A Bookshelf Tag

I was recently chosen to participate in a bookshelf tag! Thanks, Sabrina Wolfheart @ Books and Bark!

The Rules

Answer the following questions about books on your blog and then tag five other bloggers. You can answer the questions any way you want, whether it’s on your blog, in a video, or a combination of the two. Then remember to let whoever tagged you know when your post is up so they can read it.

First, the questions.

1. Is there a book that you really want to read but haven’t because you know that it’ll make you cry?

I keep hearing that Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein is really good, but also super sad! So what do I do?!

2. Pick one book that helped introduce you to a new genre.

No! I’m going to pick two! Take that, bookshelf tag!

Suzanne Collins’ The Hunger Games was not the first dystopian I’d ever read, but it was the one that really got me interested in the series. I mean, I’d loved others before (like the Shadow Children series by Margaret Peterson Haddix and The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer), but the others had very small fandoms. It’s much more fun to fangirl over a book when there’s loads of people to do it with!

Anyway, after that I read many more dystopian books. It’s a really interesting genre.

Secondly, Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None affected me similarly: I’d read mysteries before, but didn’t really care about them one way or another. After reading her story, though, I knew that someday I wanted to write a mystery novel of my own.

3. Find a book that you want to reread.

Speaking of The Hunger Games, I really should reread the entire trilogy. I’ve never done that before!

4. Is there a book series you read but wish that you hadn’t?

Uh, does it count if I’ve only read the first book of the series? If yes, then I nominate Veronica Roth’s Divergent. I kind of wish I hadn’t read it because now I want to read its two sequels in order to learn more about the dystopian Chicago featured in her stories.

But if I do that, then I have to read page after page of dull, sub-par Tris/Four romance…

Ugh.

5. If your house was burning down and all of your family and pets were safe, which book would you go back inside to save?

Oh, that’s a hard choice. I’d have to say it would be either Gregor the Overlander by Suzanne Collins or Boy by Roald Dahl. I’ve had both books since I was a little girl.

6. Is there one book on your bookshelf that brings back fond memories?

The entire Harry Potter series, honestly. I’m not a huge fan of them anymore, but you know what? I have soooo many memories of reading the series, watching the movies, being excited as new books and movies were released, talking about them with friends, et cetera. And I can’t forget them.

7. Find a book that has inspired you the most.

Uh… well, Roald Dahl’s children’s books inspired me to start writing. Harry Potter inspired me to continue. More recent inspirations, however, were found in George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series, Maggie Stiefvater’s Raven Cycle series, and Malinda Lo’s books.

8. Do you have any autographed books?

Scimitar Moon by Chris A. Jackson and A Girl’s Guide to Guns and Monsters by Martin H. Greenberg and Kerrie Hughes. I’ve never read either, actually. They were a birthday present from a friend and I guess I just got distracted by other books… I really should at least try them.

9. Find the book that you have owned the longest. 

Goodnight Gorilla by Peggy Rathmann! It’s a picture book that doesn’t even have words. Apparently I loved it when I was, like, one. Or possibly younger. I don’t even remember that far back!

Our copy of it is actually kind of disgusting now; I chewed it when I was a baby. Apparently.

10. Is there a book by an author that you never imagined you would read or enjoy?

Yes, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins and Heroes of Olympus series by Rick Riordan. I just didn’t think those books could live up to what the authors had written previously.

And now for my nominations!

And yes, I am aware that that’s actually six blogs, not five. Oh, well. I couldn’t narrow it down any further than that.

P.S. Feel free to answer these questions on your own blog, whether or not you’ve been tagged!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to A Bookshelf Tag

  1. Code Name Verity: Ahhh, this book is awesome, go read it, it’ll make you cry but IT’LL BE WORTH IT.

  2. Mom says:

    “Apparently I loved it when I was, like, one. Or possibly younger.”

    I distinctly recall “reading” it to you when you were 3 months old! 😛

  3. Cait says:

    Eeeeep! YAY A TAG! This one is seriously fun looking, so we’ll definitely be doing that. ^_^ Although…maybe when we get back from our trip. STILL. I wish I had time to reread THG series…I only own book #1, which is kind of bad since I absolutely love that trilogy. I think Mime has read it twice but I flit around from series to series so often, I’m just happy I finished that one. I used to think Catching Fire was the weakest, but now it’s my favourite. ^_^ Hehe. It’s interesting how thoughts change on favourite books when you reread, right?!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yay, I hoped you would do the tag! I know that it’s probably difficult for you guys to fit in posts since you have so many book reviews and whatnot already, but I really really like this tag’s questions, so I tagged you. 🙂

