Top Ten Characters I Would Want With Me On A Desert Island

Actual proof that desert islands are dangerous places and not much fun.

Actual proof that desert islands are dangerous places and not much fun.

Today, I’m linking up (once again) with The Broke and the Bookish for Top Ten Tuesday! This week’s prompt is “top ten characters you would want with you on a desert island.” How could I resist that?! Here are my choices.

1. Finnick Odair from the Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins

I AM RIDICULOUSLY PROUD OF MYSELF FOR THINKING OF FINNICK. I’ve read many other bloggers’ versions of this week’s prompt, and a lot of them chose Katniss for her survival skills. Well, Finnick could help me even more – he grew up around islands and water and stuff, so he really knows what to do!

2. Luz Lopez from the Kiki Strike books by Kirsten Miller

Luz may be only twelve years old, but does that stop her from being a genius inventor? No way! She could probably build a ship for me out of, like, toothpicks and string.

3. Asha Greyjoy from the A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin

BECAUSE SHE KICKS BUTT, PEOPLE! And because, once again, she has loads of experience with living on lonely little islands. They call her the Kraken’s daughter for a reason – she could sail Luz’s ship so that we’d all get home safely!

4. Lindsey Lloyd from The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M. Danforth

Serious reason: Because she’s a champion swimmer, so she could rescue me if I’m drowning. (Which is totally possible, because I’m clumsy that way.) Frivolous reason: Because she is a sarcastic lesbian and I am a sarcastic lesbian and I’m pretty sure we’d get along like a house on fire. Also, it doesn’t hurt that she’s nice to look at. (Hmm, the same could be said of Asha… I swear I’m not choosing the girls just because they’re cute!)

5. Captain Carswell Thorne from the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

He’s actually been stranded on a desert before, although it wasn’t a desert island. But close enough. And he’s a great guy – very loyal, and he’d make me laugh. Life on a desert island could get pretty dull, but Thorne would liven it up!

6. Frankie from The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart

Like Luz, she doesn’t have any experience with the sea. But also like Luz, Frankie is basically a genius. She’s clever and bold and loves to explore. Furthermore, she is incredibly good at organizing people and directing them to do tasks. This would come in handy because we all need to work together to get off the island!

7. Seth from the Malice duology by Chris Wooding

If he survived the terrifying, deadly world of Malice, he can survive anything. He’s also very loyal. Can you tell that loyalty is kind of important to me? I don’t want people to abandon me on that island!

8. Rubeus Hagrid from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

Hagrid is one tough dude. For heaven’s sake, he keeps a wide variety of deadly creatures in his freaking house AND survived his visit to a colony of dangerous giants! Plus, I’m pretty sure anything we’d need to escape the island could be found in his pockets.

9. Twoflower from The Color of Magic by Terry Pratchett

I just finished this book! Because comic relief is always a plus. And because his magic traveling chest (also known as simply The Luggage) is superb! It faithfully follows its owner everywhere, so as long as I stuck close to Twoflower, it would always be there to produce useful items from its bigger-on-the-inside interior.

10. Adina AKA Miss New Hampshire from Beauty Queens by Libba Bray

Honestly, I’d want ALL the girls from this book with me because ALL of them survived for weeks on a desert island! But if I could choose only one, I’d pick Adina, because she’s clever and calm. She would never panic in the face of danger!

Personally, I think I’ve just assembled a FANTASTIC desert-island-survival team! My brain is on fire today and I just kept thinking of better and better characters. But what do you think? What’s your opinion of my ten selections?

P.S. Leave links to your Top Ten Tuesday posts, if you’d like – I’d love to see your lists!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Top Ten Characters I Would Want With Me On A Desert Island

  1. Mo says:

    And Lindsey would be able to provide mouth-to-mouth resuscitation, as well. *eyebrow wiggle*

    Seriously, however, the characters I recognize on this list seem like good choices, though I think I might pick Jen over Adina, if it came to it. Adina didn’t seem to have very many practical survival skills.

  2. themagicviolinist says:

    OH MY GOSH FINNICK! How did I forget him?! Shame on me. 😛 That’s probably the best possible choice anyone could’ve picked. You deserve a cookie.

    *high fives* Thorne is awesome. Just saying.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Tbh, if I could pick only one person to share this island with, it would be Finnick. 🙂 *noms cookie*

      Thorne is one of my favorite fictional guys ever. 🙂

  3. Cait says:

    But…but why would you leave this island?! THERE ARE TOO MANY AWESOME PEOPLE ON IT! x) I saw a few people picking Finnick and seriously, that’s a brilliant idea. Katniss survival skills rock, of course, but yes to Finnick since he actually is a watery kind of guy. (No one picked Peeta…ha! Poor Peeta, we just know he needs protecting. XD) Thorne is totally like the literature Jack Sparrow, honestly. They’re both hilarious and somewhat narcissistic and just downright awesome.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Now that you point it out… hmmm. You’re right! I should just stay on the island with this fantastic group of characters! 😛

      Peeta is awesome, but kind of needy. xD

    • themagicviolinist says:

      LOL, Peeta was good for THG (because of the whole acting for the crowd thing that Katniss wouldn’t have been able to do on her own), but he definitely would’ve died if it weren’t for Katniss. He wouldn’t be helpful on a deserted island, unless you were in need of some cake.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Or cookies. Or pie. Or… frosting. xD

  4. Thomas says:

    From the characters I recognize on here – Finnick, Asha, Lindsey, and Hagrid – it appears that you’ve chosen characters that aren’t just your favorites. Rather, you’re choosing them out of how much they’d actually help you survive (which is totally laudable and appropriate considering the prompt of this post). Nice selection!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yep, that’s what I had in mind. I wanted everyone I chose to be useful, and whether or not they were amusing (or had lots in common with me, or whatever) came second.

      Thank you for reading and commenting!

  5. Lol, I’d want Dumbledore! I bet he could just conjure a boat out of thin air. 😛 And duplicate food. Because you can’t conjure food out of thin air. 😀 And yes, I am proud of myself for remembering that. Sort of.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

