First First Day, Last First Day

Lizzie First Day of School-2002Kindergarten, August 2002 – age five

Today is the first day of my senior year. By this time next year, I’ll be in college. I know this is a clichéd statement, but: I can’t believe how quickly the time has flown by. I remember my first day of kindergarten so clearly still, remember putting on one of my favorite dresses and riding on a school bus for the first time and finding my classroom.

And now my school years – the secondary ones, at least – are almost over. Wow.

-~-

This fall, I am studying the following five subjects at home:

  • Astronomy. Yay!
  • Statistics. Blah.
  • Writing. YAY!
  • American Literature. I wanted to study World Literature instead, but apparently Am Lit is required to graduate. Sigh.
  • Economics. Snore.

-~-

I’m also studying Spanish 201 at a local university, with classes on Tuesdays and Thursdays. This will be my third semester of Spanish at that college, and I’ll complete a fourth semester this spring as well.

My future college, the University of Iowa, specifies four semesters of a foreign language in its graduation requirements. I’m really hoping that, thanks to all my college-level Spanish classes in high school, I won’t have to take Spanish at the U of Iowa. This prospect is exciting to me not because I dislike the language, but because bypassing some classes would probably make it easier to finish on time (within four years) even with my double major of creative writing and journalism!

-~-

I’m also excited today because this evening, after I’ve completed my schoolwork, I’m going to see a showing of Doctor Who‘s series eight premiere at a local theater! Yay! I look forward to watching with a bunch of nerds just as much as I look forward to the episode itself. I imagine it’s probably more fun to be part of a big audience than to watch Doctor Who alone. Which is what I usually do.

-~-

Pretty soon, I’ll be back to my usual blogging schedule – every other day. (Or even less frequently, if I’m inundated with assignments.) I know I’ve posted a LOT this month, but that was only because I was feeling especially productive. Don’t expect this new-blog-post-every-day thing in September… but it will probably last until the end of August, because these posts are scheduled and I’m actually writing this on the twenty-second, not during the school year at all. I have more free time now, so I’m writing as many future posts as I can.

-~-

If you’re still in school, has your school year begun yet? What are your thoughts on it so far?

Last first day of school 2014Twelfth grade, August 2014 – age seventeen

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to First First Day, Last First Day

  1. All the best for your senior year.

  2. matttblack42 says:

    Good luck with senior year! According to pop culture, it’s really just nonstop partying, so I’m sure you’ll have fun.

    Also, I hereby predict what your rating of “Deep Breath” will be: An 8… out of 11.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you! (What grade are you in now? I don’t remember. :/ )
      BAHAHAHA I’ve never been to a party. My idea of a fun weekend night is, like, an evening spent with Netlflix and/or a book. 😛

      Oh, really? I was hoping it would be a 12… out of 12. 😀

    • nevillegirl says:

      (Ooh, nice.)

      Indeed.

      MATT
      MATT IT WAS STUPENDOUS
      TWELVE!!
      And I actually liked Clara for once!
      Andandand I liked all the characters, actually! Well. Not the villain, but he was an interesting villain, at least.

  3. Cait says:

    AW YOU WERE SO CUTE IN THAT FIRST PICTURE. With your little rabbit. (Is it a rabbit? I’m going to feel stupid if it’s not a rabbit.) AND YOU STILL ARE AS AMAZING AS EVER IN THE SECOND PICTURE, OF COURSE. 😉

    I was totally loving the nearly-every-day-blog-posts. Seriously, I get your posts in my inbox (I only follow a few blogs I really really like via email so, lol, I like your blog a lot obvious) and always click on the straight away. xD But school, school…I hope it’s a good year for you. 🙂

  4. I love those pictures! I’ll be taking statistics in public school next year but I’ve never tried it so I’m a little apprehensive. You can study astronomy as a subject? That’s so cool. I used to be quite passionate about astronomy. I’d still enjoy it, I reckon.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you!

      I guess so! I love learning about outer space… and anyway, I’ve already finished chemistry, biology, and physics, so I can study weirder science now.

  5. Mo says:

    *shrieking* You’re so cute! Oh my gosh, wee Engie is just as cute as almost grown-up Engie! *tips over squeeing*

  6. Alexandrina Brant says:

    (I just noticed this and felt I ought to answer your question)
    I haven’t started uni yet for this year. My step-sister goes back to her school in two weeks (1.5th week of September, I think), but I don’t move back to Reading until the 20th, and even then, I don’t start academic work until the following week, but I have to help the Fresher’s so.

  7. orphu44 says:

    Ahh, you’re so cute, it’s ridiculous.
    American Literature is a requirement for graduation? That seems like such an oddly specific requirement.
    I haven’t started yet, but soon!

  8. Pingback: Senior Year Saturday: My First Week In Review | Musings From Neville's Navel

  9. Bane says:

    Ah, 5-year-old you was so cute!
    And 17-year old you is too.

  10. Aww, Mini Engie is adorable. :3 As is Older Engie!
    Gah, I’m going to have to go into high school/public school in a year. *shudders* Fay is in junior year right now, so I’ll be a freshman while xe’s still in school, but…*tears hair out*

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe, thank you!

      I don’t think I would like public school very much either. xD I like the flexibility of homeschooling… I wouldn’t have nearly as much free time if I went to school.
      But I’m sure you’ll find things you’ll like there. There are upsides and downsides to everything. 🙂

  11. Pingback: Quarterly Rewind, Fall 2014 – Movies, TV Shows, Senior Year, And An Awful Lot Of Reading | Musings From Neville's Navel

  12. Pingback: Top Ten Memories Of 2014 | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

