Savoring Summer

“The first week of August hangs at the very top of summer, the top of the live-long year, like the highest seat of a Ferris wheel when it pauses in its turning. The weeks that come before are only a climb from balmy spring, and those that follow a drop to the chill of autumn, but the first week of August is motionless, and hot. It is curiously silent, too, with blank white dawns and glaring noons, and sunsets smeared with too much color.”

– Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt

It’s weird – if you’d asked me several years ago what my favorite season was, I would’ve probably chosen fall. Now I don’t really have a preference. I like each season, and at the end of each season I’m tired of the current one and anxious for the next one to begin. Oh god, I’d hate living in Westeros or Narnia then, wouldn’t I? Hmmm.

No particular season that makes me SUPER HAPPY, I guess. But that’s OK, because instead I have this sort of quiet contentment throughout the months because I don’t really mind what time of year it is.

And without further ado, I present to you a short list of things I love about the current season, summer.

1. Summery clothes

Shorts! And sandals! And sundresses, yay! And capris, even though I always look weird in them because my midget-y height makes me look as if I were wearing normal-length pants!

I don’t know what the weather is like where you live but in my state, Indiana, it’s not that weird to wear pants and long sleeves from September until April or May. So whenever I can, I wear shorts, T-shirts, and sandals. By fall, I’m totally happy to go back to my usual jeans-and-a-hoodie combination, but for a few short months, it’s nice to wear something different.

2. Eating outside

I don’t know why this is so much fun. Maybe because no one cares if you spill food or drink on the “floor”? Anyway, my family does this a lot. Sometimes we have dinner while sitting outside on the deck, and other times we eat at one of three or four picnic tables that my dad built. (No, I don’t know why he made so many. I think he just likes to build things – he built the deck, too.)

DSCN40433. Reading outside

I love to read outside, either while rocking back and forth on an old swing in the backyard or while lying in the grass. I don’t like it when people bother me while I’m reading, and outside no one but the birds talk to me!

P.S. Once, I left one of my books (thank goodness it wasn’t the library’s copy!) outside. And then it rained. And I was sad. Since then the book has had very warped pages.

4. Thunderstorms

Sudden downpours are fun to watch. And sometimes it’s fun to dance in the rain!

Also, I just like the smell of rain. And the smell of dirt when it rains. (Is that weird?) But not the smell of dead, wet worms after a storm.

5. Going to the movies

In my opinion, going to the movies is most fun in either summer or winter. First, because all the best movies come out then – most big movies release during school vacation or the winter holidays, not during spring or fall.

And in the winter, it’s nice to see a movie and snuggle under your coat (is it just me, or are theaters air-conditioned even in winter?) and just generally enjoy the warm fuzzies that come from watching an awesome movie. Unless that season’s movies are all bloodbaths. Which they will be. I’ll probably cry a lot while watching Mockingjay Part 1 and The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies.

…sorry, got distracted there for a second. This post was meant to be about summer and instead I started talking about winter. Anyway.

Summer movies are fun because it is actually hot then, so any and all air-conditioning is greatly appreciated. And for some reason, I have always liked sitting in a darkened movie theater and then stumbling out afterwards into the suddenly-blinding light. For a while in the theater my head was filled with fantastical daydreams… and then I come back to reality.

Another option is the drive-in theater. There aren’t many of them left (Wikipedia says there are about three hundred and fifty in existence now), but my town has one and it’s kind of fun to go every so often.

6. Summer nights

I hate sticky, humid summer nights as much as anyone else, but mild summer nights? They’re the best. They’re just the right temperature, and there’s usually fireflies flitting around outside, and basically they’re just really nice. I love to stay up late on those nights… reading, usually.

What about you? What do you like best about summer? Or do you not like this season at all?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Savoring Summer

  1. Nirvana says:

    I LOVE the smell of rain too! It’s so comforting and nice for some reason 😀

  2. Miriam Joy says:

    I am not a big fan of summer. I hate hot weather but, hey, I live in England so there isn’t a lot of it. I have really awful hayfever, so lying out on the grass just isn’t an option. I can’t read outside, because I can’t wear glasses and sunglasses at the same time but I don’t have the sort of eyesight that means I can get prescription sunglasses. I have an almighty phobia of spiders which means I haven’t opened my window in five years, so my room gets very stuffy. And I live in big baggy clothing: jeans, hoodies, huge tshirts that make people think I’m a boy. In summer clothes I feel weirdly exposed and naked. (And then there’s the whole leg shaving thing. I always debate with myself about whether I should bother. Winter removes that problem.)

    Spring’s good, until the hayfever kicks in. Autumn’s good. (Fortunately for me the summer weather here lasted about four weeks and then buggered off to Europe, so I’m back in jeans and a fluffy blanket poncho.) Winter isn’t great as I get very cold, and summer is … meh.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Blergh, I bet hayfever sucks.

      Well, I don’t bother with sunglasses outside… I’m not staring at the sun, I’m staring at a book! 😛

      Ahaha, my parents are always telling me to open my windows. But I like the temperature kind of warm, especially at night for some reason. Even in the summer.

      • Miriam Joy says:

        How do you do that? I find the sun just reflects off the pages and the glare makes them impossible to read. I can’t look at anything light-coloured under bright sunlight because it makes me screw up my eyes. (I may or may not be a bat when it comes to bright light….)

    • nevillegirl says:

      I just find someplace shady to sit, where the sun doesn’t create a glare on the page. Of course, it helps that we have loads and loads of trees at my house, so I can sit under one of them…

    • nevillegirl says:

      If you sit anywhere outside at my house, you’ll probably have a chicken wander up to you, so…

  3. Boquinha says:

    OMG! I agree with this entire post!! No, it’s not weird to like the smell of wet dirt – I get that! I love summer thunderstorms. I love sandals. I love reading outside. That’s so cool about your dad – would he like to come build us a deck and tables? 😛

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ahaha, I’m glad you like it and agree with my points!

      Haha, I dunno. But they’re really nice – he could probably sell them or something, if he wanted. At least, I think they’re nice. I don’t understand any woodworking stuff so I’m impressed. 😛

  4. Boquinha says:

    P.S. Our summer has been REALLY mild. Yours, too?

  5. Oh my gosh summer evenings are the best! When I was younger my family and I would sometimes sit outside in our backyard and watch the sun go down over the hills across from our house and the weather was absolutely perfect 🙂

  6. Cait says:

    OH oh…I LOVE SUMMER. And it’s coming to a country near me soon so I’m a very happy snowman. Okay, I’ve never actually even seen snow. But I’m made for humidity and hot temperatures. I’m so tired of jeans and jumpers. Although winter for me would be about 64 farenheit for you. WHICH PROBABLY ISN’T COLD. But I’m suffering. 😉 I actually made a list like this for winter, but I could barely put anything it. I just…I just don’t love winter.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ahaha, next winter I’ll put some snow in an envelope so you can finally see some!
      …because that is totally a thing that will work, sending precipitation through the mail. xD

      At 64 F we sometimes wear T-shirts and shorts. 😛

  7. orphu44 says:

    I’m not sure I have a favourite part of summer. I do like summer, but then I’m one of those people who calls whatever the current season is their favourite season. Sundresses might’ve been one of my favourites if I owned any dresses that weren’t my prom dress, though.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

