This Week’s Books + This Year’s Movies + Becoming A Hawkeye

Today, I present to you a post in three parts.

-~-

As Thomas Jefferson once said, “I cannot live without books!” Here’s what I’m reading this week.

  • The Half Life of Molly Pierce by Katrina Leno. This is a story about a girl who has only remembered half her life – until now. How could I not try this book?!
  • The Neverending Story by Michael Ende. I actually decided to read this thanks to another book. Cornelia Funke’s Inkheart books quote it quite often.
  • Geography Club by Brent Hartinger. A modern classic in the LGBTQ+ genre. This looks like a short, fun read.
  • Marie Antoinette, Serial Killer by Katie Alender. This looks like pure fluff in the form of paranormal romance. EXCELLENT.

-~-

Is it just me, or are all the most-exciting movies coming out this year? 2014 is especially good in terms of book-to-film adaptations: Divergent, The Giver, The Maze Runner, Mockingjay: Part I, and The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies. (And… The Fault in Our Stars, which I DO NOT LIKE, but hey. If you’re a fan and you enjoyed it, then I’m happy that you’re happy. Because I’m nice that way.)

But that’s not all! There’s also Captain America: The Winter Soldier and Maleficent and How to Dragon Your Dragon 2. All of which are adaptations, actually, albeit adaptations of comics and fairy tales. And the last one is the sequel to a book-to-film adaptation, but that still counts, doesn’t it?

AND then there’s Doctor Who‘s eighth series and Game of Thrones‘ fourth series. Although they’re not movies, they’re still pretty awesome.

What I’m trying to say here is that two thousand and fourteen is the year of the movies. And that I am a super-excited nerd.

In particular, I can’t wait to see the final Hobbit movie and part one of Mockingjay! At some point I’ll definitely write longer “film trailer reactions” as I usually do, but in the meantime I’ll just fangirl over the recently-released teaser trailer for the latter film.

Oh my god. WANT. I can’t wait to see more of the scene with Katniss at the hospital, and Natalie Dormer as Cressida, and stuff in District 13, and did I mention Natalie Dormer as Cressida?

…sorry, I just really like her acting. And her face. And her Game of Thrones character.

…and I’m now cutting this part of the post short because I actually do have serious things to talk about in the next part. Basically, yay, Mockingjay! Yay, movies in general!

-~-

If you’re friends with me on Facebook you’ll already know the good news, but I thought I’d post it here anyway because it makes me so happy: About a week ago, I was accepted to the University of Iowa! It’s my dream college, so I’ll be headed there in the fall of 2015 as a freshman. Its students are known as ‘Hawkeyes,’ hence the title of this post.

I plan to double-major in Creative Writing and Journalism, with a minor in GWSS (Gender, Women’s, and Sexuality Studies). I haven’t been accepted to the creative writing program yet, but that’s all right: I can’t even do that until my junior year of college.

Why Iowa, of all places? Good question. Well, their English programs, especially the Iowa Writers’ Workshop, are among the best in the USA, maybe even in the world. I don’t want to sound like I’m bragging – I’m just really pleased, that’s all – but this is the equivalent of a music student attending Juilliard, or a engineering major attending MIT. It’s really, really prestigious.

And I’m really, really excited.

As clichéd as it sounds, I never thought things would turn out like this. It is NOT normal to apply (much less be accepted) to college the July before one’s senior year – November / December / January is more common. (This confused more than one of my international blogging friends!) But hey, the U of Iowa opened applications really early, and I had all the necessary documents and test scores, and it really seems like the right place for me to be… so why not apply as soon as possible?

To my mind, the school offers exactly the combination I was looking for – SUPERB writing programs, plus an open-minded and super-liberal environment. Yay! (Fun fact of the day: The University of Iowa’s organization for LGBTQ+ college students, Spectrum UI, was the first of its kind in the nation. Double yay!)

You know, it’s funny. One year ago I would’ve said NO THANKS to any offers from Midwest colleges. I guess that over time, I realized I didn’t have a problem with the Midwest. I had a problem with small-mindedness. So if I can find a more accepting place (that is also FILLED WITH COOL WRITER PEOPLE) that just so happens to be near where I’ve lived all my life, then that totally works. I’m not saying I’ll never live anywhere else – in fact, I think I’d quite like to. But for now, this works.

I look forward to studying at the University of Iowa in the future, and I look forward to a hopefully non-stressful senior year. Now that I won’t have to worry about applications (I actually applied to only one place because it was still so early in the process), I can use that extra time to find scholarships!

-~-

What’s new in your life?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to This Week’s Books + This Year’s Movies + Becoming A Hawkeye

  1. Miriam Joy says:

    Well, you can’t really blame me for being confused, given that I’ve still got a week to wait to find out where I’ll be studying in less than two months’ time… 😉

    • nevillegirl says:

      I guess. That seems like a messed-up system, though… so ALL UK students don’t know until less than two months before their school year begins? That seems odd, keeping you on your toes like that. It probably doesn’t leave you very much time to prepare, does it? :/ Between applying for any scholarships, filling out forms for housing, buying your textbooks, etc… plus maybe buying new clothes and stuff if the weather at the uni you’ll be attending is very different from that where you live?

      Idk, man. It’s weird. Not knowing until the last minute would be very, very stressful for me.