      I *love* seeing how my opinions change as I reread my favorite books! Sometimes they become… not my favorites anymore. 😛

  4. Ahahaha looks awesome 😀 I want to read Code Name Verity, too, but my TBR list is really, really, really long. 😛 I LOVE Agatha Christie beyond words. I read Death in the Clouds, and Murder on the Orient Express, and then stopped, because I can’t find them in the library that easily 😦 Hm… maybe I need to change my answer to say I’d save I Can’t, Said the Ant, because I’ve had it since I was young, and I don’t even know if they print it anymore… HP isn’t my favorite, either, but you know, it’s Harry Potter. And I read through a bunch of your posts earlier today but didn’t have time to comment *sobs school* and yep, The Prisoner of Azkaban was definitely just the right balance, too! 😀 It was one of my favorites.

    Huh, funny. 😛 Of my three autographed books, I’ve only read two, also 😛 I don’t know what books my mom read to me when I was younger than one. I actually think she made up stories and told them to me or something, because she likes to write, too. I’m not quite sure. 😛 And yeah, the Heroes of Olympus didn’t really live up to what Riordan’d written previously *is aware of bad grammar and rushed content*

    Now hang on… I have to go stalk those SIX blogs. You rebel 😛

    (ALSO: You are going to like “Deep Breath.” Nothing special, but it’s better than DW’s been in the past three years. No spoilers, but the new intro title thing is just plain AWESOME. And Vastra/Jenny/Strax? And TWELVE??!?!? Twelve. And it’s definitely better than the Time of the Doctor. And I think you’ll like it. I can’t wait for you to see it so I can fangirl with you. *screams*

    Not sure if this is going to work, but:

    )

    • nevillegirl says:

      Sabrina. SABRINA. ONE OF THE DOCTOR WHO EPISODES IS TITLED “MUMMY ON THE ORIENT EXPRESS.” 😀 Possible Doctor Who + Agatha Christie again? 🙂

      I don’t remember if my mom made up her own stories, but she did keep reading to my brother and I until I was like 14. 😛

      *nodnod* I am very rebellious. Grr.

      (OMG I ACCIDENTALLY SAW SPOILERS ON FREAKING *FACEBOOK* OF ALL PLACES! I’d been really good about avoiding that stuff, even when I really wanted to know what happened, and now I’m partially grumpy because I didn’t want to be spoiled, and partially SUPER HAPPY because I SAW A VASTRA/JENNY SPOILER AND THEY WERE SOOOOOOOOOO CUTE TOGETHER *screams* I can’t wait to see the episode tonight!)

      (I think you were trying to put an image there? I couldn’t see it. :/ )

      • OH NO. Spoilers honestly suck. Yes. Agatha. Except she’d probably be freaked out, because he got old and Scottish and has a different face 😛 Plus, Donna copyrighted all her ideas, and now she’s gotta ask for the rights back. 😀

        Ah. My mother stopped reading to me years ago.

        *imitates my dog playing, which is actually really bad fake growling*

        Yes. Vastra/Jenny is amazing. Especially in “Deep Breath.” And Clara… well she’s RTD-style Clara now 🙂 You’ll probably already have seen the episode by the time you read this, but just in case, I will not say anything more. Because spoilers, sweetie. (I actually went through a River phase where I was tempted to call people “dear”. It was scary. :0 )

        (Yep. It was Ten being all excited-like. Here’s the link to it, anyways: http://booksandbark.files.wordpress.com/2014/08/doctor-who-excited.gif
        It didn’t work for some reason 😦 )

    • nevillegirl says:

      Well, that would be a good excuse to bring Donna back. xD And she would freak out and wonder when she met Agatha… 😦

      I have seen the episode now, yay! I’ll get a review post up on the blog pretty soon. 🙂 And *shrieks* VASTRA/JENNY AND RTD-STYLE CLARA 😀

      EXCITED TEN FACE YAY 😀

  5. themagicviolinist says:

    The House of the Scorpion! 🙂 I remember reading it and loving it years ago for my book club (I was eight, maybe nine at the time). I should reread it soon.

    Aww, that’s too bad about Divergent. 😛 I actually think I like it more than The Hunger Games series. Agree to disagree, eh?

    I haven’t read Code Name Verity yet, either, but I’ve heard the same things you have! It’s supposed to make you bawl like a baby, so at least I’m warned and won’t read it in public. 😛

  6. orphu44 says:

    Ooh, lovely tag! Thank you for tagging me!

  7. Pingback: The Bookcase Tag | Miss Alexandrina

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

