Senior Year Saturday: Goals

senior year saturdayWelcome to Senior Year Saturday, my newest regular feature! Essentially, I talk about any and all things related to my final year of high school, from homework and extracurriculars to updates on college planning and thoughts on graduation. And more! (Such as that dreaded feeling known as “senioritis.”) Enjoy!

I came up with the idea for this feature just the other day. I thought it might be fun to write about stuff related to my last year (finally!), and I picked “Senior Year Saturday” as the name because I like alliteration. That’s totally a valid reason, right?

Because I blog an on every-other-day schedule, these posts could theoretically appear every two weeks or so. But that’s not a guarantee that they will, because there will doubtless be many Saturdays when I’d rather talk about something else. So. Just letting you know that the title doesn’t mean you should expect these posts on EVERY Saturday.

Anyway.

Today I’m going to talk about GOALS.

Specifically, goals for my senior year. Duh.

+ Practice diligent study methods to prepare for this spring’s academic bowl. I have participated in the event since freshman year, but I haven’t always been the most… uh… hardworking student. That is, I always finished the work but sometimes I left a ton of the required reading undone until the last minute, or I didn’t review the vocabulary words as thoroughly as I should have.

I want this year to be different.

P.S. This time, the competition’s theme will be “ancient Rome.” Yay!

+ Find some form of exercise that I love and will be sure to continue. I’ve been running a bit lately, but don’t really enjoy it – otherwise, I would aim to run more often.

It’s taken me a while to figure this out, but I need to find some kind of sport that I’m interested in. I played softball for ten years, but I’m now too old for the local children’s league and anyway I’m not really sure that I want to take it up again through some other organization. The college I’ll be attending next fall (the University of Iowa) has a Quidditch league and I’d love to play for it, but that’s still pretty far off.

I really have no idea right now what sport/activity I should try next, but I’ll try to find something. Maybe something that involves other people? It’s weird – I’m definitely an introvert, but I think I like team sports better than individual stuff. Otherwise, I’m not that motivated to exercise.

+ Continue to work hard to improve my photography skills. After I complete the A B See Photo Challenge – I have only three letters left, yay! – I’d like to find some other kind of challenge or meme or whatever. Maybe The Daily Post’s Photo Challenges, held on WordPress.com?

+ Apply for as many scholarships as possible. I’ve actually already won some automatic scholarships from the U of Iowa since I’m a good student, but receiving more would be AWESOME because college is so expensive! And as if that weren’t enough, I’d like to later get an MFA (or master’s of fine arts) in creative writing, which means more money. And probably more scholarship-applying.

+ Job shadow at a local newspaper. I feel like this would be a good experience to have before I begin studying journalism (among several other things) in college. I’m going to contact the local newspaper within the next few weeks to arrange this.

+ Find more secular homeschoolers. AKA non-religious homeschoolers. A lot of homeschoolers are religious, but I don’t have a problem with that. What I have a problem with is that most of my homeschooled acquaintances are SUPER-RELIGIOUS and SUPER-CONSERVATIVE and I shudder to even think about coming out to them. That’s just… not something I need to deal with.

I have about one secularly-homeschooled friend at the moment, and I’d love to find more.

+ Get involved in a GSA. This is something I’ve wanted to do since middle school, and I think I’m finally almost there! Yay! I contacted a nearby high school, asking to join their organization, and they said they’d let me know about their decision soon. They seem way more interesting and involved than the college GSA I tried. (I take classes at a local university for dual credit, so I thought I’d try their group. But it was sooo boring.)

+ Read at least seventy-five books. This year’s reading goal was one hundred books, the school year is nine months long, nine months is three-quarters of a year, and seventy-five is three-quarters of one hundred. I’ve already almost accomplished 2014’s goal, anyway, and it’s only August. So reading a ton during the school year should be no problem, even with homework and stuff!

+ Apply for two final 4-H trips. One is held in Georgia in October, the other in Washington, D.C. in March or April. Both revolve around citizenship and leadership. I’ve had great fun during other long 4-H trips and would love to go on at least one, if not two, more.

I think those nine goals, plus classwork (of course!), should be enough to keep me busy throughout the school year!

What do you think of my goal list? And of this new feature in general? I’d love to know!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Homeschooling, LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Senior Year Saturday: Goals

  1. Mo says:

    Ooh, you’re writing a post from retirement home already? 😛

    *flaps hand* Anyway, these all seem reasonable and responsible and stuff.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Grrr. I’m not quite that old. *shoves you* *into a pile of soft, cuddly stuffed animals* *because she’s nice that way*

      Thank you. I try to be reasonable and responsible and stuff. Usually I only succeed at the “and stuff” part, but at least I TRY. 😛

      (Also, thanks for commenting… usually I’d have more comments on a post by this time of day and I was worried that no one liked this one…)

    • nevillegirl says:

      I know. 😛 *flops into the pile of stuffed animals as well*

  2. Cait says:

    These are pretty good goals! I HOPE YOU GET THEM DONE. I suck at goals. I make all these fabulous lists and then…I don’t know? I don’t like myself telling me what to do? And I also have a problem with not just needing to meet goals, but going above-and-beyond on them, which is exhausting. *whispers* I might be a mild overachiever. SO. WHATEVER. Random. XD I hope you do more photo challenges! And yaaay for books, obviously. And also I do hope you find some more friends. I ended up doing my last year of homeschooling with zero friends (we moved, which was sucky) and that was quite hard. I’m totally introverted too, but friends can be nice. I rely on my internet ones now. Hehe.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ha ha, I struggle with completing all of my goals, too. BUT it does help when I write them down, because then it’s not as easy to forget/ignore them.

      I don’t have very many friends right now… I never really have (because introversion), but right now I have like two and that’s making even little introverted me kind of sad. xD

  3. Wow, dedicating a day just to reflect on your week is a great idea. Those goals are very well thought-out. Good luck keeping up with them! I especially wish you good luck on finding those scholarships–I’m currently in college and it seems like everyone here is broke. The education and experiences you’ll gain will definitely be worth all the time you put into applying for scholarships 🙂

    -Riley XO
    smilesnomatter.blogspot.com

    • nevillegirl says:

      Well, I’m not sure if I’ll post Senior Year Saturdays EVERY Saturday, but I’ll write them as often as I can. 🙂

      *groans* College is so expensive… I don’t want to be paying off my debt from it for ages and ages…

      Thanks for reading and commenting! I’ll be sure to check out your blog, too.

  4. Pingback: Senior Year Saturday: Year’s End & A Wrap-Up | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

