My 2014 4-H Fair Results Are In!

I wrote about my 4-H projects in 2012 and 2013, so why not write about them this year as well? But this time, I won’t devote three posts to my projects – in the past, I’ve written two about photography (one each for the selected black and white and color photos) and one about all my other projects.

However, I’ve been at the county fair, surrounded by hundreds of 4-H projects, for at least ten days now. I’d love to share my results with you, but I really don’t feel the need to spend lots and lots and lots of time talking about 4-H since that’s what I do all day at my new job.

So. Here are my results!

But first, a quick note about what my scores mean. An A is equivalent to the same letter grade used in American schools – basically, everyone wants at least an A. An A Honor is like an A plus, so it’s a little more special.

All A Honor projects are eligible to become Champions (best in your division of the project – for example, my division includes all members in grades nine through twelve) or Reserve Champions (second best in division). Champions are eligible to be Grand Champions (best out of EVERYONE in the project) and Reserve Grand Champions (second best).

I hope that made sense.

Anyway.

Aerospace: A, Honor

Honestly, I… don’t think my model rocket should have received this grade. An A, though? Sure. I forgot to sand the fins after spray-painting them and as a result, they are as rough as sandpaper and DO NOT look good. Oh, well. I’m not going to question it. The rest of the rocket looks nice and assembling it was so much fun. I love building little things!

Holiday Ornament: A, Honor

This year, I made a Christmas tree ornament out of paper-mache. It’s roughly the size and shape of a tennis ball. I spray-painted it white and sprinkled fine blue glitter all over its surface to give the impression of a snowball. The ornament splits into two halves because it’s meant to be given as a gift – it’s big enough inside to hold a small piece of candy or maybe a pair of earrings. First it’s a package and then it’s an ornament! I’m really pleased with the idea, which I adapted from a craft book.

Personality: A, Honor, Reserve Champion

Unlike some other projects – like Aerospace, in which anything goes – Personality has strict requirements for each and every year. This year, I had to create a sample budget to show how I would manage my money for three months once I live on my own.

I’ve received higher scores in the past (Grand Champion, actually – more than once) but I’m satisfied with this year’s score because I honestly don’t care for either budgets or math.

Music: B

Ahaha. Ooops. I don’t know what happened here. Actually, wait, I do. It’s called “now that Engie doesn’t take piano lessons, she’s really slacked off in practicing.” For my performance I played the piano, choosing “In Dreams” from the movie The Fellowship of the Ring. I LOVED playing it – it’s just such a beautiful song that I never tire of hearing it.

…however, the judge did say that I need to pay more attention to tempo. Apparently my playing speeds up as I go along. Oops. Oh well, there’s always next year.

Junior Leaders: No results available

So, um, I feel like I should include this project here because I spent so much time on it. But it isn’t graded. It’s a project strictly for the older 4-Hers that involves community service and learning leadership skills. I have no idea why it’s not graded, but I’m not concerned about that because I had a good time in that project (as I always do) and that’s really the only thing that matters to me about it.

Photography: It’s complicated, but overall I received good results.

You see, I can (and did!) enter multiple exhibits in this project. First up is my post of ten color photos. It received an A Honor. The poster of ten black-and-white photos received an A.

My color salon print received an A Honor, as did my black-and-white salon print. What is a salon print, you ask? It’s an 8-inch-by-10-inch photo that has been matted but not framed. Essentially, it showcases one photo and so you’re also concerned about things like whether the matte complements the photo – which colors it brings out or which moods it evokes. Et cetera.

And wow, the A B See Photo Challenge has certainly paid even before I’ve completed all the letters! Every single photo chosen for my Photography exhibits came from an A B See Photo Challenge post. Yay!

Foods & Nutrition: A, Honor, Champion

The theme for eleventh-grade entries is “international,” so I made Chinese sesame seed cookies because A) I love to eat them (almond flavoring, yum!) and B) they’re very nice-looking so I knew I’d get points for excellent presentation.

AND THEY WON! All right, so I didn’t win first place overall. But I’m still super-happy about that result!

Creative Writing: A, Honor, Reserve Champion, Reserve Grand Champion

OH MY GOD I AM SO HAPPY! I mean, I love writing. I want to be a published author someday. But until now, I’d never received such a high award in this project. For example, last year I got an A – and that’s good, but I was hoping for better.

This year, I chose two pieces of writing for my notebook. Both were adapted from blog posts, actually: One is my double review of Malice and Havoc by Chris Wooding and the other is an essay titled, “Fantastic Fantasy.” I am really proud of both of them, especially since they’re both “creative nonfiction.” I didn’t exhibit any fiction writing this year, and at first I wasn’t sure if that was a good choice because usually fiction entries win, but in the end it turned out well. YAY!

-~-

Well, those are all of my projects. I cut back this year to only eight projects – I’ve done as many as fourteen or fifteen in the past, I believe. I’m quite happy with all my results (except for Music, but that grade just drives me to work harder).

I’m also quite happy to say that this is my tenth and final consecutive day of working! What will I do with myself on Saturday? Having free time will be odd. I suppose I’ll sleep in… and then in the evening I have yet another 4-H event. Of course.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to My 2014 4-H Fair Results Are In!

  1. Erin says:

    Goodness, the more I read about your 4-H experience, the more I realize how different our county’s 4-H programs are. My county fairs are nothing like how yours sound (we have two fairs – one is the official county fair and the other one thinks it’s the official county fair…it’s weird). Your fair sounds 100 times more awesome than mine. 😛

    Congrats on all your projects!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ahaha, “the other one thinks it’s the official county fair”? That does sound like a slightly awkward situation…

      Thank you! (Which projects did you do?)

      • Erin says:

        Indeed.

        Well, it’s hard to list ALL THE projects I took. From what it sounds, your fair’s project set-up is different than mine (or maybe it isn’t…I don’t know). We have large categories (such as photography, art, vegetables, etc.) and then under those categories there are lists of different projects you can take. For example, the photography section has about 30 different projects (like one close-up enlargement, or five pics of same subject, etc.). This means that you can sign up for A LOT of projects. I think I took about forty projects this year, but in the past, I’ve taken up to about seventy. So…yeah. It’s hard to tell you all my individual projects, but I took projects under Art, Drawing & Painting, Photography, Cakes, Home Environment, Creative Writing, Computers, and Flowers.

        Also, it’s interesting that your fair does a grading system. The projects here are given ribbons (1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, and then a Best of Show for the best project in each category). Honestly, the grading system sounds like a better idea to me.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Whoa. O_o That sound complicated… like, unnecessarily so. There are projects where members can enter more than one exhibit (Photography, Foods, Flowers, and Sewing) but the exhibit categories themselves aren’t really considered mini-projects.

      I think the livestock projects use 1st through 6th place ribbons? But I’m not completely sure because I’ve never done a project like that.

  2. Cait says:

    YOU ARE AMAZING. All those As and honours and ohhhh I’m in the presence of genius. xD And the creative writing wins are definitely awesome!!! HUZZAH AND CONGRATS TO YOUR AWESOMENESS.

  3. Mo says:

    Seemingly you are just so fabulous that you won all the awards.

    …but now I’m curious, which photos did you submit?

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

