Movie Night With Nevillegirl

Today, I’m participating in Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke And The Bookish! Normally the prompts are about, well, BOOKS. Every so often, however, they like to change things around and post a top ten about something else. This week the topic is “top ten favorite movies or TV shows.”

I’ve actually meant to write a post like this for a while, so how could I not jump in? I don’t often watch movies but when I do I always think, “I should do this more often!” Following are ten movies I adore, listed in no particular order. [Bestows virtual popcorn upon you]Enjoy!

1. Jurassic Park

DINOSAURS, people. Dinosaurs! How can anyone not love this movie?! It has the perfect mix of adrenaline-filled action scenes and awe-inspiring moments, PLUS one of the most gorgeous film scores ever. I really think John Williams was at his absolute best when he created that main theme.

P.S. If you adore the movie or just want to read an amazing story, try the original book by Michael Crichton. There is plenty of technical science-y jargon to get through, but don’t give up: It really pays off in the end. The book explores a lot of ideas that the movie only barely touched upon, and the ending is SOOOO different.

2. Miss Congeniality

This movie is completely ridiculous. And guess what? I love it! I’ve seen it so many times that I’ve lost count. It’s about an FBI agent who goes undercover at the Miss United States beauty pageant after an unknown person threatens to blow up the winner.

My dad quotes Monty Python; I quote Miss Congeniality. In fact, although my brother complains about the movie, we’ve seen it numerous times together and he always giggles at the dorky quoting marathon that follows: “Hey! I’m gliding here!”

THG-stills-the-hunger-games-movie-29947816-500-325[1]3. The Hunger Games

I feel like the only person in the world who loved this movie more than its sequel! Catching Fire was good but… honestly… I never like the middle parts of trilogies because they’re usually at that weird lull-in-the-action phase.

Anyway. The Hunger Games, while not a perfect adaptation, comes pretty close. I loved seeing Panem onscreen – oh, that contrast between the poor of District 12 and the freakishly-rich (and freakish-looking) Capitol citizens!

P.S. Here’s a big thanks to James Newton Howard for writing a beautiful film score!

4. The Fellowship of the Ring

Oh wow, this movie. It is my favorite book-to-film adaptation EVER and buying the extended edition boxed set was totally worth it. The Fellowship of the Ring is super-long but I don’t mind because it just keeps getting better and better.

What’s not to love about this movie? It’s remarkably accurate to the book. Its great panoramic shots are a feast for the eyes. And its film score is beautiful!

5. Despicable Me

Villains plus animation plus a children’s movie? Bring it on! This has to be one of the most bizarre children’s movies I’ve ever seen. (That’s a good thing, by the way.) I giggled throughout the entire thing, wished I had minions of my own, and was very happy that some weirdo decided that kids’ movies need more villains.

Carl-and-Ellie-Up6. Up

I expected Up to be yet another lousy, irritating children’s movie. You know, the kind with fart jokes every two seconds, the kind that makes you wonder why you bothered to watch it.

But it wasn’t. Up was actually very well-written, very sweet, and sometimes very sad. It’s a kids’ movie that isn’t about kids and I think that made all the difference.

Also, it made me want to float away in a wildly colorful house. Who’s with me?!

7. Rear Window

It’s time for another big thank-you, but this one is for my mom and dad: Thanks for showing me so many Alfred Hitchcock films when I was little! All the ones I’ve seen were deliciously creepy, but this one was the most so. (Even more so than The Birds, in my opinion!) The plot centers around a man who slowly becomes convinced that his neighbor murdered his wife and buried her in the apartments’ yard. It’s a bit slow to start, but stick with it because the suspense just keeps growing!

8. Captain America

The Avengers was funny and Thor had gorgeous music, but Captain America is by far my favorite Marvel movie. He’s my favorite superhero! And he has a great origin story! (Unlike Iron Man’s, which was just… zzzzz.)

I like how different Captain America is from the other movies in the series. The others all take place in the modern day – and I’d prefer to watch something that’s set in a different time. Even if it is, ahem, not quite historically accurate. But we’re not worried about that, are we?

untitled43t43t49. The Dark Knight

Another superhero movie! To my knowledge, this is the only DC Comics movie I’ve ever seen. The movies on this list aren’t in any certain order, but this definitely makes the top three.

Sometimes I love sweet, dorky movies like Despicable Me and Up. But sometimes I love incredibly dark, violent, and intense movies: The Dark Knight delivers on all three counts. It actually reminds me of Game of Thrones in a weird way. They’re both about a world that is out of control, where no one is ever completely safe.

10. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part I

The only worthwhile film of the bunch, in my opinion. I LOATHED the previous movies and had very low expectations for Part I… so I was blown away by the amazing-ness of this movie. People complain about the decision to split the final book into two films, but I think it was a great choice. For once, the filmmakers were actually able to include almost everything from the original story!

-~-

Feel free to join in the link-up! What are your favorite movies? Do you like any of the movies listed here?

P.S. Lately I’ve been thinking about going to see How To Train Your Dragon 2. Any thoughts? Was it as good as the first?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Harry Potter, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Movie Night With Nevillegirl

  1. Cori says:

    I loved at lot of those as well. 😀 Up and Despicable Me are awesome, okay. Also, Despicable Me 2 is awesome. I watched Jurassic Park a few weeks ago and was scared out of my pants, but it was awesome!
    And How To Train Your Dragon 2 was just as good as the first movie, if not better. It was seriously amazing.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I JUST REALLY LOVE KIDS’ MOVIES OK

      I know, right? I’ve seen Jurassic Park several times now and even though I /know/ that certain characters will make it to the end alive, I still wince during the velociraptor scenes. I’m so glad those creatures don’t exist today! xD

      *SQUEEEEEEEEE* Yay! I’d love to see HTTYD2 sometime this week, although I don’t know if that will be possible since I’m working so much at the moment.

      • Cori says:

        ME TOO THEY ARE SILLY BUT REALLY DEEP AND AWESOME SOMETIMES
        And I didn’t know anything. My older siblings told me I’d be scared, so I went in armed with icecream and popcorn, but I was still terrified. The velociraptor scene was truly scary. And the scene where the little boy is on the fence and I’m screaming, ‘JUMP!’ If they did I think I’d build myself an indestructible fort and take some cookies and badgers and hide in it until they went extinct.
        Eh, work is overrated. Go see the movie instead. Though, as the others have said, be armed with tissues. I was bawling. But it was amazing.

    • nevillegirl says:

      SURPRISINGLY DEEP KIDS’ MOVIES ARE THE BEST
      (I like how we’re having a shouting-discussion. xD)

      Ahaha, I wish I could skip work. 😛

  2. Mo says:

    I will happily float away with you in a wildly colored house. And maybe even watch some movies while we’re in the sky.

  3. We have rather similar movie taste, wow! Have you also seen Despicable Me 2? It was pretty good, though some parts were a bit out of place… I would still give it a watch if you liked the first one 🙂

    And yessss you must go see HTTYD 2!! I wouldn’t say it was BETTER than the first one, but it definitely was a good sequel and I enjoyed it a lot (except for when I was sobbing into my popcorn… You’ll know what I mean if you watch it). So yeah, I would totally give it a watch!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ahaha, that’s awesome that we have similar taste in movies! 🙂
      I have seen Despicable Me 2 and… it wasn’t quite as good as the first, but it was still pretty good. Both for a sequel and for a sequel to a kids’ movie. (When I love kids’ movies I absolutely adore them. But there are plenty that I can’t stand. Cloudy With A Chance Of Meatballs? UGH. It was TERRIBLE.)

      Awesome, yay! (Although…. sad parts in the movie? *prepares self* 😦 )

      • There just isn’t a way in the world to beat the first Despicable Me, it was just too good. (And I’m the same, I’m such a sucker for all the kiddy animated movies coming out, even my younger sister doesn’t get as into them as I do! I totally feel the way about Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs, I think it was a bit too… exaggerated? If that’s the right word? I dunno, somehow it didn’t click with me as well as some other movies.)

        Tell me what you think when you see it! 😀 (They’re horrifyingly sad, you better prepare yourself if you’re going to even come out of there having barely survived the feelings)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Exactly.
      (It was nothing like the book. The book told a better story in just 32-ish pages!)

      OK, I will! 🙂

      • *adds to To Be Read list*

        Good move on your part indeed 😛

      • wondrousadventurer says:

        Woah woah woah. I’ve always been a bit of an oddball with some of my fictional tastes but… tell me, honestly — should I be ashamed to admit that I actually really loved Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs?

        I mean, I didn’t love everything about it, but… that movie makes me incredibly happy. I think it’s partially personal experience though, and that might make the difference. My family often discusses the fact that the main character is pretty much… well… me. In a nutshell.

