Why My To-Read List Is One Gazillion Books Long

The Broke and the Bookish have posted another Top Ten Tuesday prompt! This week’s theme is, “top ten books people have been telling you that you MUST read.”

This list was really fun to write, because I receive a LOT of recommendations – and for a wide range of books, to boot!

Also, I’m copying an idea from Cait @ Notebook Sisters: I’m listing who recommended these books to me, as well.

1. Les Misérables by Victor Hugo

Recommended by: Miriam Joy @ Miriam Joy Writes and many others

Because I like long books, I guess. And it’s a classic! Also, when I finally get around to reading this, I fully expect long, detailed character analyses and explanations from you, Miriam. Ha ha!

2. Great by Sarah Benincasa

Recommended by: Annie from Goodreads

A retelling of The Great Gatsby, now with 100% more lesbians? OH YES. You people give the bestest recommendations – that’s one of my favorite books.we were liars

3. The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare

Recommended by: Miriam Joy @ Miriam Joy Writes, Kate @ The Magic Violinist, and many others

By the time you read this, I’ll have probably finished the first book, City of Bones! (Note: This is a scheduled post, hence “probably.” As I write this post, I’m only on page twenty-five.) These books make up a long urban fantasy series, which sounds exactly like my kind of thing.

4. Lies My Girlfriend Told Me by Julie Anne Peters

Recommended by: Annie from Goodreads

 This is realistic fiction about how one teenage girl copes after her girlfriend’s death. I really should try Peters’ books; she’s a fairly prolific author of LGBTQ+ novels.

5. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Recommended by: Cait @ Notebook Sisters, Thomas @ The Quiet Voice, Annie from Goodreads, Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner, and many others

I LOVE LOVE LOVE E. Lockhart’s books and have read almost all of them! So when I heard that she had a new book, and that it was supposed to be amazing, I was super excited.

P.S. This is another book that I’ll mostly likely have read and adored by the time this post is published – I finally found it at the library today, 8/19, and I’m so excited to begin reading it tonight!

6. The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson

Recommended by: Matt @ The Little Engine That Couldn’t

Because I love long, epic fantasy series. This is over one thousand pages long, and the first of a planned ten-part series!

7. If I Stay by Gayle Forman

Recommended by: John Hansen @ Teens Can Write, Too! and many others

Because FEELS. And really good writing. Apparently.

what's left of me8. What’s Left of Me by Kat Zhang

Recommended by: Sabrina Wolfheart @ Books and Bark and many others

This science fiction novel was written by a teen author! It sounds like a fantastic dystopian novel, and it has a beautiful cover that makes me even more excited to read it.

9. Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor

Recommended by: Charley Robson @ Charley R’s Leaning Tower of Plot and many others

I have been assured that, unlike many other paranormal books, this novel is GOOD. And once again, it has a beautiful cover. I just really like cover art, OK?

10. Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

Recommended by: Holly @ Lines of Colour, Palettes of Words

 More fantasy. A modern classic fantasy, actually.

-~-

What books are most frequently recommended to you? More specifically, have I recommended any books to you that you recently read and enjoyed? If so, I’d love to know – I love introducing people to amazing stories!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Why My To-Read List Is One Gazillion Books Long

  1. Miriam Joy says:

    Mate. I read Les Mis five years ago. I can pass on second-hand knowledge that I’ve picked up from my activity within the Les Mis fandom, but in terms of personal responses … well, my memory is sketchy at best. Do not expect too much of me.

    (But there’s a Les Mis Wiki that I’m familiar with. So I can probably pretend I know what I’m talking about.)

    I hope you enjoy City Of Bones. It’s not exactly highbrow, but hey, it’s fun.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ahaha, OK.
      (That’s perfectly fine, that’s usually the sort of thing I do too. *does not know everything yet, unfortunately*)

      Me too. 🙂 I’m actually going to finish it right after I finish answering blog comments… let’s see how many books I can read today! Yesterday I read three. O_o

  2. What’s Left of Me: Oh, this is a very good one! Beautiful writing and unique idea. And I know, isn’t the cover amazing?
    Howl’s Moving Castle: This one’s really good too. The movie is amazing also.
    Hope if you do read them, you enjoy them!

  3. Cait says:

    I loooove City of Bones and We Were Liars (hehe, obviously. ;). I have to admit I was never very impressed with What’s Left of Me. It just…kind of lacked? I felt? Heh. Maybe I’ve read too many books an am being too judgy though. Seriously, though, if I had a dollar for every time someone recommend me Daughter of Smokiness I WOULD BE RICH. I’m probably going to read it this weekend. ^_^ Hopefully, *fingers crossed* I love it and hordes of angry fans don’t run after me.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I’ve read more of City of Bones and I’m loving it even more now! 🙂

      Blergh, I finished We Were Liars last night and it was… all right? I DEFINITELY was not as impressed by it as I was by E. Lockhart’s earlier books. 😦

  4. Catherine D says:

    I totally agree that you should read Les Mis. I read the original, unabridged translation after seeing the musical. I would recommend the book and the musical both (I’ve only seen the 10th anniversary version on DVD and the 2012 movie version, but if you watched it live it would probably be great, too.) If you read the book, you probably want to read an abridged version, as I found the original translation had a lot of archaic language and Victor Hugo was prone to digress at times. All that being said, it’s a great book, and I’d love to discuss it with you when you read it.

    • nevillegirl says:

      *looks forward to watching the movie and the musical*

      Ahaha, I’ve heard that Hugo often got distracted… apparently there’s a really long description of the Paris sewers, or something like that?
      I’d love to discuss it with you too! 🙂

      (Also, I love your blog! Very nerdy and fandom-y. *thumbs up* And I saw from your Google+ profile that you’re a fan of Martha Jones – same here! 😀 )

  5. body&mindpower says:

    I loved we were liars! Such a good book, I haven’t read any of her others though. What did you think of it??

    • nevillegirl says:

      It was all right… but I liked her others better. I mean, WWL wasn’t /bad/ but her other books are just so freaking good and this was a bit of a let-down for me. But maybe only because I’m familiar with her other writing? Idk.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

