAURS.
    ALL THE DINOSAURS.
    Plus I mean, “Dinosaurs on a Spaceship” was in some ways false advertising, seeing as it prominently featured pterodactyls. Which are not dinosaurs…

    /paleontology rant over

    As for my thoughts on the other bits of the trailer… it amuses me how different an impression different people can get from the same brief clips! Maybe it’s because I’m actually quite the Clara Oswald fan (I might put her in my top 10 companions?), but I actually became very optimistic about how her relationship with Twelve looks to be painting itself. I guess come August we’ll just have to see who’s right! (Although given that, from her other episodes, we’ve already got such differing opinions on Clara, I wouldn’t be surprised if we still didn’t agree. xD)

    But I don’t know, I was thinking about making a Series 8 post (spurred, of course by the trailer), of a different kind myself. In any case, I agree with one thing for sure — August 23rd can’t come fast enough!

    • nevillegirl says:

      *gigglesnort* I knew you’d be excited about the dinosaurs.
      *blinks* Pterodactyls aren’t dinosaurs? MY WHOLE LIFE IS A LIE. Do enlighten as to what they are.

      Ahaha, then we are pretty different! I almost dislike Clara more than Amy now – and I absolutely can’t stand Amy. I feel like Clara had a lot of potential at first but now she’s just so bland? I feel like during the last few series, the companions have played smaller and smaller roles in the story. Rose, Martha, and Donna (gosh, even WILF – and he only had two episodes) shared the spotlight with the Doctor but Clara just sort of tags along.
      …I’m really hoping she’ll change with the introduction of Twelve but I don’t think that will actually happen.

      *starts petition for Strax to be the next companion*

  2. themagicviolinist says:

    O.M.G. I SO wish I had BBC!

    I wish they’d taken the opportunity to get a new companion when they got a new Doctor. 😛 Maybe she will fall back into the asylum, and that’s how they’ll get rid of her!

    YAY!!! 😀 Strax is back! (He’s one of my favorite minor characters.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      *patpat* Sometimes you can find the episodes on YouTube shortly after they air, although they’re usually removed within a few days due to copyright violation. xD But hey, it works.

      I agree. I want someone different. I would be extremely happy about the new companion, Danny, except that I keep hearing that he might be a love interest for Clara now that the Doctor is/looks older. Just. No.

      I like Strax. I have basically resigned myself to the fact that if I were an alien, I’d be Strax.
      Also I’m just really looking forward to seeing more stuff with Vastra & Jenny! They’re an adorable couple. ❤

  3. wondrousadventurer says:

    Pterodactlys are pterosaurs, which are actually something completely different. After your velociraptor comment on my blog I made up my mind to do a post on dinosaurs in fiction, so I’ll go into more detail whenever that goes up! 😀

    I guess my feelings on Clara can be summed up thusly: I really like sweet companions. Companions who we see caring for other people, who aren’t necessarily as loud and “present”, and who just… have a certain attitude about them that I can’t quite get into words. Rory Pond was a pretty good example too (and I love him as well). But one reason I’ve become such a Clara-supporter is that she seems to be getting a LOT of flak from people just for being a “sweet” companion. Because we hadn’t seen a (female) one in New Who yet, and after a slew of Roses, Donnas, and Rivers (most of whom I still like quite a lot in their own right — just for different reasons), it seems like the minute a “sweet” companion shows up she’s immediately decried as “unfeminist”.
    I think feminist companions are really, really important, but I also think Clara’s a strong character who’s just as important as her predecessors — and therefore that she is one anyways. But it feels like because she has a different kind of strength (and personally, the kind of strength that I have — if I have any, I suppose — because I think she may be the companion in all of Who that I feel the most similar to), people can’t seem to see it. The point of feminism isn’t to turn every woman into, say, Donna Noble — otherwise I certainly wouldn’t be a feminist! It’s to tell women like Donna Noble that they’re wonderful and amazing. And I think the same goes for Clara Oswald. But for some reason, people are upset about Clara not being Donna, and that’s not exactly fair.

    (I’m also really bothered by the way people interpret her “Impossible Girl” plot — saying that it was in favor of the idea is like saying that Romeo and Juliet is an example of a healthy, well-adjusted romance. The plot device was used entirely to expose the flaws inherent in the idea. Which I thought was really wonderful. Not to mention, it reminds me a lot of one of my favorite EDA companions, Sam Jones, who I suppose one could say was the “original” Impossible Girl. Sam and Clara are similar in a lot of ways, I think they’d get on quite well.).

    I don’t know — I guess I shouldn’t be surprised. “Sweet” girl companions have never been well-treated by the fandom. Clara’s just the most recent in a long line of ladies who are seen as “weak” or “boring” or “shallow” by most critics just for being a bit nice: Victoria Waterfield, Melanie Bush, Nyssa of Traken, Jo Grant… (especially the last one. *shakes fist at Christopher Eccleston*)

    …so. That got really long, but it’s my two cents as best as I can express it.

    (And I agree: Strax is fantastic. I can’t wait for more Paternoster gang in general — they’re all supposed to be showing up, right?)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Looking forward to that post! 🙂

      But Rose IS a sweet companion, though. There are a lot of parallels between Rose and Clara, really.

