Ten Past Posts About “Harry Potter” + One About J.K. Rowling

Today is Harry Potter’s birthday. In years past I’ve posted something Potter-related on this date, and I’d like to continue that tradition.

But at first I wasn’t sure what I wanted to write about. You see, I used to be a MAJOR fan of the series. However, my feelings towards the story during the last few years can be described thusly: “Meh.”

I don’t love the series like I once did – for a variety of reasons, some of which will probably be addressed in an upcoming blog post. But once upon a time my bookish life was ALL HARRY POTTER ALL THE TIME. Nowhere is this more obvious than in the archives of this blog: This post included, there are currently one hundred and thirteen posts in my ‘Harry Potter‘ category! Whoa!

Deathly Hallows peace symbol artwork that I made in 2012...

Deathly Hallows peace symbol artwork that I made in 2012…

So today, I’d like to highlight ten favorite past posts about a series that was, once upon a time, my favorite ever. And I’ll talk about an old post concerning its author, too!

1. August 2011 NaBloPoMo: Which Hogwarts House Would I Be In? (August 2011)

Three years later, this is still the MOST popular post ever written on Musings From Neville’s Navel. It has over fourteen thousand views and counting! (This is four thousand more than the next most popular post – last fall’s thoughts about Nico coming out.) It’s a fairly simple post, but I’d like to think that it makes an excellent point: Namely, that although I may lean towards being in a particular house, ultimately everyone is a mix of qualities from ALL the houses! And that’s a good thing!

2. Pottermore: A Review (April 2012)

Oh wow, I haven’t even logged on to Pottemore in over a year now. But at one point, I was uber-excited about the site – so I reviewed it! And complained mightily about being sorted into Ravenclaw.

3. This Easy Reader Is The Property Of The Half-Blood Prince (August 2012)

This is definitely one of my strangest (and funniest) posts of all time. I retold the story as if I were writing an easy-reader book for kindergarteners. The post comes complete with illustrations, AKA movie posters.

4. Why Harry Is Magic (September 2012)

What made the Harry Potter series a worldwide phenomenon? Much has been written in answer to that question, but the post linked to above is my take on it. In it, I list seven things that make Harry’s story a good one.

5. A Wizard Is Never Late (May 2013)

As you may have guessed from that quote in the title, I wrote this post not too long after reading Lord of the Rings. I wrote this post not too long after I began to drift away from the Harry Potter books, after I began to adore other books instead. At one point I would’ve insisted that Dumbledore was a better wizard, but in this post I came to the conclusion that they’re both pretty interesting magical dudes.

6. A Celebration Of Very “Potter” Music (July 2013)

I really love film scores, OK? And music is by far the best part of the Harry Potter film adaptations. My favorite piece is called “Obliviate” and it comes from the second-to-last movie.

7. What Would Harry Read? (August 2013)

Thanks to The Book Chewers for providing the inspiration for this post! (It was written for a link-up at their site.) I had SO MUCH FUN writing this post because it involved listing books that I thought Harry, Ron, and Hermione would love!

8. Harry Potter And The Chamber Of Sequels (September 2013)

Honestly, I don’t think we’ll ever get a sequel (or prequel) to the series. It’s still fun to daydream about, though, isn’t it? I’m not really interested in reading about Harry’s kids’ adventures at Hogwarts but I WOULD love to know more about what happened before him! I want to read about Dumbledore’s and the Marauders’ school days.

9. “Yer A Muggle Liaison, Harry.” – Teens Can Write, Too! December 2013 Blog Chain (December 2013)

The prompt said, “Which fictional world would you most like to be a part of, and what role do you think you would fulfill within it? Don’t feel that you have to stick to jobs outlined canonically in the books.” So I happily created my dream job – I’d like to improve relations between wizards and Muggles!

10. Hogwarts School of Witchcraft, Wizardry, And College (April 2014)

Because comparing one’s teachers to Hogwarts professors is a thing that every student should do. This was highly amusing to write, and I wonder who my future college teachers will remind me of.

-~-

And as promised, that one post about J.K. Rowling:

...and the original symbol, as illustrated by Mary GrandPré.

…and the original symbol, as illustrated by Mary GrandPré.

1. J.K. Rowling And “Robert Galbraith” – A Controversy (August 2013)

I still have not read her pseudonymously published novel The Cuckoo’s Calling (nor its sequel, The Silkworm, published just last month), but that didn’t stop me from writing an entire post about it. (Have you read it?)

-~-

To the bookworms out there: Are you doing anything special today to celebrate? And which of my Harry Potter-themed posts have you most enjoyed over the last few years?

Happy birthday, Harry.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Harry Potter, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ten Past Posts About “Harry Potter” + One About J.K. Rowling

  1. Cait says:

    I feel a little bit similar about The Hunger Games. I’m still a HUGE fan, but to be honest the answer to “who’s your favourite author” isn’t really Suzanne Collins. It’s Maggie Stiefvater. SO. Yus…I live in a bit denial there. x) I will never stop loving THG, but there are more books that I’m equally willing to fangirl crazily about. 😉 Lots of funny posts there, though, and omg 14,000 views?! I only recently did the sorting house quiz…YES I’M BEHIND, OKAY? I got, um, Slytherin. I was a bit shocked. And then I wasn’t shocked because it made sense. *waits for everyone to bow to me*

    • nevillegirl says:

      Maggie Stiefvater is probably my favorite author after either J.R.R. Tolkien or George R.R. Martin. 🙂

      IKR? 14K is huge for me. O_o

      YAYAYAYAYAY SLYTHERIN! *welcomes you* *tosses green glitter at you* (And what house was Mime, if I may ask?)

  2. Yes, I feel the same way. Harry Potter used to be my whole world. In fact, my fifth-grade teacher actually bought me a book, because all I would read was just Harry Potter, over, and over, and over again. I LOVE Harry Potter, don’t get me wrong. I just reread Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, and I wholeheartedly enjoyed it. But it’s not at my “level” of reading anymore. I’m in high school now, and it’s really a setback to keep reading something I first read in third or fourth grade. It’s not fair to me, or my seemingly-Ravenclaw brain. (No, I don’t think Luna’s glasses are weird… but then I also don’t comb my hair. But Pottermore sorted me into Ravenclaw, which I THINK is right.) It’ll always have a special place in my heart. I can still ramble on about it (FOREVVERRRRR…. just ask my mom), but new books and even TV shows have taken its place. Currently, my two “favorites” are Cinder (Marissa Meyer) and What’s Left of Me (Kat Zhang). But the thing I could ramble about all day is Doctor Who. I still love books, but TV tells a great story, too. Plus, every book is a TARDIS. (Okay, just had to point that out. I’m done rambling now. I think.)

    Happy (LATE, I APOLOGIZE PROFUSELY) Birthday, Harry!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Exactly. That series continues to mean a lot to me, and I think it always will, but not because I still adore it. Instead it means so much to me because it was a huge part of my childhood. And I can’t just forget that.

      I love the Lunar Chronicles!! I’m SO EXCITED for “Winter” next year! Aaaaaah ❤ Those books are the best.

      I have yet to read What's Left of Me, but I look forward to it. 🙂

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

