A B See Photo Challenge: W Is For West

cameraI took over three hundred photos during the eight days my family was on vacation in the American west, so here’s another set of five photos from that trip! If you’d like to see my earlier vacation-photos-post, you can find it here.

Enjoy!

DSCN4641Subject of photo: Two sunflowers

Location of subject: Somewhere between Cheyenne and Laramie, Wyoming

Techniques practiced: Nature, close-up

The colors in this picture are so vibrant! I especially love the contrast of yellow against blue. I also like how the flowers aren’t facing the same way – it makes the photo more interesting.

DSCN4654Subject of photo: A path on a hill

Location of subject: A scenic overlook just outside Vernal, Utah

Techniques practiced: Nature

I love the peacefulness in this photo, and the big fluffy clouds, and the slight curve of the path as it winds up the hill.

DSCN4891Subject of photo: An unusual rock formation

Location of subject: Red Fleet State Park, Utah

Techniques practiced: Nature

I really like the unusually-shaped rocks in this picture! They look less like rocks, honestly, and more like sculpted, slightly blobby mashed potatoes. And I like the use of negative space here – all that sky!

DSCN4642Subject of photo: A sunflower bud

Location of subject: Somewhere between Cheyenne and Laramie, Wyoming

Techniques practiced: Nature, close-up

This is from the same set of photos as the first – same location and everything – but I’m including both because I love each one for very different reasons! Here, I like the weird, spiky, bristly leaves and petals. They remind of bugs, or maybe of aliens.

DSCN4860Subject of photo: Trees and various geological formations

Location of subject: Dinosaur National Monument, Colorado

Techniques practiced: Nature

It may be difficult to see the background clearly when the photo is at this size, but that’s as big as I can make photos – so click on it to make the picture bigger, if you’d like. The foreground is nice and lends interest, but what I most like about this photo is the background. It doesn’t even look real; it’s so detailed and fantastic. I was frequently reminded of Lord of the Rings while on this trip because that movie features so many beautiful landscapes such as the one depicted here!

Which photo is your favorite and why?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Nevillegirl's Travels, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A B See Photo Challenge: W Is For West

  1. These pictures are absolutely gorgeous! Hope your vacation was great!

  2. Mo says:

    I really like all of them! I think my favorite is probably the sunflower bud, as I look at it more and more.

    The others are good too, but some critique for the last one–it feels a little too cluttered to me. It’s interesting, but I’m having a hard time identifying the main focus of the picture, and I find that distracting.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you! I love the detail in that picture. 🙂

      Ooh, critiquing. 😀 Sorry, I don’t usually get critiques and I’m totally happy to take advice. I /will/ admit that it’s probably my least favorite photo of the bunch, but I really really really wanted to include a landscape-y photo in my post. So. Um. Yeah.
      (Thanks!)

      • Mo says:

        I wasn’t sure how you’d take the critique–I mean, I thought you’d be okay with constructive criticism, but that’s always hard to do via the Internet. It’s not bad, but it could be better (not that I have a brilliant idea on how you could improve it).
        (You’re welcome. 🙂 )

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ahaha, I know the feeling.

  3. Gallifrey says:

    Sunflowers were my favorite! Something so tell-tale about them

  4. Cait says:

    Oh I love that sunflower bud! And the open sunflowers…but mostly the bud. It’s really clear and just so beautiful. XD

  5. Neat! I always enjoy your photography posts 😀 I like the two sunflowers the best. They’re just amazing. ❤

  6. Pingback: Quarterly Rewind, Summer 2014 – Books, College, OneRepublic, And More! | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