      Well, I definitely disagree with the idea that being sweet and very (stereotypically) girly makes one unfeminist. Feminism is about choices and if someone doesn’t want to be all Donna-Noble-ish and kind of loud-mouthed and rebellious, that’s fine.
      So I don’t mind that Clara’s sweet. I don’t think she’s boring because she’s nice; I think she’s boring because she’s boring.
      Look at Sansa Stark. A LOT of people hate on her and prefer her sister because Arya is out slashing people with swords. Sansa is ladylike and demure and – at least in the first book – is always daydreaming about gallant knights. She’s VERY sweet.
      She’s also a well-written character. She’s interesting! I don’t mind sweet characters who are always polite and who sit around doing needlework (something Sansa does a lot in AGoT xD) but her plotline is actually fascinating.
      Like, there was literally a fan theory that Clara Oswald was a robot, before “The Name of the Doctor.” She was so dull that people thought she was just a machine. :/

  4. Pingback: 10 Story-Line Set-Ups That Will Shape Eighth Season of Doctor Who | Musings of a Mild Mannered Man

  5. Pingback: Doctor Who: 7 Reasons Why Peter Capaldi’s Doctor Shouldn’t Be Dark | Musings of a Mild Mannered Man

  6. It makes me happy that you have such happy and esploding reactions to these things. Mine can be summed up in one sentence: “oh, that’s cool.”
    (My inability to fangirl is obvious in the things I most love)
    Your comments are just so *yay* that I’d have to pick them all before choosing a favourite. Hmm. Nope I think this one tops them all because it’s so correct: “Like, there is a problem when a secondary character (who is also a freaking potato) has more personality than the current companion.” Go, potatoes!

  7. Hmm.
    While I have become somewhat disenchanted with Clara because of Moffat’s STUPIDLY HATEFUL HORRIBLY SEXIST writing skills, I still like her, and I do think that if Jenna was given a more developed character, she would perform outstandingly. I blame Moffat for most things, honestly. However, the girls from before season five are my favorites, obviously. But I still like Clara, and Amy is…okay.
    As for Vastra returning…ALL OF THE YES. I’m so happy that we get more of her and Jenny. They’re so cute. (I still want to punch Eleven for kissing Jenny like what’s up with that dude?)
    Strax is great. Enough said.
    But yes, I really have high expectations for this series, for some reason. I just…I always have high expectations for series following the death of a Doctor. So…yeah.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I would probably like Clara a lot more if she weren’t written by Moffat. I mean… Jenna Coleman would probably be a much better actress if she were given more to work with, you know? But there’s so little going on with that character. 😦

      VASTRA AND JENNY ARE SO CUTE I CAN’T EVEN

  8. I actually think of it in my head as: “Classic Who,” “New Who,” and “Moffat Who.” Because Moffat’s Who is just So. Different. I feel like RTD did a much better job of characters; sure, sometimes the plotlines were kinda weird and far-fetched, but I cared about the characters. And that was what mattered. I honestly don’t blame the actors. They could be really, really good. I mean, Moffat just isn’t a great guy for character building. I’m sorry, he’s not.

    I’m definitely looking forward to what 12 has to offer, though! 😀

    • nevillegirl says:

      EXACTLY. I’ll admit, sometimes Davies’ plotlines /were/ weird. But I felt like he actually worked hard to develop the characters, to make sure that the audience cared about the characters. With Moffat… well, most of the characters are boring, and many of his women characters are way too similar.

      I’ve been told that I like RTD Who because I don’t like Moffat Who, but it’s not like that at all. I think BOTH writers had issues, sometimes. But Moffat had far more issues. (And sometimes he’s just plain offensive. RTD’s mistakes were writing-related. Moffat’s are more like “LOL haha insert sexist joke here.” What even.

      • The main problem I have with Moffat is his sexist jokes. I mean “The Thin One and the Fat One”? Really? NOT. FUNNY.

        And in Midnight, whoever wrote that episode (I think RTD?) made Sky (I think that was her name?… it’s been a while) refer to her ex with she/her pronouns. I mean, I’m stealing this from someone on Tumblr, but RTD’s future was always very progressive and accepting. Moffat’s future… not so much.

        Huh, I liked both–in fact when RTD wrote mainly, Moffat’s were some of the best episodes, in my opinion! So it’s not I have a problem with Moffat Who because it’s not RTD Who–I love both! Just… Moffat I think does better in small quantities, that’s all.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I don’t see that joke as sexist, but… it still is offensive, imo, because he was once again using queer people as comic relief. Ergh. :/

      Yes yes yes! You’re right about that, although I didn’t notice that pronoun detail that the first time around either. I guess I just feel like RTD included, for example, LGBTQ+ people because it’s realistic to. Because such people exist.
      Moffat includes them so they can be the butt of jokes. Don’t get me wrong, I adore Vastra and Jenny and I ship them really really hard and they’re so cute together buuuut… I hate how they’re often used as just comic relief.

      I have kind of the same problem with Moffat and race, when it comes to minority representation. RTD had Mickey and Martha, and Martha especially was awesome. Yay for intelligent, well-educated black women – setting positive examples and all that. Moffat? Um… I’m pretty sure the only semi-major PoC character in his Who was Mel, AKA River’s second regeneration. And she wasn’t even around for very long. Now there’s going to be a new companion and he’s black, but that doesn’t really make up for the long times when there weren’t any such companions.)

      Exactly. I actually loved the occasional times when Moffat wrote. “The Empty Child / The Doctor Dances” and other episodes were amazing. For heaven’s sake, my favorite DW episodes are “Silence in the Library / Forest of the Dead.” I just don’t like it when Moffat’s in charge, that’s all.

      Ooh, I hope you’ll like one of my upcoming posts. It’s a wishlist for DW, series eight. 😀

      (Also, I noticed that your WordPress avatar has a picture of the NaNo logo… if you don’t mind me asking, what’s your username on the main NaNo site, and the YWP site, if you’re on there too? 🙂 Mine is nevillegirl, on both sites.)

  9. Pingback: The Clock Strikes Twelve (A Wishlist For “Doctor Who,” Series Eight) | Musings From Neville's Navel

  10. Pingback: Five Things To Do While You Wait For The Eighth Series Of “Doctor Who” | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