      • Miriam Joy says:

        Well, you apply for student finance (our fees system is different to yours) before you know where you’re going because it’s all centralised, not uni-specific. You also apply for accommodation beforehand, usually at both unis (firm and insurance choice), so that goes through and gets confirmed once you know where you’re going. Scholarships from the uni itself tend to happen later, but they’re not the same as they over where you are. Also with textbooks, some places send a reading list beforehand but a lot of them you end up getting once you’re at uni, from a shop nearby or from the library.

    • nevillegirl says:

      What’s student finance? It sounds different from scholarships… I don’t think we have that here, unless it’s the same thing as financial aid.

      You can get textbooks at college here too, methinks, but I’d rather get them earlier because there are websites that sell used copies really really cheaply. *doesn’t want to pay $700 a semester for books*

      • Miriam Joy says:

        Student finance is just finance … for students. Heh. So basically if you’re a UK resident you can get a student loan which means you don’t have to pay upfront for your tuition fees and there’s also a maintenance loan to pay for accommodation etc. You don’t have to pay those back until you’re earning over 21k after graduating, and even then you only pay it back a bit at a time until you’re earning more. And if you don’t pay it all off after a certain amount of time they write it off. ‘Student finance’ can encompass both of those loans, plus any grants you’re eligible for e.g. if you’re from a low-income household. It’s all coordinated by Student Finance England, so I guess that’s why people just call it student finance?

    • nevillegirl says:

      Hmm, it does sound like American financial aid. (If you don’t have as much money, you qualify to receive more stuff.)
      Also, that’s sweet that you don’t have to pay back loans until you have a steady-ish salary. I don’t think that happens here. I /think/ you can wait to start paying some loans, but that seems to be based on years, not money.
      The differences here are interesting. I like learning about this kind of thing. 🙂

  2. Heather says:

    Congratulations! So happy for you! That’s a really big deal to get into the university of your choice. And yes, this summer is amazing for movies.

  3. Congrats on the college!!! I’m sure you’re gonna do fantastic there 😀

    I’m also sosososososo excited for all the movies coming out- probably the most for the last part of The Hobbit though. I’m really hoping that it’ll be as good as the first two movies were!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you! I hope I do well too… I know I’ll definitely be motivated, since I’m studying something that I absolutely love! (Versus studying something because it’ll make me a lot of money… I mean, I’ll try to make as much money as I can as an author/journalist so I don’t starve, but I DID NOT want to have a career that I loathed just because it makes lots of money. Anyway. I’m rambling now.)

      I am SO EXCITED for The Hobbit too! I just know I’m going to cry. 😦

  4. Mo says:

    *cheers for college* I’m really happy for you. 😀

    I don’t really have anything else constructive to say–I personally didn’t like The Geography Club that much, and I haven’t read the other books. I’m excited for some of those movies as well…

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you so much! I’m really pleased about it. ^-^

      I finished The Geography Club… two days ago? I think? and it was extremely average. Which is disappointing, because it’s an LGBTQ+ classic and all that.

      I’ve actually read all the books on that list now, except for The Neverending Story.

  5. Cait says:

    HUZZAH AND HURRAY FOR YOUR AWESOMENESS AND INTELLIGENCE. It’s not bragging, it’s awesome. I’m totally in the presence of genius here. And I will get to say, “Yes I knew Engie before she was famous.” But I have to admit, I was mildly disappointed you weren’t becoming an Avenger and shooting things with bows. That would’ve been equally awesome.

    I’m sooo excited for all the movies coming out too!! Probably Mockingjay and The Maze Runner the most. OMG THE MAZE RUNNER. *flails endlessly* I just read the book and consequently loved it am now fangirling over the series. ^.^ Mockingjay scares me, because it’s going to be paaaain to wait for Part 2. Wherever the cut it, it’s going to HURT.

    • I thought she was becoming an Avenger too.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Pffft. I think DORKINESS fits me better than AWESOMENESS AND INTELLIGENCE. 😛
      (But I would kind of like to be a well-known writer someday, so here are fifty points to the Hogwarts house of your choosing for someday being able to say, “I knew her when…”)

      THERE’S JUST SOOOO MANY AWESOME DYSTOPIAN MOVIES AND BOOKS COMING OUT AT THE MOMENT. AND THAT IS GLORIOUS.
      (I know, right? I have no idea where they’ll split that movie and throughout the entire first half of Mockingjay I’ll probably be on the edge of my seat because ANTICIPATION.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      @Tara: Oh… wait… right, Hawkeye. I didn’t understand what you and Cait were talking about for a minute, ’cause I’m really tired tonight. But that doesn’t explain why making an Avengers reference never crossed my mind when I wrote the post. (This was a scheduled post.) I should’ve included a picture of Hawkeye or something. xD

  6. Congragulations on getting into the uni! That’s awesome!

  7. themagicviolinist says:

    Congrats again on getting accepted! 🙂 I know I said so on Facebook, but that comment is going to get buried, so I thought I’d say something here where it’ll last for a much longer time. 😉

    SO. Freaking. Excited. For “Mockingjay”!!! 😀 I can’t wait to see your trailer reactions. They’re always hilarious.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you so much! And thanks for the FB comment. I’m really excited to be going there the fall after next, it really seems like the perfect school for me. 😀

      I suspect that my trailer reactions will be 50% hilarious and 50% “OMG NATALIE DORMER.” xD

  8. Pingback: Quarterly Rewind, Summer 2014 – Books, College, OneRepublic, And More! | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

