Six Mini Book Reviews

I went a little wild at the library a few weeks ago and ended up with thirty-plus books! Needless to say, I’ve been reading as quickly as I can in order to finish them all. Here are some of the books I most enjoyed.

-~-

Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett

People kept telling me to READ THIS BOOK. So I did! Finally!

Is it too much of a cliché to say that this book is unlike anything I’ve ever read? (Loads of Goodreads reviews said the same thing.) Because it is. I’ve never read a hilarious story about the apocalypse before, and I doubt I ever will. Crowley (a demon) and Aziraphale (an angel) are now one of my favorite literary BFF pairs.

I think both authors’ individual books are brilliant, so I should have known that I’d love this book. I wish I’d read it earlier.

Rating: 4/5

-~-

The Color of Magic by Terry Pratchett

This wasn’t Pratchett’s first book, but it was his first in the much-loved-by-me Discworld series. So of course I had to see where it all started, right?!

The Color of Magic tells the story of Twoflower, the naïve tourist, and Rincewind the wizard, his often-exasperated guide. Honestly, it’s less like a novel and more like a collection of loosely connected short stories. Which wasn’t what I expected, but I liked it nevertheless.

The other thing I didn’t expect was the writing style. It’s a funny book, but Pratchett hadn’t quite yet developed his trademark style of Discworld humor and that threw me off. I’m probably biased, though – I started with his later books (The Wee Free Men, The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents, et cetera), so I guess I expected something more honed. And that really isn’t fair, because it was only his first book in the series.

Rating: 3/5

-~-

All Quiet on the Western Front by Erich Maria Remarque

Oh wow, this book. Where do I even begin? It’s a great classic (about World War I) and my favorite thing about it was the incredibly beautiful writing. The style becomes even more remarkable when you realize that this book was originally written in German. Whoever translated it really knew what they were doing!

At times it’s not easy to read: there’s plenty of death and destruction and sadness. But there are also passages about friendship and loyalty and… oh my god it’s such a great book. All I can say is READ IT.

Rating: 4/5

-~-

The Nazi Hunters: How A Team of Spies and Survivors Captured the World’s Most Notorious Nazi by Neal Bascomb

Fast forward a few decades to another World War, this one even more deadly than the first. This nonfiction work, adapted from an adult book called Hunting Eichmann, tells the story of Mossad (the Israeli equivalent to the FBI) and their eventual capture of one of the most evil Nazis. Adolf Eichmann oversaw the murder of millions and after World War II, he fled to Argentina – and disappeared without a trace, or so he thought.

But he didn’t cover his tracks well enough, and Mossad caught him in the end. I could not put down this book. In just two hundred and fifty pages, it reads like a story and gives a completely compelling account of the capture.

Rating: 3/5

-~-

Women of Vision: National Geographic Photographers On Assignment by the National Geographic Society

You’re probably aware of my love for photography, but did you know that I want to be a photojournalist someday? (Among other things.) It’s true. So you can imagine how quickly I devoured this book.

Women of Vision showcases the work of eleven female photojournalists and, due to my enthusiastic reading of National Geographic magazine, I recognized many of their photos from past articles. In particular, a set of photos depicting child brides in Yemen caught my eye. Its accompanying article was published over two years ago, but I still can’t get it out of my mind.

Rating: 3/5

-~-

The Scorch Trials by James Dashner

This is the sequel to The Maze Runner and, although it is not quite as amazing as its predecessor, it is still a good read. The mystery behind Thomas’s life continues to unfold, and the hellish descriptions of a world gone mad make it impossible to stop reading this book.

I can’t wait to read the next two books, The Death Cure and The Kill Order! I had to return them to the library before I’d read them, and that made me a very disappointed little Engie bookworm.

Rating: 3/5

-~-

What are your opinions of the books listed above? And what have you read lately?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Six Mini Book Reviews

  1. Cait says:

    I want to finish the Maze Runner series for sure. I JUST NEED MORE TIME IN MY LIFE. Like, several more hours. But I’ve finished writing for now so yaaaay, I have a list a mile long I want to throw at my library. Maybe I’ll start with one or two? Heh. Moderation right…moderation. I hate sending books back unread but I can’t stop myself borrowing like 3 or 12. I also want to read Good Omens SO SO BAD. Yup, that’s what I’m reserving next. *nods* I have made my decision.

  2. Sunny Smith says:

    I unfortunately found The Scorch Trials lacking a lot, in comparison to The Maze Runner. I don’t even know if I finished it. I might need to give it another go sometime though.

    After reading your post (and seeing a bunch of stuff on Goodreads) I think I need to read some Terry Pratchett. It sounds really entertaining!

    I love these short reviews!

    • nevillegirl says:

      It’s not *quite* as good as the first book, but I still enjoyed it. I dunno. I’ve grown to really like dystopian, I suppose.

      Ooh, yes! I look forward to hearing your thoughts on Pratchett!

      Thank you! I love mixing shorter reviews with my normal, longer ones. 🙂

  3. Miriam Joy says:

    GOOD OMENS IS ONE OF MY ALL-TIME FAVOURITE BOOKS.
    Also, is it Colour Of Magic or The Light Fantastic where the wizards summon Death and he was at a party so he turns up with a cocktail? I can’t remember which, but it was a description of that scene by my sister who was on the phone to a friend after she’d read the book that piqued my interest in Discworld, because it sounded hilarious. I wasn’t wrong. I’ve read all but about two of the Discworld books, but I can never remember which two it is in order to track them down as they all tend to blur into one.

    • nevillegirl says:

      IT WAS VERY GOOD THANKS FOR TELLING ME TO READ IT

      Well, I don’t remember that happening in The Color of Magic, so I assume it’s from The Light Fantastic? That does sound like a great scene. 🙂

      And whoa, all but two? Impressive. I’d like to read the entire series someday, but it will probably take a very long time…

    • nevillegirl says:

      Me too, but I’ve still read only about six. 😛

  4. Pingback: Seven Mini Book Reviews | Musings From Neville's Navel

  5. Pingback: Quarterly Rewind, Summer 2014 – Books, College, OneRepublic, And More! | Musings From Neville's Navel

  6. Pingback: Sixteen Mini Book Reviews | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

