Reading The Rainbow

reading the rainbowHappy Friday, everyone! Today I’d like to talk about a new feature on Musings From Neville’s Navel.

I’ve often considered writing a set of reviews specifically about LGBTQ+ books, but thought no one would be interested. However, when I asked for suggestions for future LGBTQ+ posts, several readers requested more content about books.

Yay!

Welcome to Reading The Rainbow. I chose that name because, you know, rainbow Pride flags. Also, I couldn’t call it just “Reading Rainbow” because that’s actually the title of a children’s TV show about books. (Did anyone else watch that when they were little? I did.)

Reading The Rainbow will be a regular feature in the sense that I’ll try to write such posts often but won’t post, say, every Friday. It’s like the A B See Photo Challenge, really. I’ll try to add to it as much as possible but there’s not a definite schedule or anything for it. Posts will turn up willy-nilly. I like writing that way.

I intend for Reading The Rainbow to feature all sorts of LGBTQ+ books – children’s, middle grade, YA, and adult; fiction and nonfiction; long books and short books; and all genres. I will probably focus on YA more than any other group, however, because I think queer teens need all the support they can get. And that kind of help can come from books, right? Books definitely helped me.

Book recommendations / requests for particular reviews are, of course, welcome at any time. And before a lovely commenter by the name of Mo asks for thoughts on The Miseducation of Cameron Post: YES, I will review that. Definitely. But not right away – I already have the first book chosen, although its review is not yet written.

I’m really excited about Reading The Rainbow, and I hope all my readers enjoy it as well. Books mean A LOT to me – they have ever since I was little – and combined with awesome queer characters/themes, well, they’re just even better. And I look forward to sharing them with you!

-~-

P.S. This is unrelated to LGBTQ+ stuff, but my blog recently surpassed one hundred thousand views! Needless to say, that made my day. Thanks so much for reading and following Musings From Neville’s Navel! When I started my blog, I never dreamed that it would grow so much. You guys are the best.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Reading The Rainbow

  1. themagicviolinist says:

    Ooh, very excited! 🙂 I actually want to read more LGBTQ+ books, but I’m not sure where to start. This should help!

    (And yes, I do have The Miseducation of Cameron Post on my to-read shelf on Goodreads. Actually, I’ll probably start there.)

  2. Miriam Joy says:

    If you haven’t read the Fever Crumb series, the prequel books to Mortal Engines, you should, because QUEER FEMALE PROTAGONIST! Okay, she doesn’t display any queerness until book three (Scrivener’s Moon), but that doesn’t make her not-queer. And she’s still awesome. She’s a female engineer and is basically really cool. And then review it.

  3. wondrousadventurer says:

    …you know, it occurs to me that, with the exception of the Eighth Doctor Adventures series (which… well, it straddles the line of “actual literature” very carefully), I’ve never read any books with canonically queer protagonists. Or really even side characters. (Non-canonically, headcanoned as as queer as humanly possible, is another story…)
    It might be because so many queer stories revolve around romance? The day people start writing books in which a character’s sexuality isn’t a major plot point, if it’s anything but straight, is the day I weep tears of joy.
    I think I’ll be stalking these posts for recommendations!

    • nevillegirl says:

      I’m curious, which EDAs /would/ you recommend for queer Doctor Who stories? 🙂

      Yeah… many do. Not all, but quite a few of them. For what it’s worth, “Adaptation” and “Inheritance” by Malinda Lo DO have romance, but they’re not ABOUT romance. If you’re interested. The plot is mostly about aliens and saving the world and it’s kind of apocalyptic… and it’s about a bi girl. 😀

      Yay, I’m glad that you’re interested in these posts! 🙂

      • wondrousadventurer says:

        that’s a very good question… a lot of the EDAs I’d recommend as standalone stories don’t have much queer stuff (although if you just say “other books establish these characters as LGBTQIA+ so technically all the books count” I could recommend any of them…)

        Vampire Science might be my favorite EDA (and I’ve gotten a lot of people to read it…) in general because it involves vampire squirrels and the Doctor rescuing kittens and some really interesting literary themes, and it features a one-shot companion who in her first scene seems pretty interested in both the Doctor AND female companion… I think a lot of people think she was supposed to be bi, even if it wasn’t explicit

        Seeing I is another great one that was supposed to include a line about Sam having had “a couple of girlfriends and a couple of boyfriends” in the past three years, but it got changed to the ambiguous “a couple of relationships” — and most of the fandom just chooses to act like it was never changed (because Sam is something of a LGBTQIA+ rights activist and is fairly involved in discussions of sexuality in the books and even though the novels are open to interpretation on her sexuality most people think she’s bisexual)

        Basically anything with Fitz Kreiner involves his relationship with the Doctor being somewhere between queerplatonic and outright romantic and neither of them really knowing the difference (but especially Fitz, as Eight is… aro-ish) — EarthWorld in particular is easy to get your hands on due to a 50th reprint and involves some of his thoughts on the matter.

        Interference is a good two-parter, if I recall correctly, that involved a conversation that essentially established Eight — and possibly every Doctor before him — as genderqueer. When asked if he’d ever been a woman before, Eight replied along the lines of “I don’t think I’ve even been a man”

        …that’s off the top of my head. I’ll admit that a lot of the stories aren’t outright “queer representation” in obvious ways (…excepting certain things with Fitz, Fitz is pretty canonically queer), but they’re more open to and deal more gracefully with it than most other things I’ve read.

    • nevillegirl says:

      OK, I”ll have to look for those at the library! Thanks for the recs, Micha! 🙂

  4. Mo says:

    *gives you a Look* You must have meant a different Mo who wants you to formally review of The Miseducation of Cameron Post.

    But this sounds great and I’m looking forward to it. *thumbs up* And yes, I watched Reading Rainbow when I was little too.

  5. Cait says:

    Congrats on the 100K views! WOOT WOOT. You deserve it with all the awesomeness that’s posted here. XD
    I’m looking forward to Reading The Rainbow too! I like it when features just pop up, like not necessarily on a schedule just regularly. x) It makes it exciting, like, “Oooh, what wonders will Nevillegirl have in store for us today?!” Awesomeness, I tell you. OH and I read a really good LGBTQ+ book the other day…it’s not out yet, (I think September?) but it’s called Lies We Tell Ourselves and it’s set in the…40s? Or 50s. Gah. I can’t remember. Anyway. IT’S REALLY GOOD.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you so much! WOOT WOOT.

      Eeep, thank you again! *must get to work actually writing the posts* There’s so many books I want to talk about and I’ve already picked the first one, but AFTER THAT I CAN’T DECIDE NOOO.

      OOH IT LOOKS LOVELY. Thanks *so much* for the rec, I haven’t found very many LGBTQ+ historical fiction books!

  6. Pingback: Reading The Rainbow: Boy Meets Boy | Musings From Neville's Navel

  7. Pingback: 2014 End-Of-Year Book Survey! | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