        I’ve never heard anybody else talk about it before though — I didn’t realize it was something if a bad movie! Oh dear, I may have to analyze some of my life choices here… xD

    • nevillegirl says:

      Well… I guess if you’d never read the book, maybe it was a good movie? But it was NOTHING like the original story and I hate when movies don’t even attempt to be good adaptations. :/

      • *cough* Percy Jackson *cough* … I think what really bugs me about those movies is that they had a chance to make them really good because the books are really good, but then… Well, obviously they didn’t D:

      • Cori says:

        I liked the Cloudy With A Chance of Meatballs movies as well. Because I didn’t associate them with the books. They just took a simple idea and made two things out of it: a movie and a book and they were completely different. So no, you ain’t alone. That movie makes me pretty darn happy too because it’s an awesome movie, just isn’t a good adaption of the book and I don’t think they really tried to make it a good adaption.

        • wondrousadventurer says:

          Ahhh, Cori described it perfectly — because yes, I have read the book. And usually I’m a stickler for book-to-movie accuracy and don’t like adaptations in general. But I thought of the movie as being more “inspired by” the book (which didn’t really have enough plot to be a movie anyway) — they worked in the general idea, and some of the iconic scenes (like the pancake on the school!), but created their own story. I always thought of the movie as more of a clever homage. Just like How To Train Your Dragon!

    • nevillegirl says:

      @thatnerdyartaddict: Agreed. I understand that the entire book’s story can’t fit into a two-hour-ish movie, but… there wasn’t any need to change as many things as they did! For heaven’s sake, the filmmakers had the story already written for them. -_-

    • nevillegirl says:

      @ Cori / wondrousadventurer:

      True, true. I’ve never read HTTYD (should I?) but I keep hearing that the movie, while excellent, is soooo different from the book.

      And…. I did rather like Steve from CWACOM. Steeeeeeeeeve. 😀

      • wondrousadventurer says:

        Yeah, the difference between the HTTYD books and movies is even bigger than CWACOM, I’s say. But they’re both awfully cute.

        My little sister quotes Steve all the time. xD

  4. Erin says:

    OMG You HAVE to go see How To Train Your Dragon 2! It was just as good as the first one, if not better. Also, bring tissues. There is an absolutely heart-breaking scene that left me crying for most of the second half of the movie.

    Oh, and great list! 🙂

  5. matttblack42 says:

    Wait a minute: Jurassic Park was based on a book? This changes everything.

    I liked all the movies here that I’ve seen, though I’d probably pick the Prisoner of Azkaban over The Deathly Hallows. (If only Alfonso Cuaron had directed all the HP movies.) Although The Deathly Hallows: Part 1 was my second favorite of the HP movies.

    Is it weird that I only didn’t like most of the Pixar movies until I was much older than the intended audience? I didn’t like Up and Toy Story 3 when I first watched it, but they’re one of my favorites now.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Indeed. *shoves a copy of the book at you and say READ IT*

      Ahaha, to each their own – I disliked PoA probably because that was my favorite book of the series so I was even more upset about all the changes to it.

      I love Toy Story too! I don’t think I’ve seen the third (only the first and maybe the second) but when I saw Toy Story, oh, probably a year ago now I was surprised at how much I liked it, even though I’m way past the intended audiences’ age.

  6. Cait says:

    BASICALLY: I LOVE YOUR LIST. Sorrynotsorry for the all-caps, I get very passionate sometimes. xD But yesss to The Dark Knight. The Batman trilogy is the only thing I like out of DC’s films and I’m kind of mortified that they’re already replacing Batman. 😦 I like the trilogy as is. (Superman sent me to sleep and that never ever happens.) Up is a glorious movie and so sweet..actually so sad. That silent musical bit with Karl and Ellie’s life was the saddest most sweet thing ever. And the music! I love the Up music. Also The Hunger Games soundtrack is bliss. John Newton Howard is an amazing composer. I quote Miss Congeniality with my sister all. the. time. Omg, that is the most outrageous wonderful movie in the world. When I annoy Mime and she’s like, “Oh I could really murder you right now.” I go, “Just so long as you smile.” and then we bust out laughing. XD

    • nevillegirl says:

      They’re replacing Batman?! (Have you heard that there’s new version of Thor and Captain America? :D)
      I’ve never seen Superman, actually.

      OH MY GOD THAT BIT MAKES ME SO SAD.

      *squeals because yay yay yay Cait and Mime like Miss Congeniality too!*

  7. wondrousadventurer says:

    Oh goodness, I really need to watch Captain America, don’t I? (I’ve been meaning to for forever…)

    The movie I agree with wholeheartedly here is Jurassic Park (and you’ve read the book, huzzah!) I might take up this particular challenge on my own blog, and if I do it’ll pretty certainly make the list. It’s just so… gahhh. Dinosaurs and fabulous scientists and excellent dialogue and really great and non-annoying child characters and lovely cinematography.
    …I really love Jurassic Park.

    Up is really sweet too. I have did memories of going to see it in the theaters with my dad and sisters. And alternating between laughter and sobbing the whole time. It’s very unique in a lot of respects, but the things it does with your emotions are a masterpiece in themselves.

    Although book-to-movie adaptations also feature highly on your list, and I’m ashamed to say that I just never seem to be able to enjoy them (teach me your secrets!)
    The only notable exception I can think of is that The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe was actually quite wonderful. (Now if only they hadn’t butchered the next books… *sighs*) And, if I recalls correctly, Holes.

    • nevillegirl says:

      YES YOU SHOULD.

      I love both the book and the movie, for very different reasons. The movie is more of this fantastical kids’ thing, and the book is much much darker. But… somehow that works? I guess enough of the original story was kept and really just the ending was changed.

      *nodnod* Up really messed with my emotions.

      I enjoy some of them. But I loathe plenty more. xD And I loved The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe too! But Prince Caspian was terrible. (I disliked it so much that I never bothered to watch The Voyage of the Dawn Treader even though it’s my favorite of the series.)

      • wondrousadventurer says:

        I thought that Dawn Treader was significantly better than Caspian, but the biggest problem was that since all the characters carry over between the two, too much was screwed up already to redeem it. Like — their Caspian never worked for me, and there are a couple things that didn’t seem quite right about their Reepicheep. And so their characters were just as messed up and the movie was set up for me to dislike it before they even finished making it!

        They also added a kind of weird subplot to it which was… ehhh. *iffy hand-gesture* If the rest of the movie had been better I might have let it pass, but it also screwed with the order of a couple plot things which bothered me.

        The one thing I will praise — their Eustace was really wonderful, which made me happy. Eustace is a great character, but far too easy to screw up and I don’t think they did.

        (But yes — Dawn Treader is by far my favorite of the books, but movie-wise I really only enjoy TLTWaTW).

    • nevillegirl says:

      *sighs* I can understand that feeling. I think that’s why the later HP movies were SO screwed up – at some point, they had to stick with all the meh stuff they’d used for the earlier movies.

      Eustace IS a great character. That scene where he turns into a dragon? One of my favorites from the entire series.

  8. Pingback: Wanderer on the Sands of Time

  9. Oh my god yes you should definitely watch How To Train Your Dragon 2. You know how usually, the sequel to a really good movie kinda falls short of the bar its predecessor sets? HTTYD2 is as good as (if not better than) the first movie. The animation is awesome, all the characters are treated with respect (and no sexualization of female characters at all!), the script is hella good… It definitely levels with HTTYD in terms of sheer epicness.

    Like seriously yes you should watch it trust me it’s worth the money.

    After looking over this comment I have concluded that I fangirl too much about stuff I like oh god I’m so sorry

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yes yes, I certainly know that feeling. xD So I’m glad that apparently HTTYD2 is not like that. I look forward to watching it… I wonder if I’d be able to see it on Saturday. I don’t have much going on that day. Hmmm…

      Oh god, don’t even worry about it. I’ve written a TON of blog posts that were basically just fangirling. xD

      • Yes yes go watch it (but bring tissues if you cry easily at movies and stuff that I can’t say bc spoilers but it hurts)

        Have you seen my fandom-related posts I feel like my blog has slowly gone from a writing/crafting blog into basically Tumblr

    • nevillegirl says:

      I /do/ cry easily at movies, actually.

      Like all your Doctor Who posts? Yes, indeed. I loved them.

  10. Cogaroo says:

    You *definitely* should watch How To Train Your Dragon 2. I was so obsessed with the first one, I never thought the second would live up to my expectations, but it actually surpassed them. But yes…bring tissues. The movies are way different than the books, and this is really the only case where I’ll say I liked the movie better. 🙂 I agree with you on liking those sweet animated movies, but I don’t like anything dark (other than Hunger Games.) *eats virtual popcorn*

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ahaha, that’s what I was thinking – that the sequel just couldn’t live up to my expectations. But based on all the positive comments towards it that I’ve seen here, I now look forward to it even more thanbefore!

      I think dark movies are an acquired taste. I don’t like very many of them, but when I do, I ADORE them. 🙂

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

